books about: courtroom
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Divorcing a Narcissist: Advice from the Battlefield
Tina Swithin

Tina Swithin, 2014

Prior to stepping onto the battlefield with a Narcissist, it is imperative to know their playbook both forwards and backwards. The behavior of individuals with Narcissistic Personality Disorder generally defies logic but sadly, their tactics in the Family Court System often fool Judges, Commissioners, Attorneys, Minor’s Counsel, Social Workers, Therapists and even trained Evaluators. Narcissists are the masters of manipulation and projection ...
  
  











  



  
Getting Life: An Innocent Man's 25-Year Journey from Prison to Peace
Michael Morton

Simon & Schuster, 2014

He spent twenty-five years in prison for a crime he did not commit. He lost his wife, his son, and his freedom. This is the story of how Michael Morton finally got justice—and a second chance at life. On August 13, 1986, just one day after his thirty-second birthday, Michael Morton went to work at his usual time. By the end of the day, his wife Christine had been savagely bludgeoned to death in the couple’s bed—and the Williamson County ...
  
  











  



  
Cliff Walking: A Novel
Stephen Russell Payne

Cedar Ledge Publishing, 2011

Set on the rocky and at times unforgiving coast of Maine, Stephen Russell Payne’s emotionally powerful debut novel, Cliff Walking, shares a poignant tale of loss and love that weaves together the lives of three desperate people who struggle mightily to find a way to save each other. Kate Johnson is a recovering addict from California, married to a cunning, cruel man named Leland Johnson. When she gathers the strength to escape her hellish ...
  
  











  



  
A Silent Tide
William E. Johnson

ASIP Publishing, 2013

"A SILENT TIDE" WINS THE 2014 NATIONAL INDIE EXCELLENCE AWARD FOR BEST LEGAL THRILLER!! Beginning with the brutal 1927 ambush of Chesapeake Bay rumrunners at a fog shrouded cove on Maryland's eastern shore and culminating with a final showdown eighty years later when truth meets justice at Harpers Creek Marina in Mathews, Virginia, "A Silent Tide" brings to life the 2007 story of a bay side community racially rocked by the murder of favorite ...
  
  











  



  
NO MATTER HOW LOUD I SHOUT : A Year in the Life of Juvenile Court
Edward Humes

Simon & Schuster, 1997

Now updated with a new introduction and afterword, this award-winning examination of the nation’s largest juvenile criminal justice system in Los Angeles by a Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist is “an important book with a message of great urgency, especially to all concerned with the future of America’s children” ( Booklist ). In an age when violence and crime by young people is again on the rise, No Matter How Loud I Shout offers a ...
  
  











  



  
Aftermath: A Snapped Novel
Tracy Brown

St. Martin's Griffin, 2011

When Misa Atkinson confesses to the murder of Steven Bingham, her sister’s brother-in-law, for doing the unthinkable to her son, everything is turned upside down. Misa now faces jail time and the loss of her son forever, and his drug lord brother, Frankie Bingham is out for revenge. Camille drops another bomb on Frankie, telling her estranged husband (and his mistress) that she is pregnant with his child. Their friends, Dominique and Toya ...
  
  











  



  
Keyshia and Clyde: A Novel
Treasure E. Blue

One World/Ballantine, 2008

Treasure E. Blue–acclaimed author of Harlem Girl Lost and A Street Girl Named Desire –is back with a heartbreaking urban love story of two star-crossed lovers up against the dirtiest dealer Harlem has ever seen. Knocked up by a Southern preacher, Keyshia is sent to live with her aunt in New York, but after a horrific act of violence, the timid young woman becomes ice-cold–turning tricks and finding comfort in a crack vial. Clyde and ...
  
  











  



  
Sidetracked

Challow Press, 2014

When you live a lie for so long, it becomes a part of you. Like clothing first rough and scratchy, it eventually wears down, thins out. Sinks into your skin. Thirty-four-year-old Delanie Miller has fled her dark past and is now settled into a quiet life in small-town Kentucky. She has friends, a faux "family" who lives in her house, and a loving boyfriend who may soon ask her to marry him. Her aching dream of a husband and future children are ...
  
  











  



  
For Laci (Random House Large Print)
Sharon Rocha

Random House Large Print, 2006

Laci Rocha Peterson, 8 months pregnant, was last seen by her sister, Amy, in the late afternoon of December 23, 2002. She spoke to her mother, Sharon Rocha, at 8:30 p.m. that night. This would be the last time anyone from her immediate family ever spoke to her. A search began which lasted an agonizing four months. Sadly, Laci Peterson and her son Conner were found dead on the shores of San Francisco Bay on April 18, 2003. Her husband, Scott, ...
  
  











  



  
CORNERED COYOTE (Coyote Series Book 3)

Dianne Harman, 2014

A Gripping tale that is hard to put down - One that is as Sweet as a Ballerina and as Pugnacious as a Pitbull ! Maria is tired of running from the law and comes back to the US from France. She murdered her husband, a deranged genius in self-defense and is arrested on arrival. Will she come out unscathed or will this be the biggest mistake of her life? Will she taste freedom or will she remain behind bars forever? Follow the loveable yet ...
  
  











  



  
Hooked on Drug Court
Lynn Duryee

CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2010

What is Juvenile Drug Court? Fifteen-year-old Andy wakes up in Juvenile Hall with a killer headache and a new arrest for public intoxication. When Dad won't bail her out for New Year's Eve, Andy figures she can play the divorce card and slip off to Mom's. Except Mom isn't answering her phone, and the Juvenile Court Judge has bigger plans for this delinquent than a short stay at the Hall. This novel, written by an insider in the juvenile justice ...
  
  











  



  
Lone Holdout: A Memoir
Linda Cox

Charles Street Press, 2010

A rare firsthand account by a lone holdout juror, this memoir looks deep into the American justice system--and one woman's heart. Linda Cox, a Boston bookseller, had never served on a jury. The case before her seemed simple at first.   A young Hispanic man, Carlos Montilla, was accused of cocaine trafficking, and a veteran cop testified against him. But things are not always what they seem, and Cox soon began to doubt the officer's ...
  
  











  



  
My Stolen Son: The Nick Markowitz Story (Berkley True Crime)
Jenna Glatzer, Susan Markowitz

Berkley, 2010

The true story of the shocking crime behind the hit movie Alpha Dog One week after fifteen-year-old Nick Markowitz vanished, his mother received the news: Nick's body had been found in a shallow grave. Now she tells her own gripping story-the unbelievable motive for the murder, the shocking identity of the accused, and her own nine-year battle to bring her son's killers to justice.
  
  











  



  
Stars Fall

Stephen Terrell, 2012

When a sexual tryst in a deserted courtroom goes awry, law clerk Matt Demaree is charged with murdering his boss, a distinguished Alabama Supreme court judge. He turns to Kisti Newcombe, a street smart lawyer toughened by surviving cancer. But the real killers have Matt and Kisti in their sights, determined to use any means to protect the court's most closely held secret. As they close in, Matt faces an agonizing decision. If he takes the ...
  
  











  



  
Trial by Journal
Kate Klise

HarperCollins, 2002

Get ready for a trial unlike any Tyle County has ever seen. Sixth-grader Perry Keet is missing, and Bob White, his co-worker at Tyle Park Zoo, will stand trial for the alleged murder. But Keet's disappearance is only the beginning of this legal thriller. The real story is told by twelve-year-old Lily Watson, a classmate of Keet's. Watson was selected to White's jury because of a new law requiring a juvenile juror to serve if the case ...
  
  











  



  
Binds That Tie
Kate Moretti

Red Adept Publishing, 2014

Love ties. Murder binds. Maggie never felt as though she belonged until Chris Stevens showed her what true happiness meant. Ten years into their marriage, miscarriages and infidelities have scarred them both. Despite their perfect-couple image, Maggie can’t look at Chris with anything but resentment. When a charismatic stranger offers the opportunity for a little harmless flirtation, she jumps into the game. But charm soon turns to malice, and ...
  
  











  



  
Nobody Walks: Bringing My Brother's Killers to Justice
Dennis M. Walsh

Thomas Dunne Books, 2013

In the vein of  The Boondock Saints and Chinatown comes this true crime memoir of brotherly love and vengeance In 2003, Christopher Walsh was found stuffed in a trash barrel in a storage locker in Van Nuys, California. After the dilatory murder investigation took seven months to file charges, and years to go to trial, Dennis Walsh knew it was up to him to keep his little brother’s murder from becoming a cold case. The only son of a large ...
  
  











  



  
Contempt of Court: The Turn-of-the-Century Lynching That Launched a Hundred Years of Federalism
Mark Curriden, Leroy Phillips

Anchor, 2001

In this profound and fascinating book, the authors revisit an overlooked Supreme Court decision that changed forever how justice is carried out in the United States. In 1906, Ed Johnson was the innocnet black man found guilty of the brutal rape of Nevada Taylor, a white woman, and sentenced to die in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Two black lawyers, not even part of the original defense, appealed to the Supreme Court for a stay of execution, and the ...
  
  











  



  
One Night of Madness

Oak Harbor, 2009

The true story of a dark and wicked event in American history. In 1950, black Mary Ella Harris struggled amid poverty to take care of her rural Mississippi family. Her sharecropper husband drank, gambled, and associated with unsavory white people, one being Leon Turner, a violent ex-convict who desired Mary Ella. The turbulent interaction between Mary Ella and Leon yields a story of the hidden South that explodes one night when Leon bursts into ...
  
  











  



  
Winning at Trial (Winner of ACLEA's Highest Award for Professional Excellence)
D. Shane Read

LexisNexis / National Institute for Trial Advocacy, 2007

Winning at Trial uses innovative techniques to teach students and experienced lawyers alike the art of presenting a clear and compelling case in order to win at trial. These skills are gained first by observing then by doing, and in Winning at Trial the reader is enabled to do just that by analyzing transcripts and viewing almost four hours of footage from the O. J. Simpson trial and a focus group deliberating a civil trial. This book is one of ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
25-year, aftermath, battlefield, berkley, bringing, brother, contempt, cornered, divorcing, excellence, federalism, getting, highest, holdout, hundred, innocent, journal, justice, juvenile, keyshia, launched, lynching, madness, markowitz, narcissist, professional, sidetracked, snapped, turn-of-the-century, walking




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


cell phone: SPRAWL New Vintage Design Personalized Hard Plastic Snap on Slim Fit ...

home  impressum - about us