books about: herself
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Stand Up for Yourself and Your Friends: Dealing with Bullies and Bossiness and Finding a Better Way
Patti Kelley Criswell

American Girl, 2009

This book teaches girls how to spot bullying and how to stand up and speak out against it. Quizzes, quotes from other girls, and "what do you do?" scenarios present advice in an age-appropriate, digestible way. The message in this book is that there is no one right way to deal with bullying. Instead, there are lots of options for girls to try, from ignoring a bully and trying a few clever comebacks to reporting bullying to a trusted adult. ...
  
  











  



  
Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl (Dover Thrift Editions)
Harriet Jacobs

Dover Publications, 2001

This autobiographical account by a former slave is one of the few extant narratives written by a woman. Written and published in 1861, it delivers a powerful portrayal of the brutality of slave life. Jacobs speaks frankly of her master's abuse and her eventual escape, in a tale of dauntless spirit and faith.
  
  











  



  
My Stroke of Insight: A Brain Scientist's Personal Journey
Jill Bolte Taylor Ph.D.

Plume, 2009

The astonishing New York Times bestseller that chronicles how a brain scientist's own stroke led to enlightenment On December 10, 1996, Jill Bolte Taylor, a thirty-seven- year-old Harvard-trained brain scientist experienced a massive stroke in the left hemisphere of her brain. As she observed her mind deteriorate to the point that she could not walk, talk, read, write, or recall any of her life-all within four hours-Taylor alternated ...
  
  











  



  
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail (Vintage)
Cheryl Strayed

Vintage Books, 2013

A Best Book of the Year: NPR, The Boston Globe ,  Entertainment Weekly,   Vogue, St. Louis Dispatch  At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed. Four years later, with nothing more to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life. With no experience or training, driven only by blind will, she would hike more ...
  
  











  



  
A Smart Girl's Guide to Liking Herself, Even on the Bad Days (American Girl) (Smart Girl's Guides)
Laurie Zelinger

Amer Girl, 2012

From the back cover: Has a bad day got you down? Is your self-esteem making you feel blue? In A Smart Girl's Guide to Liking Herself--Even on the Bad Days, you'll learn how having high self-esteem can turn a good day into a great day, while having low self-esteem can turn a bad day into a nightmare. You'll learn tips for trusting yourself, ideas for boosting your self-esteem (or for keeping it up), and how to feel your best in all kinds of ...
  
  











  



  
Why Men Love Bitches: From Doormat to Dreamgirl - A Woman's Guide to Holding Her Own in a Relationship
Sherry Argov

Adams Media, 2002

Do you feel like you are too nice? Sherry Argov's Why Men Love Bitches delivers a unique perspective as to why men are attracted to a strong woman who stands up for herself. With saucy detail on every page, this no-nonsense guide reveals why a strong woman is much more desirable than a "yes woman" who routinely sacrifices herself. The author provides compelling answers to the tough questions women often ask: Why are men so romantic in the ...
  
  











  



  
Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl Written by Herself, 2012

This book was converted from its physical edition to the digital format by a community of volunteers. You may find it for free on the web. Purchase of the Kindle edition includes wireless delivery.
  
  











  



  
Mrs. Dalloway
Virginia Woolf

Mariner Books, 1990

Direct and vivid in her account of Clarissa Dalloway’s preparations for a party, Virginia Woolf explores the hidden springs of thought and action in one day of a woman’s life.   In Mrs. Dalloway, the novel on which the movie The Hours was based, Virginia Woolf details Clarissa Dalloway’s preparations for a party of which she is to be hostess, exploring the hidden springs of thought and action in one day of a woman’s life. The ...
  
  











  



  
The Giving Tree
Shel Silverstein

Harper & Row, 2014

'Once there was a tree...and she loved a little boy.' So begins a story of unforgettable perception, beautifully written and illustrated by the gifted and versatile Shel Silverstein. Every day the boy would come to the tree to eat her apples, swing from her branches, or slide down her trunk...and the tree was happy. But as the boy grew older he began to want more from the tree, and the tree gave and gave and gave. This is a tender story, ...
  
  











  



  
Miss Nelson Is Missing!
Harry G. Allard Jr.

HMH Books for Young Readers, 1985

The kids in Room 207 were misbehaving again. Spitballs stuck to the ceiling. Paper planes whizzing through the air. They were the worst-behaved class in the whole school. So begins this quirky classic, first published in 1977 and still relevant today as a lighthearted reminder to show our appreciation to those we value. The students don’t proffer a shred of respect for their good-natured teacher Miss Nelson, but when the witchy substitute ...
  
  











  



  
It's a Girl, Finally: One woman's journey from being born a male to transforming herself into the female she ...

The Moss Hill Group, 2011

At the age of nine, Tony knew she was a girl inside and began secretly cross-dressing. Twenty years later, she took the courageous step that only a small fraction of transgendered people take: she had sexual reassignment surgery to match her body to her mind. In between those two milestones, Toni lead a fascinating life as a lesbian, detective, and police officer. It’s a Girl, Finally chronicles her turbulent journey from being born a male ...
  
  











  



  
A Year of Biblical Womanhood: How a Liberated Woman Found Herself Sitting on Her Roof, Covering Her Head, and ...
Rachel Held Evans

Thomas Nelson, 2012

New York Times Bestseller What is “biblical womanhood” . . . really?  Strong-willed and independent, Rachel Held Evans couldn’t sew a button on a blouse before she embarked on a radical life experiment—a year of biblical womanhood. Intrigued by the traditionalist resurgence that led many of her friends to abandon their careers to assume traditional gender roles in the home, Evans decides to try it for herself, vowing to take all ...
  
  











  



  
Cut
Patricia McCormick

Push, 2011

From National Book Award finalist Patricia McCormick, a new look for her debut novel, which THE BOSTON GLOBE called "Riveting and hopeful, sweet, heartbreaking." A tingle arced across my scalp. The floor tipped up at me and my body spiraled away. Then I was on the ceiling looking down, waiting to see what would happen next. Callie cuts herself. Never too deep, never enough to die. But enough to feel the pain. Enough to feel the scream ...
  
  











  



  
Every Woman For Herself

Avon, 2014

First comes marriage. Then comes divorce. Then it’s every woman for herself … Every Woman for Herself is a hilarious account of divorce and dating from Sunday Times besteller Trisha Ashley. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews,the country setting and rom-com storyline make this the perfect summer read. When Charlie’s husband Matt tells her that he wants a divorce she has to start from scratch. Suddenly single, broke and ...
  
  











  



  
1001 Great Ideas for Teaching and Raising Children with Autism or Asperger's, Revised and Expanded 2nd Edition
Veronica Zysk, Ellen Notbohm

Future Horizons, 2010

Winner of  a Silver medal in the Independent Publishers Book Awards and Learning Magazine 's Teachers Choice Award, 1001 Great Ideas has been a treasured resource in the autism community since 2004. In this expanded second edition, Ellen Notbohm (best-selling author of the revolutionary book Ten Things Every Child with Autism Wishes You Knew ) and Veronica Zysk (award-winning author and former editor of Autism Asperger's Digest magazine) ...
  
  











  



  
Out of The Box Awakening

Jennifer Theriot, 2013

Olivia is a good woman, a good mother, a good wife. She’s got it made. She doesn’t want anything to change. Of course, it does... Swept from her perfect paper-doll life in Houston, Olivia finds herself in Chicago, alone, betrayed, and far from home. Soon everything she thought she knew about herself and her life will be challenged. She has only courage, love, and her passion for music to carry her through the maelstrom—or draw her ...
  
  











  



  
Purple, Green and Yellow (Classic Munsch)
Robert Munsch

Annick Press, 1992

This is a favorite from Bob Munsch's live storytelling sessions. Brigid is on the trail of the ultimate felt marker. At first, she's satisfied to be drawing wonderful pictures. But soon she must have the markers that wash off with water. Then she needs the markers that smell. But she's happiest when she gets the super-indelible-never-comes-off-till-you're-dead markers. She draws brighter-than-real lemons and roses and then goes too ...
  
  











  



  
Girls Like Us: Fighting for a World Where Girls Are Not for Sale: A Memoir
Rachel Lloyd

Harper Perennial, 2012

"Powerfully raw, deeply moving, and utterly authentic. Rachel Lloyd has turned a personal atrocity into triumph and is nothing less than a true hero. . . . Never again will you look at young girls on the street as one of 'those' women—you will only see little girls that are girls just like us." —Demi Moore, actress and activist  With the power and verity of First They Killed My Father and A Long Way Gone , Rachel Lloyd’s riveting ...
  
  











  



  
Dare to Repair: A Do-it-Herself Guide to Fixing (Almost) Anything in the Home
Julie Sussman, Stephanie Glakas-Tenet

William Morrow Paperbacks, 2002

This is NOT your father's home repair book! And it's not your husband's, your brother's, your boyfriend's, or the guy's next door. Dare to Repair is a do-it-herself book for every woman who would rather be self-reliant than rely on a super or contractor. No matter the depth of your pockets or the size of your home, a toilet will get clogged, a circuit breaker will trip, and a smoke detector will stop working. It's up to you how you'll deal ...
  
  











  



  
A Year by the Sea
Joan Anderson

Broadway Books, 2000

Now available in paperback, the entrancing story of how one woman's journey of self-discovery gave her the courage to persevere in re-creating her life. Life is a work in progress, as ever-changing as a sandy shoreline along the beach. During the years Joan Anderson was a loving wife and supportive mother, she had slowly and unconsciously replaced her own dreams with the needs of her family. With her sons grown, however, she realized that the ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
american, anything, asperger, awakening, biblical, bitches, bossiness, calling, children, covering, dalloway, do-it-herself, doormat, dreamgirl, edition, editions, expanded, fighting, incidents, liberated, personal, raising, relationship, revised, scientist, sitting, teaching, transforming, womanhood, yourself




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


sporting goods: All Terrain KidSport SPF30 Oxybenzone-Free Natural Sunscreen Spray- Disney ...

home  impressum - about us