books about: explorers
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Steady As She Goes

John Molloy Publishing, 2014

Steady As She Goes – Sign on for an unforgettable voyage round the oceans of the world; from the frozen Arctic to the tropical coast of Java. A true-life story of coming of age in the 1950s Irish merchant navy, with adventure, romance and heartbreak.
  
  











  



  
Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage

Blackstone Audio, Inc., 2008

This is a new reading of the thrilling account of one of the most astonishing feats of exploration and human courage ever recorded. In August of 1914, the British ship Endurance set sail for the South Atlantic. In October 1915, still half a continent away from its intended base, the ship was trapped, then crushed in the ice. For five months, Sir Ernest Shackleton and his men, drifting on ice packs, were castaways in one of the most savage ...
  
  











  



  
Twelve Years a Slave

HarperPerennial Classics, 2013

#1 Bestseller Now a major motion picture directed by Steve McQueen and starring Brad Pitt, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Fassbender, Benedict Cumberbatch, and Paul Giamatti 12 Years a Slave is a riveting true account of a free man captured and sold into slavery in the pre–Civil War South. Solomon Northup’s narrative explores one of the darkest times in American history and captures in vivid detail the unimaginable realities of slavery. ...
  
  











  



  
Shogun

Dell, 2009

A bold English adventurer. An invincible Japanese warlord. A beautiful woman torn between two ways of life, two ways of love. All brought together in an extraordinary saga of a time and a place aflame with conflict, passion, ambition, lust, and the struggle for power... From the Paperback edition.
  
  











  



  
In the Kingdom of Ice: The Grand and Terrible Polar Voyage of the USS Jeannette
Hampton Sides

Doubleday, 2014

New York Times   bestselling author Hampton Sides returns with a white-knuckle tale of polar exploration and survival in the Gilded Age In the late nineteenth century, people were obsessed by one of the last unmapped areas of the globe: the North Pole. No one knew what existed beyond the fortress of ice rimming the northern oceans, although theories abounded. The foremost cartographer in the world, a German named August Petermann, believed ...
  
  











  



  
Elephant Company: The Inspiring Story of an Unlikely Hero and the Animals Who Helped Him Save Lives in World ...

Random House, 2014

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER The remarkable story of James Howard “Billy” Williams, whose uncanny rapport with the world’s largest land animals transformed him from a carefree young man into the charismatic war hero known as Elephant Bill   Billy Williams came to colonial Burma in 1920, fresh from service in World War I, to a job as a “forest man” for a British teak company. Mesmerized by the intelligence, character, and even humor ...
  
  











  



  
Journey to the Center of the Earth

Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy, 2014

One hundred fifty years later, Jules Verne’s epic novel of science and adventure is just as thrilling as when it was first published   A dirty slip of parchment falls from the pages of an ancient manuscript. Deciphered by the indefatigable Otto Liedenbrock, professor of geology, and his reluctant nephew, Axel, the parchment’s coded message is a wild assertion made by a medieval alchemist: Inside a volcano in Iceland is a passageway to the ...
  
  











  



  
Lawrence in Arabia: War, Deceit, Imperial Folly and the Making of the Modern Middle East
Scott Anderson

Anchor, 2014

Finalist for the 2014 National Book Critics Circle Award in Biography One of the Best Books of the Year: The Christian Science Monitor NPR The Seattle Times  St. Louis Post-Dispatch  Chicago Tribune A New York Times Notable Book The Arab Revolt against the Turks in World War I was, in the words of T. E. Lawrence, “a sideshow of a sideshow.” As a result, the conflict was shaped to a remarkable degree by a small handful of ...
  
  











  



  
Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia

Penguin Books, 2007

A transformational journey through Italy, India, and Bali searching for pleasure and devotion—the massive bestseller from the author of The Signature of All Things This beautifully written, heartfelt memoir touched a nerve among both readers and reviewers. Elizabeth Gilbert tells how she made the difficult choice to leave behind all the trappings of modern American success (marriage, house in the country, career) and find, instead, ...
  
  











  



  
GENKI I: An Integrated Course in Elementary Japanese [With CDROM] (Japanese Edition) (English and Japanese ...
Eri Banno, Yoko Ikeda, ...

Japan Times/Tsai Fong Books, 2011

Second edition of the most highly regarded teaching text book on the Japanese language, covering speaking, listening, reading, and writing to cultivate overall language ability. Each lesson in the revised edition features a new section dubbed Culture Notes," and now includes the audio CD companion which is in mp3 format ready to install on any music player. In Japanese/English. Distributed by Tsai Fong Books, Inc.
  
  











  



  
Island of the Lost: Shipwrecked at the Edge of the World

Algonquin Books, 2007

Auckland Island is a godforsaken place in the middle of the Southern Ocean, 285 miles south of New Zealand. With year-round freezing rain and howling winds, it is one of the most forbidding places in the world. To be shipwrecked there means almost certain death. In 1864 Captain Thomas Musgrave and his crew of four aboard the schooner Grafton wreck on the southern end of the island. Utterly alone in a dense coastal forest, plagued by ...
  
  











  



  
Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and ...
Peter Stark

Ecco, 2014

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara , Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become ...
  
  











  



  
Homeless in Hawaii (The Golden Sky Book 2)

Wayman Publishing, 2012

Running away from her past, Elisa finds herself homeless in Hawaii. The streets aren't what they seem, though, and cops make her stay in homeless park. She's only seventeen and with a man she hardly knows. They must work together if they're going to survive as street musicians. They might be in paradise, but even there, her past will hunt her down and make her face an uncertain future.
  
  











  



  
Windows 8.1 For Dummies
Andy Rathbone

For Dummies, 2013

The bestselling book on Windows, now updated for the new 8.1 features Microsoft has fine-tuned Windows 8 with some important new features, and veteran author Andy Rathbone explains every one in this all-new edition of a long-time bestseller. Whether you're using Windows for the first time, upgrading from an older version, or just moving from Windows 8 to 8.1, here's what you need to know. Learn about the dual interfaces, the new Start button, ...
  
  











  



  
Teach Yourself VISUALLY Windows 8.1
Paul McFedries

Visual, 2013

A practical guide for visual learners eager to get started with Windows 8.1 If you learn more quickly when you can see how things are done, this Visual guide is the easiest way to get up and running on Windows 8.1. It covers more than 150 essential Windows tasks, using full-color screen shots and step-by-step instructions to show you just what to do. Learn your way around the interface and how to install programs, set up user accounts, play ...
  
  











  



  
Undaunted Courage: Meriwether Lewis, Thomas Jefferson and the Opening of the American West

Simon & Schuster, 2013

From the bestselling author of Band of Brothers and D-Day , the definitive book on Lewis and Clark’s exploration of the Louisiana Purchase, the most momentous expedition in American history and one of the great adventure stories of all time. In 1803 President Thomas Jefferson selected his personal secretary, Captain Meriwether Lewis, to lead a voyage up the Missouri River to the Rockies, over the mountains, down the Columbia River to the ...
  
  











  



  
The River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Darkest Journey

Anchor, 2009

At once an incredible adventure narrative and a penetrating biographical portrait, The River of Doubt is the true story of Theodore Roosevelt’s harrowing exploration of one of the most dangerous rivers on earth. The River of Doubt—it is a black, uncharted tributary of the Amazon that snakes through one of the most treacherous jungles in the world. Indians armed with poison-tipped arrows haunt its shadows; piranhas glide through its ...
  
  











  



  
The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World for Kids: Fun Facts and Pictures for Kids!

www.VyralStart.com, 2014

Get ready to take a tour through the wonderful world of The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World! This book is perfect for any young reader ages 4 to 8. Younger children will also enjoy looking at the vivid pictures and hearing you read to them. You and your child will discover intriguing facts about these unique and Seven Wonders of the Ancient World! Such as… Chapter 1: The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World Chapter 3: The ...
  
  











  



  
Escape to the Pole, 2010

One hundred years ago Robert Falcon Scott and Roald Amundsen were racing to claim the last great geographic prize, the South Pole. It was an epic battle, a life or death struggle. Now, a century later, Kevin and Jamie know how they feel. The Hot Polish Girl (HPG) is starting to get clucky. Kate is back in the picture. Their carefree bachelor days are numbered. There is only one solution. They set themselves the challenge of trekking, unsupported ...
  
  











  



  
A Foodie's Guide to Tuscany: Places, Flavours, Itineraries, Must Do for the Epicurian Explorer ; 20 Fabulous ..., 2014

No-where is the love of life taken more seriously than in Tuscany, Italy. ‘La dolce vita’ is like a mantra here, and a life lived well is something that all Tuscans strive for. Stunning scenery, ancient culture, some of the best art in the World, Tuscany really does seem to have it all. It is not surprising then, that this love of life spills over into the food and drink of the region. Some of the best dishes and wines of Italy can be ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
ambition, american, elementary, elephant, endurance, epicurian, everything, explorer, fabulous, homeless, imperial, incredible, indonesia, inspiring, integrated, itineraries, japanese, jeannette, jefferson, lawrence, meriwether, roosevelt, shackleton, shipwrecked, survival, terrible, theodore, undaunted, visually, yourself




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


health & personal care: Rayovac Platinum Pre-Charged NiMH AA Size Batteries, PL715-4 GEN, 4-Pack

home  impressum - about us