books about: merchant
 
 



Suche books:   






  
No Easy Day: The Autobiography of a Navy Seal: The Firsthand Account of the Mission That Killed Osama Bin ...
Mark Owen, Kevin Maurer

Dutton Adult, 2012

For the first time anywhere, the first-person account of the planning and execution of the Bin Laden raid from a Navy Seal who confronted the terrorist mastermind and witnessed his final moments. From the streets of Iraq to the rescue of Captain Richard Phillips in the Indian Ocean, and from the mountaintops of Afghanistan to the third floor of Osama Bin Laden’s compound, operator Mark Owen of the U.S. Naval Special Warfare Development ...
  
  











  



  
The Alchemist
Paulo Coelho

HarperCollins, 1993

"My heart is afraid that it will have to suffer," the boy told the alchemist one night as they looked up at the moonless sky." Tell your heart that the fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself. And that no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dreams." The Alchemist is the magical story of Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who yearns to travel in search of a worldly treasure as extravagant as any ever found. ...
  
  











  



  
King Pirate

Story Merchant Books, 2014

After modern-day pirates murder his best friend, an American ex-Marine captains a fighting ship to wreck revenge. A sexy, cinematic action-thriller in the tradition of Lee Child and Casino Royale. Ryan Kelley is a former Marine who’s drifted into knocking around Southeast Asia as a merchant seaman. His best friend is murdered by King Pirate, leader of the biggest criminal organization currently stalking the Malacca Strait. Kelley ...
  
  











  



  
Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity
Katherine Boo

Random House, 2012

In this brilliant, breathtaking book by Pulitzer Prize winner Katherine Boo, a bewildering age of global change and inequality is made human through the dramatic story of families striving toward a better life in Annawadi, a makeshift settlement in the shadow of luxury hotels near the Mumbai airport. As India starts to prosper, the residents of Annawadi are electric with hope. Abdul, an enterprising teenager, sees “a fortune beyond counting” ...
  
  











  



  
A Confederacy of Dunces
John Kennedy Toole

Grove Weidenfeld, 1987

A Confederacy of Dunces is an American comic masterpiece. John Kennedy Toole's hero, one Ignatius J. Reilly, is "huge, obese, fractious, fastidious, a latter-day Gargantua, a Don Quixote of the French Quarter. His story bursts with wholly original characters, denizens of New Orleans' lower depths, incredibly true-to-life dialogue, and the zaniest series of high and low comic adventures" (Henry Kisor, Chicago Sun-Times).
  
  











  



  
The Dream Merchants - Volume One, 2014

Martin Nitram lives within the crushing reality of the hypercompetitive Grid, where people voluntarily buy and sell each other on a regulated human market exchange. In a world where efficiency rules and few have time to dream and imagine, Martin has an exceptional and undeveloped gift: he is an uber-dreamer. Capitalist titan Byron Brooks has secret plans to exploit Martin’s talent with a revolutionary medical device that enables even the ...
  
  











  



  
And the Mountains Echoed
Khaled Hosseini

Riverhead Books, 2013

An unforgettable novel about finding a lost piece of yourself in someone else. Khaled Hosseini, the #1 New York Times –bestselling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns , has written a new novel about how we love, how we take care of one another, and how the choices we make resonate through generations. In this tale revolving around not just parents and children but brothers and sisters, cousins and caretakers, ...
  
  











  



  
Radical: Taking Back Your Faith from the American Dream
David Platt

Multnomah Books, 2010

What is Jesus worth to you? It's easy for American Christians to forget how Jesus said his followers would actually live, what their new lifestyle would actually look like. They would, he said, leave behind security, money, convenience, even family for him. They would abandon everything for the gospel. They would take up their crosses daily... But who do you know who lives like that? Do you? In Radical , David Platt challenges you to ...
  
  











  



  
Codependent No More: How to Stop Controlling Others and Start Caring for Yourself
Melody Beattie

Hazelden, 1992

Is someone else's problem your problem? If, like so many others, you've lost sight of your own life in the drama of tending to someone else's, you may be codependent--and you may find yourself in this book. The healing touchstone of millions, this modern classic by one of America's best-loved and most inspirational authors holds the key to understanding codependency and to unlocking its stultifying hold on your life. With instructive life ...
  
  











  



  
Life of Pi
Yann Martel

Mariner Books, 2003

The son of a zookeeper, Pi Patel has an encyclopedic knowledge of animal behavior and a fervent love of stories. When Pi is sixteen, his family emigrates from India to North America aboard a Japanese cargo ship, along with their zoo animals bound for new homes. The ship sinks. Pi finds himself alone in a lifeboat, his only companions a hyena, an orangutan, a wounded zebra, and Richard Parker, a 450-pound Bengal tiger. Soon the tiger has ...
  
  











  



  
The Serpent of Venice: A Novel
Christopher Moore

William Morrow, 2014

Venice, a long time ago. Three prominent Venetians await their most loathsome and foul dinner guest, the erstwhile envoy from the Queen of Britain: the rascal-Fool Pocket. This trio of cunning plotters—the merchant, Antonio; the senator, Montressor Brabantio; and the naval officer, Iago—have lured Pocket to a dark dungeon, promising an evening of sprits and debauchery with a rare Amontillado sherry and Brabantio's beautiful daughter, ...
  
  











  



  
A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALs, and Dangerous Days at Sea

Hyperion, 2010

"I share the country's admiration for the bravery of Captain Phillips and his selfless concern for his crew. His courage is a model for all Americans." --President Barack Obama It was just another day on the job for fifty-three-year-old Richard Phillips, captain of the Maersk Alabama, the United States-flagged cargo ship which was carrying, among other things, food and agricultural materials for the World Food Program. That all changed when ...
  
  











  



  
Housekeeping: A Novel
Marilynne Robinson

Picador, 2004

A modern classic, Housekeeping is the story of Ruth and her younger sister, Lucille, who grow up haphazardly, first under the care of their competent grandmother, then of two comically bumbling great-aunts, and finally of Sylvie, their eccentric and remote aunt. The family house is in the small Far West town of Fingerbone set on a glacial lake, the same lake where their grandfather died in a spectacular train wreck, and their mother drove off ...
  
  











  



  
Dead Between the Lines: A Devereaux's Dime Store Mystery

NAL, 2014

Opening an old-fashioned five-and-dime shop in her small Missouri hometown has been a great change for Devereaux “Dev” Sinclair. But when she hosts a reading group there, she learns that bad writing can mean life or death. To keep her new business in the black, Dev opens up her shop to local clubs. But in the first meeting of the Stepping Out Book Club, the speaker storms out after members attack his poetry’s sexism and scorn ...
  
  











  



  
Dr. Fuddle and the Gold Baton

Story Merchant Books, 2012

When the dark musician Jedermann and his fierce Seirens of Dis gain control of the legendary Gold Baton, Tyler, his sister Christina, and their friends are drawn into a perilous adventure foretold by an ancient prophecy. Guided by the mythical Dr. Fuddle, the explorers must leave earth and journey to Orphea. Will the Messengers of Music be able to save the world of the immortal composers from chaos and destruction? For them to have even a ...
  
  











  



  
The Brain That Changes Itself: Stories of Personal Triumph from the Frontiers of Brain Science
Norman Doidge M.D.

Penguin Books, 2007

An astonishing new science called "neuroplasticity" is overthrowing the centuries-old notion that the human brain is immutable. In this revolutionary look at the brain, psychiatrist and psychoanalyst Norman Doidge, M.D., provides an introduction to both the brilliant scientists championing neuroplasticity and the people whose lives they've transformed. From stroke patients learning to speak again to the remarkable case of a woman born with half ...
  
  











  



  
Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life
Barbara Kingsolver, Camille Kingsolver, ...

Harper Perennial, 2008

Author Barbara Kingsolver and her family abandoned the industrial-food pipeline to live a rural life—vowing that, for one year, they’d only buy food raised in their own neighborhood, grow it themselves, or learn to live without it. Part memoir, part journalistic investigation, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle is an enthralling narrative that will open your eyes in a hundred new ways to an old truth: You are what you eat.
  
  











  



  
Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game
Michael Lewis

W. W. Norton & Company, 2004

Moneyball is a quest for the secret of success in baseball. Following the low-budget Oakland Athletics, their larger-than-life general manger, Billy Beane, and the strange brotherhood of amateur baseball enthusiasts, Michael Lewis has written not only "the single most influential baseball book ever" (Rob Neyer, Slate ) but also what "may be the best book ever written on business" ( Weekly Standard ). "I wrote this book because I fell in love ...
  
  











  



  
The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus, Book 1)
Rick Riordan

Disney-Hyperion, 2010

After saving Olympus from the evil Titan lord, Kronos, Percy and friends have rebuilt their beloved Camp Half-Blood, where the next generation of demigods must now prepare for a chilling prophecy of their own: Seven half-bloods shall answer the call, To storm or fire the world must fall. An oath to keep with a final breath, And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death. Now, in a brand-new series from blockbuster best-selling author Rick Riordan, ...
  
  











  



  
Winter of the World: Book Two of the Century Trilogy
Ken Follett

Dutton Adult, 2012

Ken Follett follows up his #1 New York Times bestseller Fall of Giants with a brilliant, page-turning epic about the heroism and honor of World War II, and the dawn of the atomic age. Ken Follett’s Fall of Giants , the first novel in his extraordinary new historical epic, The Century Trilogy, was an international sensation, acclaimed as “sweeping and fascinating, a book that will consume you for days or weeks” ( USA Today ) and ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
alchemist, american, autobiography, beautiful, captain, century, changes, codependent, confederacy, controlling, dangerous, devereaux, firsthand, forevers, frontiers, housekeeping, merchants, miracle, moneyball, mountains, mystery, olympus, personal, pirates, science, trilogy, undercity, vegetable, winning, yourself




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


DVD: Animation - Inari, Konkon, Koi Iroha. Vol.2 [Japan DVD] KABA-10216

home  impressum - about us