books about: grown-up
 
 



Suche books:   






  
America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great
Ben Carson M.D.

Zondervan, 2012

What is America becoming? Or, more importantly, what can she be if we reclaim a vision for the things that made her great in the first place? In America the Beautiful, Dr. Ben Carson helps us learn from our past in order to chart a better course for our future. From his personal ascent from inner-city poverty to international medical and humanitarian acclaim, Carson shares experiential insights that help us understand: … what is good about ...
  
  











  



  
Archer's Voice
Mia Sheridan

CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2014

When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees. Archer's Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her ...
  
  











  



  
Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander
Phil Robertson

Howard Books, 2013

This no-holds-barred autobiography chronicles the remarkable life of Phil Robertson, the original Duck Commander and Duck Dynasty ® star, from early childhood through the founding of a family business. LIVING THE DREAM Duck calls—though the source of his livelihood—are not what makes Phil Robertson the man he is today. When asked what matters in his life, he’s quick to say, “Faith, family, ducks—in that order.” It isn’t often ...
  
  











  



  
A Dog's Purpose
W. Bruce Cameron

Forge Books, 2010

This is the remarkable story of one endearing dog’s search for his purpose over the course of several lives. More than just another charming dog story, A Dog’s Purpose touches on the universal quest for an answer to life's most basic question: Why are we here? Surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy after a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey’s search for his new life’s meaning leads him into ...
  
  











  



  
Harry Potter & the Philosophers Stone (Harry Potter 1 Adult Cover)
J. K Rowling

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, 2013
  
  











  



  
Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption
Laura Hillenbrand

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2014

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE •  Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more. In boyhood, Louis Zamperini was an incorrigible delinquent. As a teenager, he channeled his defiance into running, discovering a prodigious talent that had carried him to the Berlin Olympics. But when World War II began, the athlete became an airman, embarking on a ...
  
  











  



  
Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter 4 Adult Cover)
J. K Rowling

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, 2013

Harry Potter is in his fourth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. However, this new book opens with a difference with a very sinister encounter and a death in a darkened and empty house. In the meantime term goes on and there are spells to be learnt, potions to be brewed and (unluckily)Divination and Potions lessons to be attended. However, the atmosphere is darkening as, without Harry s knowledge, his worst enemy is preparing a ...
  
  











  



  
Wonder
R. J. Palacio

Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2012

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER , now a #1  New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon ...
  
  











  



  
A Higher Call: An Incredible True Story of Combat and Chivalry in the War-Torn Skies of World War II
Adam Makos, Larry Alexander

Berkley Trade, 2014

THE NEW YORK TIMES AND INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER December, 1943: A badly damaged American bomber struggles to fly over wartime Germany. At the controls is twenty-one-year-old Second Lieutenant Charlie Brown. Half his crew lay wounded or dead on this, their first mission. Suddenly, a Messerschmitt fighter pulls up on the bomber’s tail. The pilot is German ace Franz Stigler—and he can destroy the young American crew with the squeeze of ...
  
  











  



  
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Ala Notable ...
Daniel James Brown

Viking Adult, 2013

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken , the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard ...
  
  











  



  
Maybe Someday
Colleen Hoover

Atria Books, 2014

At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She's in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her--and she's forced to decide what her next move should be. Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can't take her eyes off him or stop ...
  
  











  



  
Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices)
Cassandra Clare

Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2013

Danger and betrayal, love and loss, secrets and enchantment are woven together in the breathtaking finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices Trilogy, prequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, ...
  
  











  



  
Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him
Luis Carlos Montalvan

Hachette Books, 2011

* Now a New York Times bestseller * A heartwarming true dog story like no other: Tuesday, a lovable golden retriever, transforms a former soldier's life forever  Excerpt : "Tuesday combines a golden retriever's innate playfulness and bouncy exuberance with a noble bearing and seriousness of purpose. But it is not his beautiful coat, or even his regal attitude, that attract the stares. Tuesday has an extraordinarily ...
  
  











  



  
The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia

Dark Horse Books, 2013

Dark Horse Books and Nintendo team up to bring you The Legend of Zelda: Hyrule Historia, containing an unparalleled collection of historical information on The Legend of Zelda franchise. This handsome hardcover contains never-before-seen concept art, the full history of Hyrule, the official chronology of the games, and much more! Starting with an insightful introduction by the legendary producer and video-game designer of Donkey Kong, Mario, and ...
  
  











  



  
The Duck Commander Family: How Faith, Family, and Ducks Built a Dynasty
Willie Robertson, Korie Robertson

Howard Books, 2012

Faith. Family. Ducks—in that order. This book gives readers an up-close and personal, behind-the-scenes look at the family in the exploding A&E® show— Duck Dynasty ®. This Louisiana bayou family operates Duck Commander, a booming family business that has made them millions. You’ll hear all about the Robertson clan from Willie and what it was like growing up in the Robertson household. You’ll sample some of Willie’s favorite family ...
  
  











  



  
Cold Days
Jim Butcher

Orbit, 2012
  
  











  



  
Fearless: The Undaunted Courage and Ultimate Sacrifice of Navy SEAL Team SIX Operator Adam Brown
Eric Blehm

WaterBrook Press, 2013

Fearless takes you deep into SEAL Team SIX, straight to the heart of one of its most legendary operators.   “As a rule, we don’t endorse books or movies or anything regarding the command where I work—and Adam Brown worked—but as the author writes in Fearless , ‘you have to know the rules, so you know when to bend or break them.’ This is one of those times.  Read this book. Period. It succeeds where all the others have ...
  
  











  



  
The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus, Book 1)
Rick Riordan

Disney-Hyperion, 2010

After saving Olympus from the evil Titan lord, Kronos, Percy and friends have rebuilt their beloved Camp Half-Blood, where the next generation of demigods must now prepare for a chilling prophecy of their own: Seven half-bloods shall answer the call, To storm or fire the world must fall. An oath to keep with a final breath, And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death. Now, in a brand-new series from blockbuster best-selling author Rick Riordan, ...
  
  











  



  
The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus, Book 2)
Rick Riordan

Puffin Books, 2011

This is the second title in this number one, bestselling spin-off series from Percy Jackson creator, Rick Riordan. This crazy messed up world of gods and monsters is Percy Jackson's reality, which pretty much sucks for him. Percy Jackson, son of Poseidon, God of the Sea, has woken from a very deep sleep and come face to face with two snake-haired ladies who refuse to die. But they're the least of his problems. Because Percy finds himself at a ...
  
  











  



  
Making Faces
Amy Harmon

CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2013

Ambrose Young was beautiful. He was tall and muscular, with hair that touched his shoulders and eyes that burned right through you. The kind of beautiful that graced the covers of romance novels, and Fern Taylor would know. She'd been reading them since she was thirteen. But maybe because he was so beautiful he was never someone Fern thought she could have...until he wasn't beautiful anymore. Making Faces is the story of a small town where five ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
america, americans, beautiful, chivalry, clockwork, commander, courage, dynasty, fearless, historia, incredible, infernal, notable, olympics, operator, philosophers, princess, purpose, redemption, rediscovering, resilience, retriever, sacrifice, survival, ultimate, unbroken, undaunted, war-torn, warrior, wounded




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: TIME for Kids BIG Book of Why: 1,001 Facts Kids Want to Know

home  impressum - about us