books about: connecticut
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Best Backcountry Skiing in the Northeast: 50 Classic Ski Tours In New England And New York
David Goodman

Appalachian Mountain Club Books, 2010

From the author of the “Bible of Eastern Backcountry Skiing” comes the most up-to-date resource for exploring the backcountry ski trails of the Northeast. This book features 50 trips through New Hampshire, Vermont, Maine, New York, and Massachusetts, including extensive coverage of Tuckerman Ravine, the Catamount Trail, Jackrabbit Trail, the historic Thunderbolt Ski Trail, as well as backcountry huts and lodge-to-lodge skiing in Maine’s ...
  
  











  



  
Medicinal Plants of North America: A Field Guide (Falcon Guide)
Jim Meuninck

Falcon Guides, 2008

This exquisitely detailed full-color field guide, by biologist and herbal and medical plant expert Jim Meuninck, provides identification, practical information, and skills for the location of and use of medicinal plants. The pages of this book re-connect us to our roots and the knowledge that medicinal plants and wild plant foods provide the chemicals every body needs to obtain optimum health and prevent disease. Meuninck moves the user ...
  
  











  



  
The Witch of Blackbird Pond
Elizabeth George Speare

HMH Books for Young Readers, 2011

Sixteen-year-old Kit Tyler is marked by suspicion and disapproval from the moment she arrives on the unfamiliar shores of colonial Connecticut in 1687. Alone and desperate, she has been forced to leave her beloved home on the island of Barbados and join a family she has never met. Torn between her quest for belonging and her desire to be true to herself, Kit struggles to survive in a hostile place. Just when it seems she must give up, she finds ...
  
  











  



  
Flowers
Carolyne Roehm

Potter Style, 2012

It has been more than a decade since Carolyne Roehm first shared her love of gardening and flower arranging. Now, for the first time ever, she turns her own photographic lens to that passion with Flowers, showcasing more than 300 images of the varieties in her abundant gardens, all captured at their most vibrant and exquisite moments throughout the season. With a gardener’s intimate understanding and a designer’s elegant eye, Roehm shows ...
  
  











  



  
Revolutionary Road
Richard Yates

Vintage, 2000

"A deft, ironic, beautiful novel that deserves to be a classic." —William Styron From the moment of its publication in 1961, Revolutionary Road was hailed as a masterpiece of realistic fiction and as the most evocative portrayal of the opulent desolation of the American suburbs. It's the story of Frank and April Wheeler, a bright, beautiful, and talented couple who have lived on the assumption that greatness is only just around the corner. ...
  
  











  



  
How the States Got Their Shapes
Mark Stein

Harper Paperbacks, 2009

Mark Stein is a playwright and screenwriter. His plays have been performed off-Broadway and at theaters throughout the country. His films include Housesitter , with Steve Martin and Goldie Hawn. He has taught at American University and Catholic University.
  
  











  



  
2015 Good Sam RV Travel & Savings Guide: The Must-Have RV Travel Resource! (Good Sams Rv Travel Guide & ...
Good Sam Enterprises

Good Sam, 2015

With over 13,000 locations listed across the United States and Canada, the new Good Sam RV Travel & Savings Guide is the only print edition of RV parks and campgrounds in North America. Consumer demand continues to grow for the Good Sam RV Travel & Savings Guide. The 2015 edition of the Travel Guide features an exclusive, expert rating system, with all evaluations completed in person by consultants in the field during the past 12 ...
  
  











  



  
One for the Murphys
Lynda Mullaly Hunt

Puffin Books, 2013

A moving debut novel about a foster child learning to open her heart to a family's love Carley uses humor and street smarts to keep her emotional walls high and thick. But the day she becomes a foster child, and moves in with the Murphys, she's blindsided. This loving, bustling family shows Carley the stable family life she never thought existed, and she feels like an alien in their cookie-cutter-perfect household. Despite her resistance, the ...
  
  











  



  
Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women's Prison
Piper Kerman

Spiegel & Grau, 2011

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES • #1  NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER   With a career, a boyfriend, and a loving family, Piper Kerman barely resembles the reckless young woman who delivered a suitcase of drug money ten years before. But that past has caught up with her. Convicted and sentenced to fifteen months at the infamous federal correctional facility in Danbury, Connecticut, the well-heeled Smith College alumna is now inmate ...
  
  











  



  
Changes in the Land: Indians, Colonists, and the Ecology of New England
William Cronon

Hill and Wang, 2003

The book that launched environmental history now updated. Winner of the Francis Parkman Prize In this landmark work of environmental history, William Cronon offers an original and profound explanation of the effects European colonists' sense of property and their pursuit of capitalism had upon the ecosystems of New England. Reissued here with an updated afterword by the author and a new preface by the distinguished colonialist John Demos, ...
  
  











  



  
On Borrowed Time (A Library Lover's Mystery)
Jenn McKinlay

Berkley, 2014

The  New York Times  bestselling Library Lover's mysteries continue with a hot new case... Loving a good cup of coffee runs in the family for Briar Creek library director Lindsey Norris. But when her brother, Jack, a consultant for a coffee company, goes missing, her favorite beverage becomes a key clue in a dangerous mystery. Between preparing the library for the holidays and juggling the affections of ex-boyfriend, Captain Mike ...
  
  











  



  
Couldn't Keep It to Myself: Wally Lamb and the Women of York Correctional Institution (Testimonies from our ...
Wally Lamb

Harper Perennial, 2004

In a stunning work of insight and hope, New York Times bestselling author Wally Lamb once again reveals his unmatched talent for finding humanity in the lost and lonely and celebrates the transforming power of the written word. For several years, Lamb has taught writing to a group of women prisoners at York Correctional Institution in Connecticut. In this unforgettable collection, the women of York describe in their own words how they were ...
  
  











  



  
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New England
DK Publishing

DK Eyewitness Travel, 2014

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: New England will lead you straight to the best attractions this breathtaking region has to offer. Packed with stunning photography, illustrations, and detailed maps, this fully updated guide will help you discover the Northeast state by state, from rocky coast of Maine to the river landscapes of Connecticut to the world class culture of revolutionary Boston. Explore the culture, history, wildlife, and architecture ...
  
  











  



  
Washington's Spies: The Story of America's First Spy Ring
Alexander Rose

Bantam, 2014

Now a new original series on AMC   Basing his tale on remarkable original research, historian Alexander Rose reveals the unforgettable story of the spy ring that helped America win the Revolutionary War. For the first time, Rose takes us beyond the battlefront and into the shadowy underworld of double agents and triple crosses, covert operations and code breaking, and unmasks the courageous, flawed individuals who inhabited this wilderness ...
  
  











  



  
The Wit and Wisdom of Mark Twain: A Book of Quotations (Dover Thrift Editions)
Mark Twain

Dover Publications, 1998

Includes hundreds of Twain's most memorable quips and comments on life, love, history, culture, travel, and diverse other topics, among them "He is now fast rising from affluence to poverty"; "Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please"; and "More than one cigar at a time is excessive smoking."
  
  











  



  
Ebony and Ivy: Race, Slavery, and the Troubled History of America's Universities
Craig Steven Wilder

Bloomsbury Press, 2013

A 2006 report commissioned by Brown University revealed that institution’s complex and contested involvement in slavery—setting off a controversy that leapt from the ivory tower to make headlines across the country. But Brown’s troubling past was far from unique. In Ebony and Ivy , Craig Steven Wilder, a rising star in the profession of history, lays bare uncomfortable truths about race, slavery, and the American academy. Many of ...
  
  











  



  
Lonely Planet New England's Best Trips (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet, Mara Vorhees, ...

Lonely Planet, 2013

Lonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Whether exploring your own back yard or somewhere new, discover the freedom of open roads with Lonely Planet's New England's Best Trips, your passport to unique experiences that await you along New England's highways. Featuring 32 amazing road trips, from 2-day escapes to 2-week adventures, you can make coastal stops to climb historic lighthouses or drive through autumnal farmlands ...
  
  











  



  
What I Thought Was True
Huntley Fitzpatrick

Dial Books, 2014

The eagerly anticipated follow-up to My Life Next Door is a magnetic, push-me-pull-me summer romance for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her idyllic Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a ...
  
  











  



  
A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court (Dover Thrift Editions)
Mark Twain

Dover Publications, 2001

In this classic satiric novel, published in 1889, Hank Morgan, a supervisor in a Connecticut gun factory, falls unconscious after being whacked on the head. When he wakes up he finds himself in Britain in 528 — where he is immediately captured, hauled back to Camelot to be exhibited before the knights of King Arthur's Round Table, and sentenced to death. Things are not looking good. But Hank is a quick-witted and enterprising fellow, and in ...
  
  











  



  
The Face on the Milk Carton
Caroline B. Cooney

Ember, 2012

No one ever really paid close attention to the faces of the missing children on the milk cartons. But as Janie Johnson glanced at the face of the ordinary little girl with her hair in tight pigtails, wearing a dress with a narrow white collar—a three-year-old who had been kidnapped twelve years before from a shopping mall in New Jersey—she felt overcome with shock. She recognized that little girl—it was she. How could it possibly be true? ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
backcountry, blackbird, borrowed, campground, changes, colonists, connecticut, correctional, directory, editions, england, eyewitness, history, imprisoned, institution, library, medicinal, murphys, must-have, mystery, northeast, quotations, resource, revolutionary, savings, testimonies, thought, troubled, universities, washington




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: Pizzas - Deliciosas Receitas de Pizzas Grelhadas, (Em Portugues do Brasil)

home  impressum - about us