books about: forensics
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Bone Lady: Life as a Forensic Anthropologist
Mary H. Manhein

Penguin Books, 2000

When a skeleton is all that's left to tell the story of a crime, Mary H. Manhein , otherwise known as "the bone lady," is called in. For almost two decades, Manhein has used her expertise in forensic pathology to help law enforcement agents--locally, nationally, and internationally--solve their most perplexing mysteries. She shares the extraordinary details of the often high-profile cases on which she works, and the science underlying her ...
  
  











  



  
Forensics For Dummies
Douglas P. Lyle

For Dummies, 2004

A plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that's a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell Since the O. J. Simpson case, popular interest in forensic science has exploded: CBS's CSI has 16 to 26 million viewers every week, and Patricia Cornwell's novels featuring a medical examiner sleuth routinely top bestseller lists, to cite just a few examples. Now, everyone can get the lowdown on the science behind crime scene investigations. ...
  
  











  



  
Forensic Science: An Introduction to Scientific and Investigative Techniques, Third Edition (Forensic ...

CRC Press, 2009

Now revised and updated, this comprehensive work, long considered the top textbook in the forensics field, reaches far beyond the scope of those introductory texts that concentrate primarily on criminalistics. Covering a range of fundamental topics, it introduces newcomers to the field while providing the technical detail necessary to understand the field as a science. To this end the book is compatible with CRC lab manuals, including Forensic ...
  
  











  



  
Howdunit Forensics
D P Lyle

Writer's Digest Books, 2008

Just because you don't have all the tools and training of a full-time medical examiner doesn't mean you can't learn your way around a crime scene. In Forensics , award-winning author and TV show consultant D.P. Lyle, M.D., takes each area of forensics—from fingerprint analysis to crime scene reconstruction—and discusses its development, how the science works, how it helps in crime solving, and how you as a writer might use this technique ...
  
  











  



  
Death's Acre: Inside the Legendary Forensic Lab the Body Farm Where the Dead Do Tell Tales
William Bass, Jon Jefferson

Berkley Trade, 2004

Dr. Bill Bass, one of the world's leading forensic anthropologists, gained international attention when he built a forensic lab like no other: The Body Farm. Now, this master scientist unlocks the gates of his lab to reveal his most intriguing cases-and to revisit the Lindbergh kidnapping and murder, fifty years after the fact.
  
  











  



  
Dead Men Do Tell Tales: The Strange and Fascinating Cases of a Forensic Anthropologist
William R. Maples, Michael Browning

Broadway Books, 1995

From a skeleton, a skull, a mere fragment of burnt thighbone, Dr. William Maples can deduce the age, gender, and ethnicity of a murder victim, the manner in which the person was dispatched, and, ultimately, the identity of the killer.  In Dead Men Do Tell Tales , Dr. Maples revisits his strangest, most interesting, and most horrific investigations, from the baffling cases of conquistador Francisco Pizarro and Vietnam MIAs to the mysterious ...
  
  











  



  
Working Stiff: Two Years, 262 Bodies, and the Making of a Medical Examiner
Judy Melinek, T. J. Mitchell

Scribner, 2014

The fearless memoir of a young forensic pathologist’s “rookie season” as a NYC medical examiner, and the cases—hair-raising and heartbreaking and impossibly complex—that shaped her as both a physician and a mother. Just two months before the September 11 terrorist attacks, Dr. Judy Melinek began her training as a New York City forensic pathologist. With her husband T.J. and their toddler Daniel holding down the home front, Judy threw ...
  
  











  



  
Silent Witnesses: The Often Gruesome but Always Fascinating History of Forensic Science
Nigel McCrery

Chicago Review Press, 2014

Crime novelist and former police officer Nigel McCrery provides an account of all the major areas of forensic science from around the world over the past two centuries. The book weaves dramatic narrative and scientific principles together in a way that allows readers to figure out crimes along with the experts. Readers are introduced to such fascinating figures as Dr. Edmond Locard, the “French Sherlock Holmes”; Edward Heinrich, “Wizard of ...
  
  











  



  
The Forensic Casebook: The Science of Crime Scene Investigation
Ngaire E. Genge

Ballantine Books, 2002

THE ULTIMATE READERS’ GUIDE TO THE ART OF FORENSICS! An intrepid investigator crawls through miles of air conditioning ducts to capture the implicating fibers of a suspect’s wool jacket . . . A forensic entomologist discovers insects in the grill of a car and nails down a drug dealer’s precise geographical path . . . A gluttonous criminal’s fingerprints are lifted from a chocolate truffle. . . . Filled with these and many other ...
  
  











  



  
Forensic Science (DK Eyewitness Books)
Chris Cooper

DK CHILDREN, 2008

The most trusted nonfiction series on the market, Eyewitness Book s provide an in-depth, comprehensive look at their subjects with a unique integration of words and pictures. Eyewitness Books now come with a giant wall chart and a CD of clip-art. A fascinating look at the tools and techniques used by forensic scientists in solving crimes-from fingerprint analysis to DNA testing.
  
  











  



  
Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science (10th Edition)
Richard Saferstein

Prentice Hall, 2010

Criminalistics is the definitive source for forensic science because it makes the technology of the modern crime laboratory clear to the non-scientist.  Written by a well-known authority, the text covers the comprehensive realm of forensics and its role in criminal investigations. Physical evidence collection and preservation techniques are examined in detail–including chapters on Computer Forensics and DNA. By referencing real cases ...
  
  











  



  
Bones Never Lie: How Forensics Helps Solve History's Mysteries
Elizabeth MacLeod

Annick Press, 2013

How did King Tut really die? The mystery of the young pharaoh's death is only one of the puzzles that modern science has helped solve. Thanks to forensics -- the scientific way of examining physical evidence -- we now know what killed Napoleon and whether Anastasia survived the massacre of the Russian royal family. Seven intriguing stories about historical royal figures whose demise was suspicious, and hard scientific facts about ...
  
  











  



  
Incident Response & Computer Forensics, Third Edition
Jason Luttgens, Matthew Pepe, ...

McGraw-Hill Osborne Media, 2014

The definitive guide to incident response--updated for the first time in a decade! Thoroughly revised to cover the latest and most effective tools and techniques, Incident Response & Computer Forensics , Third Edition arms you with the information you need to get your organization out of trouble when data breaches occur. This practical resource covers the entire lifecycle of incident response, including preparation, data collection, data ...
  
  











  



  
The Art of Memory Forensics: Detecting Malware and Threats in Windows, Linux, and Mac Memory
Michael Hale Ligh, Andrew Case, ...

Wiley, 2014

Memory forensics provides cutting edge technology to help investigate digital attacks Memory forensics is the art of analyzing computer memory (RAM) to solve digital crimes. As a follow-up to the best seller Malware Analyst's Cookbook, experts in the fields of malware, security, and digital forensics bring you a step-by-step guide to memory forensics—now the most sought after skill in the digital forensics and incident response fields. ...
  
  











  



  
Digital Forensics with Open Source Tools
Cory Altheide, Harlan Carvey

Syngress, 2011

Digital Forensics with Open Source Tools is the definitive book on investigating and analyzing computer systems and media using open source tools. The book is a technical procedural guide, and explains the use of these tools on Linux and Windows systems as a platform for performing computer forensics. Both well known and novel forensic methods are demonstrated using command-line and graphical open source computer forensic tools for examining a ...
  
  











  



  
FORENSICS: UNCOVER THE SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY OF CRIME SCENE INVESTIGATION (Inquire and Investigate)
Carla Mooney

Nomad Press, 2013

Forensics: Uncover the Science and Technology of Crime Scene Investigation introduces students to the fascinating world of forensic science and shows them how to find clues, analyze evidence, and crack the case. Combining hands-on activities with forensic science, kids will have fun learning about the world of forensics, evidence collection, and crime lab analysis. Entertaining illustrations and fascinating sidebars illuminate the topic and ...
  
  











  



  
The Basics of Digital Forensics: The Primer for Getting Started in Digital Forensics
John Sammons

Syngress, 2012

The Basics of Digital Forensics provides a foundation for people new to the digital forensics field. This book teaches you how to conduct examinations by discussing what digital forensics is, the methodologies used, key technical concepts and the tools needed to perform examinations. Details on digital forensics for computers, networks, cell phones, GPS, the cloud, and Internet are discussed. Also learn how to collect evidence, document the ...
  
  











  



  
Forensic Science: Crime Scene Analysis
Mr David Elio Malocco

CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2014

True crime and serial killer expert David Elio Malocco (author of Who’s Who Serial Killers, The Top 100) has produced a magic little book here on Forensic Science and Crime Scene Analysis. The author is a former top criminal lawyer with dual degrees in law and psychology and diplomas in criminal profiling and forensic science. The book is essentially an introduction to Forensic Science and is the perfect companion for anyone interested in ...
  
  











  



  
Forensics: The Anatomy of Crime

Profile Books Ltd
  
  











  



  
Forensic Science for High School Students
John Funkhouser

Kendall Hunt Pub Co, 2005

Shrinkwrapped, never used
  
  











  








   



search for books
analysis, anatomy, anthropologist, casebook, computer, criminalistics, detecting, examiner, eyewitness, fascinating, forensic, forensics, gruesome, howdunit, incident, introduction, investigate, investigation, investigative, legendary, medical, mysteries, response, scientific, started, students, techniques, technology, uncover, witnesses




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: The Assassination Option (A Clandestine Operations Novel)

home  impressum - about us