books about: jefferson
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Thomas Jefferson : Writings : Autobiography / Notes on the State of Virginia / Public and Private Papers / ...
Thomas Jefferson

Library of America, 1984

The most comprehensive one-volume selection of Jefferson ever published. Contains the "Autobiography," "Notes on the State of Virginia," public and private papers, including the original and revised drafts of the Declaration of Independence, addresses, and 287 letters.
  
  











  



  
Thomas Jefferson
R. B. Bernstein

Oxford University Press, 2005

Thomas Jefferson designed his own tombstone, describing himself simply as "Author of the Declaration of Independence and of the Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom, and Father of the University of Virginia." It is in this simple epitaph that R.B. Bernstein finds the key to this enigmatic Founder--not as a great political figure, but as leader of "a revolution of ideas that would make the world over again." In Thomas Jefferson , Bernstein ...
  
  











  



  
Jefferson

New Word City, Inc., 2014

In 1826, Thomas Jefferson was laid to rest at Monticello beside his wife and daughters. His epitaph, which he composed, reads, "Here was buried Thomas Jefferson, author of the Declaration of American Independence, of the Statute of Virginia for Religious Freedom, and father of the University of Virginia." Jefferson's tombstone does not bear a word of his political accomplishment - forty years as an officeholder, Virginia assemblyman, ...
  
  











  



  
American Sphinx: The Character of Thomas Jefferson
Joseph J. Ellis

Vintage, 1998

National Bestseller  For a man who insisted that life on the public stage was not what he had in mind, Thomas Jefferson certainly spent a great deal of time in the spotlight--and not only during his active political career. After 1809, his longed-for retirement was compromised by a steady stream of guests and tourists who made of his estate at Monticello a virtual hotel, as well as by more than one thousand letters per year, most from ...
  
  











  



  
The Jefferson Bible: The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth
Thomas Jefferson

Wilder Publications, 2009

In 1804 Thomas Jefferson decided to study the gospels to see if he could distill the essence of Jesus' teachings into a concise book that could be quickly read and easily understood. This volume is the result, offering valuable insights into the teachings of Jesus Christ and into the mind and beliefs of Thomas Jefferson.
  
  











  



  
Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power
Jon Meacham

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2013

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • The Washington Post • Entertainment Weekly • The Seattle Times • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • Bloomberg Businessweek In this magnificent biography, the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of American Lion and Franklin and Winston brings vividly to life an extraordinary man and his remarkable times. Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power gives us Jefferson the ...
  
  











  



  
Thomas Jefferson: Author of America (Eminent Lives)
Christopher Hitchens

Harper Perennial, 2009

In this unique biography of Thomas Jefferson, leading journalist and social critic Christopher Hitchens offers a startlingly new and provocative interpretation of our Founding Father—a man conflicted by power who wrote the Declaration of Independence and acted as ambassador to France yet yearned for a quieter career in the Virginia legislature. A masterly writer, Jefferson was an awkward public speaker. A professed proponent of emancipation, ...
  
  











  



  
Jefferson and Hamilton: The Rivalry That Forged a Nation
John Ferling

Bloomsbury Press, 2013

From the award-winning author of Almost a Miracle and The Ascent of George Washington, this is the rare work of scholarship that offers us irresistible human drama even as it enriches our understanding of deep themes in our nation’s history. The decade of the 1790s has been called the “age of passion.” Fervor ran high as rival factions battled over the course of the new republic—each side convinced that the other’s goals would betray ...
  
  











  



  
The Jefferson Lies: Exposing the Myths You've Always Believed About Thomas Jefferson
David Barton

Thomas Nelson, 2012

America, in so many ways, has forgotten. Its roots, its purpose, its identity all have become shrouded behind a veil of political correctness bent on twisting the nation's founding, and its founders, to fit within a misshapen modern world. The time has come to remember again. In The Jefferson Lies , prominent historian David Barton sets out to correct the distorted image of a once-beloved founding father, Thomas Jefferson. To do so, Barton ...
  
  











  



  
Thomas Jefferson, 2011

This book was converted from its physical edition to the digital format by a community of volunteers. You may find it for free on the web. Purchase of the Kindle edition includes wireless delivery.
  
  











  



  
Memoir, Correspondence, And Miscellanies, From The Papers Of Thomas Jefferson, Volume 1, 2012

This book was converted from its physical edition to the digital format by a community of volunteers. You may find it for free on the web. Purchase of the Kindle edition includes wireless delivery.
  
  











  



  
Jesus > Religion: Why He Is So Much Better Than Trying Harder, Doing More, and Being Good Enough
Jefferson Bethke

Thomas Nelson, 2013

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Abandon dead, dry, rule-keeping and embrace the promise of being truly known and deeply loved.   Jefferson Bethke burst into the cultural conversation in 2012 with a passionate, provocative poem titled “Why I Hate Religion, But Love Jesus.” The 4-minute video literally became an overnight sensation, with 7 million YouTube views in its first 48 hours (and 23+ million in a year). The message blew up on ...
  
  











  



  
The Autobiography of Thomas Jefferson
Thomas Jefferson

Jefferson Press, 2012

In his riveting autobiography, Jefferson details many of the events that shaped his personal philosophy and would ultimately define his political career. Allowing the reader to step into the shoes of the author of the Declaration of Independence and third president of the United States, this book is a must for anyone interested in the life and ideals of one of America’s most influential Founding Fathers.
  
  











  



  
Who Was Thomas Jefferson?
Dennis Brindell Fradin

Grosset & Dunlap, 2003

Did you know that John Adams had to coax Thomas Jefferson into writing the Declaration of Independence? It's true. The shy Virginia statesman refused at first, but then went on to author one of our nation's most important and inspiring documents. The third U.S. president, Jefferson was also an architect, inventor, musician, farmer, and-what is certainly the most troubling aspect of his life-a slave owner. Finally, here's a biography for kids ...
  
  











  



  
Thomas Jefferson: A Character Sketch, 2012

This book was converted from its physical edition to the digital format by a community of volunteers. You may find it for free on the web. Purchase of the Kindle edition includes wireless delivery.
  
  











  



  
Jefferson Nickels Folder Starting 1996 (Official Whitman Coin Folder)
Whitman

Whitman, 1996

Jefferson Nickles Collectors Folder Starting 1996
  
  











  



  
Embattled Rebel: Jefferson Davis as Commander in Chief
James M. McPherson

Penguin Press HC, The, 2014

From the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Battle Cry of Freedom , a powerful new reckoning with Jefferson Davis as military commander of the Confederacy History has not been kind to Jefferson Davis. His cause went down in disastrous defeat and left the South impoverished for generations. If that cause had succeeded, it would have torn the United States in two and preserved the institution of slavery. Many Americans in Davis’s ...
  
  











  



  
Worlds of Thomas Jefferson At Monticello
Susan R. Stein

Harry N. Abrams, 1993

Thomas Jefferson was, by any reckoning, one of the most remarkable men ever to have crossed America's political stage. In 1776 he drafted the Declaration of Independence, and throughout the Revolution and in the posts he held thereafter - governor of Virginia, minister to France, secretary of state, vice president, and president - Jefferson's responsibilities were enormous and his accomplishments profound. Yet during those years he also was able ...
  
  











  



  
Astoria: Astor and Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Tale of Ambition and Survival on the Early American ...
Peter Stark

Ecco, 2015

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara , Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become ...
  
  











  



  
The Jefferson Bible, Smithsonian Edition: The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth
Thomas Jefferson

Smithsonian Books, 2011

The Jefferson Bible , or The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth as it is formally titled, was Thomas Jefferson's effort to extract what he considered the pertinent doctrine of Jesus by removing sections of the New Testament containing supernatural aspects as well as perceived misinterpretations he believed had been added by the Four Evangelists. Using a razor, Jefferson cut and arranged selected verses from the books of Matthew, Mark, Luke, ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
addresses, ambition, american, astoria, autobiography, believed, character, commander, correspondence, edition, embattled, eminent, exposing, frontier, hamilton, jefferson, miscellanies, monticello, nazareth, nickels, official, private, religion, rivalry, smithsonian, starting, survival, virginia, whitman, writings




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


beauty: Creamy Petroleum Jelly Vitamin E Enriched 7.0oz 1 Tube

home  impressum - about us