books about: connecticut
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Witch of Blackbird Pond
Elizabeth George Speare

HMH Books for Young Readers, 2011

Sixteen-year-old Kit Tyler is marked by suspicion and disapproval from the moment she arrives on the unfamiliar shores of colonial Connecticut in 1687. Alone and desperate, she has been forced to leave her beloved home on the island of Barbados and join a family she has never met. Torn between her quest for belonging and her desire to be true to herself, Kit struggles to survive in a hostile place. Just when it seems she must give up, she finds ...
  
  











  



  
USA's Best Trips: 7 Amazing Road Trips

Lonely Planet, 2013

Discover the freedom of open roads with Lonely Planet's Best Trips series. To kick-start your perfect Americana adventure, our FREE SAMPLER 'USA's Best Trips: 7 Amazing Road Trips (A Sampler)' features seven of our all-time favorite excursions, excerpted from each of our seven Best USA Trips guides. This sampler offers a taste of the iconic sights, awe-inspiring beauty, and hidden gems that awaits along each region's highways. Jump in the car, ...
  
  











  



  
Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women's Prison

Spiegel & Grau, 2010

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES • #1  NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER   With a career, a boyfriend, and a loving family, Piper Kerman barely resembles the reckless young woman who delivered a suitcase of drug money ten years before. But that past has caught up with her. Convicted and sentenced to fifteen months at the infamous federal correctional facility in Danbury, Connecticut, the well-heeled Smith College alumna is now inmate ...
  
  











  



  
Happy Ever After: Book Four in the Bride Quartet

Jove, 2010

#1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts cordially invites you to meet childhood friends Parker, Emma, Laurel, and Mac—the founders of Vows, one of Connecticut’s premier wedding planning companies. Parker Brown turned the quartet’s childhood game of Wedding Day into their dream jobs. And now she’s the face of Vows—the one who meets every bride’s demands; keeps every event on schedule; and brings Emma’s romantic ...
  
  











  



  
A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court, 2011

This book was converted from its physical edition to the digital format by a community of volunteers. You may find it for free on the web. Purchase of the Kindle edition includes wireless delivery.
  
  











  



  
The Complete Works of Mark Twain: The Novels, short stories, essays and satires, travel writing, non-fiction, ...

e-artnow, 2014

This carefully crafted ebook: “The Complete Works of Mark Twain” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. This is The Complete Works of America’s favourite storyteller Mark Twain. The eBook contains over 60 novels and shorter texts (short stories, essays, letters, speeches). Twain began his career writing light, humorous verse, but evolved into a chronicler of the vanities, hypocrisies and ...
  
  











  



  
Pushing Up Daisies (The Dirty Business Mystery Series Book 1)

Chestnut Hill Books, 2014

Meet Paula Holliday, a transplanted media exec who trades her stilettos for garden clogs when she makes the move from the big city to the suburbs to start a gardening business. Paula can handle deer, slugs and the occasional human pest - but she's not prepared for the mummified body she finds while restoring the gardens at Halcyon, a local landmark. Casual snooping turns serious when a body is impaled on a garden tool and one of Paula's ...
  
  











  



  
Miz Scarlet and the Holiday Houseguests (A Scarlet Wilson Mystery Book 3)

Sara M. Barton, 2013

The time-honored Red Sox versus Yankees rivalry...bitter, divorced parents who can't stop bickering...a challenging teenage daughter who questions everything her mother tells her....These are the least of overworked homicide investigator Laurencia Rivera's troubles when she's stalked during an important case. A teenager turns up dead in the woods, brutally murdered, and it looks like it might be politically motivated....the short-handed ...
  
  











  



  
Obsessed

Pinnacle Books, 2014

"Anything by Phelps is always an eye-opening experience." — Suspense Magazine Sheila Davalloo was young, attractive, and successful. When she started a new job at a cutting-edge research lab in Stamford, Connecticut, she met the man of her dreams. Nelson Sessler had no idea how violently Sheila would react when he began seeing a co-worker, Anna Lisa Raymundo. Sheila eliminated her rival in a bloody knife attack—and then turned her rage on ...
  
  











  



  
Kneading to Die (A Pawsitively Organic Mystery)

Kensington Books, 2013

Maybe the best thing that ever happened to Kristan "Stan" Connor was losing her high-stress public relations job. Now there's plenty of time to spend in her sleepy new Connecticut town working on her dream: baking healthy, organic pet treats! Before long the neighborhood dogs are escaping their yards to show up at Stan's doorstep, begging for the kinds of special homemade treats her Maine coon cat Nutty loves so much. And Stan's pet-loving ...
  
  











  



  
Apart at the Seams (Cobbled Court Quilts)

Kensington Books, 2014

New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick welcomes readers back to picturesque New Bern, Connecticut--a perfect place for a woman whose marriage is in turmoil to discover a new pattern for living. . . Twice in her life, college counselor Gayla Oliver fell in love at first sight. The first time was with Brian--a lean, longhaired, British bass player. Marriage followed quickly, then twins, and gradually their bohemian lifestyle gave way ...
  
  











  



  
Life Among Giants: A Novel

Algonquin Books, 2013

This funny, exuberant novel captures the reader with the grand sweep of seven-foot-tall David “Lizard” Hochmeyer’s larger-than-life quest to unravel the mystery surrounding his parents’ deaths. It’s a journey laden with pro football stars, a master chef and his beautiful transvestite lover, a world-famous ballerina and her English rocker husband, and a sister who’s as brilliant as she is unstable. A wildly entertaining, plot-twisting ...
  
  











  



  
Memories of Winter

Broken Moon Publications, 2013

Daydreamer Winter Mitchell struggles to find balance in her life, torn between the need to maintain her grades and appease the budding artist within. Escaping the rigors of adolescence by way of her art, music, and books, Winter copes with the pressures of being the daughter of two working artists, and the heartache of a younger brother with a life-threatening ailment. Her best friend and confidant, Taliba Jones, accompanies Winter on this ...
  
  











  



  
Miz Scarlet and the Vanishing Visitor (A Scarlet Wilson Mystery Book 2)

Sara M. Barton, 2013

A pleasant night in Bay Head, NJ, unexpectedly turns dangerous as Scarlet Wilson heads for home after a delightful weekend at the Jersey Shore with boyfriend Kenny "Captain Peacock" Tolliver. A terrified teenager, chased by a homicidal maniac, clings to her car, refusing to let go of the moon roof. What do you do when a determined killer comes at the girl attached to your windshield, knife in hand? If you're Miz Scarlet, you get creative and put ...
  
  











  



  
One for the Murphys
Lynda Mullaly Hunt

Puffin, 2013

A moving debut novel about a foster child learning to open her heart to a family's love Carley uses humor and street smarts to keep her emotional walls high and thick. But the day she becomes a foster child, and moves in with the Murphys, she's blindsided. This loving, bustling family shows Carley the stable family life she never thought existed, and she feels like an alien in their cookie-cutter-perfect household. Despite her resistance, ...
  
  











  



  
Love & Freedom

Choc Lit, 2011

New start, new love. That’s what Honor Sontag needs after her life falls apart, leaving her reputation in tatters and her head all over the place. So she flees her native America and heads for Brighton, England. Honor’s hoping for a much-deserved break and the chance to find the mother who abandoned her as a baby. What she gets is an entanglement with a mysterious male whose family seems to have a finger in every pot in town. Martyn ...
  
  











  



  
A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court, Part 1., 2012

This book was converted from its physical edition to the digital format by a community of volunteers. You may find it for free on the web. Purchase of the Kindle edition includes wireless delivery.
  
  











  



  
King Arthur Collection (Including Le Morte d'Arthur, Idylls of the King, King Arthur and His Knights, Sir ..., ...

Maplewood Books, 2014

The Once and Future King The legends of King Arthur have permeated our culture. Who hasn't heard of the Round Table, Camelot, or Excalibur? Queen Guinevere, Lancelot, or Merlin? These larger-than-life figures have grown from their historical roots to mythological status. Now you can read for yourself the origins and development of the myths as collected through the ages. Highlights of The King Arthur Collection are: • Six classic ...
  
  











  



  
What I Thought Was True

Dial, 2014

The eagerly anticipated follow-up to My Life Next Door is a magnetic, push-me-pull-me summer romance for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her idyllic Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a ...
  
  











  



  
The Visual Display of Quantitative Information
Edward R. Tufte

Graphics Pr, 2001

The classic book on statistical graphics, charts, tables. Theory and practice in the design of data graphics, 250 illustrations of the best (and a few of the worst) statistical graphics, with detailed analysis of how to display data for precise, effective, quick analysis. Design of the high-resolution displays, small multiples. Editing and improving graphics. The data-ink ratio. Time-series, relational graphics, data maps, multivariate designs. ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
amazing, autobiography, blackbird, business, cobbled, collection, complete, connecticut, daisies, fiction, holiday, houseguests, including, information, kneading, letters, memories, non-fiction, obsessed, pawsitively, pushing, quantitative, quartet, satires, scarlet, speeches, stories, thought, vanishing, writing




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


DVD: Cream - Royal Albert Hall - London May 2-3-5-6 2005

home  impressum - about us