books about: alcoholism
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Bat: A Harry Hole Novel (1) (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard Original)

Vintage, 2013

The electrifying first appearance of Jo Nesbø’s detective, Harry Hole.   Inspector Harry Hole of the Oslo Crime Squad is dispatched to Sydney to observe a murder case.  Harry is free to offer assistance, but he has firm instructions to stay out of trouble. The victim is a twenty-three year old Norwegian woman who is a minor celebrity back home. Never one to sit on the sidelines, Harry befriends one of the lead detectives, and one of the ...
  
  











  



  
Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions

AA World Services, Inc, 2013

Bill W., the co-founder of Alcoholics Anonymous, first penned these essays on A.A.’s Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions for publication in the Grapevine, the Fellowship’s monthly magazine. The Twelve Steps focus on the program of recovery from alcoholism, and the Twelve Traditions deal with issues that affect the unity of the A.A. group and the worldwide Fellowship as a whole. This book clarifies each of the suggested Twelve Steps that ...
  
  











  



  
Thicker than Blood (Thicker than Blood series Book 1)

Mountainview Books, LLC, 2013

Two estranged sisters, one a rare book dealer, the other a cattle rancher, meet again after fifteen years. Christy Williams finally has her life on track. She’s putting her past behind her and working hard to build a career as an antiquarian book buyer. She could never imagine that a stolen first edition of "For Whom the Bell Tolls" would lead her back to the sister she abandoned fifteen years ago. With her life in danger, can May’s ...
  
  











  



  
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
Sherman Alexie

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2009

Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other Indian is the school mascot. Heartbreaking, funny, and beautifully written, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian , which is based on the author's own experiences, ...
  
  











  



  
Restart Your Recovery - 12 Things You Can Do To Get Back on the Beam: Recapturing Emotional Sobriety and ...

Rapid Response Press, 2013

Getting clean and sober for many was a struggle and a life-changing process. Alcoholism and addiction is something that takes so much from so many and requires a great commitment to recover from. What we learn is that recovery from addiction is a lifetime process and something that must be maintained on an ongoing basis, as we are never really cured of this disease. Unfortunately, many of us get better quickly and we may forget just how bad ...
  
  











  



  
Codependent No More: How to Stop Controlling Others and Start Caring for Yourself
Melody Beattie

Hazelden, 1992

Is someone else's problem your problem? If, like so many others, you've lost sight of your own life in the drama of tending to someone else's, you may be codependent-and you may find yourself in this book- Codependent No More . The healing touchstone of millions, this modern classic by one of America's best-loved and most inspirational authors holds the key to understanding codependency and to unlocking its stultifying hold on your life. With ...
  
  











  



  
Cockroaches: The Second Inspector Harry Hole Novel

Vintage, 2014

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER When the Norwegian ambassador to Thailand is found dead in a Bangkok brothel, Inspector Harry Hole is dispatched from Oslo to help hush up the case.   But once he arrives Harry discovers that this case is about much more than one random murder. There is something else, something more pervasive, scrabbling around behind the scenes. Or, put another way, for every cockroach you see in your hotel room, there ...
  
  











  



  
The Mill River Redemption: A Novel

Ballantine Books, 2014

New York Times bestselling author Darcie Chan returns to the enchanting town of Mill River in a heartwarming novel of family, self-discovery, and forgiveness. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.   Josie DiSanti is starting over. Recently widowed, she has fled her New York City home with her two young daughters—spirited Rose and shy Emily—in tow. She takes refuge in Mill River, Vermont, to live with her only remaining relative, Ivy ...
  
  











  



  
Off You Go: A Novella

Sandy Run Press, 2014

In Charleston, South Carolina, Dewey Moses is a vegetable farmer, a bluegrass musician, and a recovering alcoholic. Since getting booted out of his house and his band, he’s trying to get back on top. Now, he’s a year sober, and selling vegetables at the farmer’s market, but what he knows better than how to grow heirloom tomatoes is how to get down to the bottom of things. What started out as a favor for a friend is proving to be his ...
  
  











  



  
The Glass Castle: A Memoir
Jeannette Walls

Scribner, 2006

Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were both their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary Walls had four children. In the beginning, they lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and above all, how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary, ...
  
  











  



  
Drop the Rock: Removing Character Defects - Steps Six and Seven
Bill P., Todd W., ...

Hazelden, 2005

Resentment. Fear. Self-Pity. Intolerance. Anger. This cast of character defects will undermine the best-laid plans for recovery from addiction. It's not uncommon for individuals in recovery to hang on to negative, self-defeating behaviors after they've given up their addiction. These are the "rocks" that can sink recovery - or, at the least, block further progress. With more than 100,000 copies sold, Drop the Rock is the definitive guide to ...
  
  











  



  
What We Talk About When We Talk About Love: Stories
Raymond Carver

Vintage, 1989

In his second collection of stories, as in his first, Carver's characters are peripheral people--people without education, insight or prospects, people too unimaginative to even give up. Carver celebrates these men and women.
  
  











  



  
Alcoholics Anonymous: The Big Book, 4th Edition
Anonymous

Alcoholics Anonymous World Services, Inc., 2002

The fourth edition includes twenty-four new stories that provide contemporary sharing for newcomers seeking recovery from alcoholism in A.A. during the early years of the 21st century. Sixteen stories are retained from the third edition, including the "Pioneers of A.A." section, which helps the reader remain linked to A.A.'s historic roots, and shows how early members applied this simple but profound program that helps alcoholics get sober ...
  
  











  



  
Uppers, Downers, All Arounders: Physical and Mental Effects of Psychoactive Drugs, 7th Edition
Darryl S. Inaba, William E. Cohen

CNS Productions, 2011

This edition incorporates the most current and comprehensive information on the physiology, neurochemistry and sociology of drugs in to one of the best test/reference books on the subject. Recommended reading for AOD counseling certification and adopted by hundreds of colleges and universities as well as federal, state and local law enforcement agencies, this text provides readers at every level with a thoughtful and through examination of the ...
  
  











  



  
My Last Rock Bottom

Word Branch Publishing, 2013

Sara liked to drink. Sara was a writer, and drinking seemed to be an element of the identity. As a writer, she searched for the story that would define who she was, and her drinking was a part of her. She drank socially at first, with friends or family, at parties, or festivals. She drank at home sometimes, a glass of wine or two. It was when the two glasses of wine turned into two bottles of wine, when her blacked-out drunken behavior ...
  
  











  



  
Alcoholics Anonymous, 4th Edition

A.A. World Services, Inc., 2013

Originally published in 1939, when A.A. membership numbered about one hundred, Alcoholics Anonymous has steadily grown in readership. By the time the second edition appeared in 1955, membership had reached over 150,000, and the Big Book, A.A. members’ fond title for their basic text, had reached a distribution of more than 300,000. At the time of the third edition, in March 1976, the worldwide membership of A.A. was estimated at 1 million or ...
  
  











  



  
Alcoholics Anonymous Big Book Trade Edition
AAWS

Alcoholics Anonymous World Services, 2001

The fourth edition includes twenty-four new stories that provide contemporary sharing for newcomers seeking recovery from alcoholism in A.A. during the early years of the 21st century. Sixteen stories are retained from the third edition, including the "Pioneers of A.A." section, which helps the reader remain linked to A.A.'s historic roots, and shows how early members applied this simple but profound program that helps alcoholics get sober ...
  
  











  



  
Drugs And Society, 11th Edition
Glen R. Hanson, Peter J. Venturelli, ...

Jones & Bartlett Learning, 2011

Thoroughly revised and updated, Drugs and Society, Eleventh Edition, contains the most current information available concerning drug use and abuse. Written in an objective and user-friendly manner, this best-selling text continues to captivate students by taking a multidisciplinary approach to the impact of drug use and abuse on the lives of ordinary people. The Eleventh Edition incorporates the authors’ combined expertise in pharmacology, ...
  
  











  



  
The Life Recovery Bible, Personal Size NLT

Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., 2007

The Life Recovery Bible is today's #1-selling recovery Bible and is based on the 12-step recovery model. It was created by two of today's leading recovery experts, David Stoop, Ph.D., and Stephen Arterburn, M.Ed., to lead readers to the source of true healing—God himself. Features: New Living Translation Recovery Notes —Placed throughout the Bible text, these notes pinpoint passages and thoughts important to recovery Twelve Step ...
  
  











  



  
Cockroaches: The Second Inspector Harry Hole Novel

Vintage, 2014

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER When the Norwegian ambassador to Thailand is found dead in a Bangkok brothel, Inspector Harry Hole is dispatched from Oslo to help hush up the case.   But once he arrives Harry discovers that this case is about much more than one random murder. There is something else, something more pervasive, scrabbling around behind the scenes. Or, put another way, for every cockroach you see in your hotel room, there ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
absolutely, alcoholics, anonymous, arounders, avoiding, character, cockroaches, codependent, controlling, defects, downers, edition, emotional, inspector, novella, original, part-time, personal, physical, psychoactive, recapturing, recovery, redemption, relapse, removing, sobriety, stories, traditions, vintage, yourself




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


apparel: AWDis Women's Girly Zoodie Hoodie

home  impressum - about us