books about: non-fiction
 
 



Suche books:   






  
WATCHERS CST
Dean koontz

Simon & Schuster Audio, 1987

From a top secret government laboratory come two genetically altered life forms. One is a magnificent dog of astonishing intelligence. The other, a hybrid monster of a brutally violent nature. And both are on the loose... Bestselling author Dean Koontz presents his most terrifying, dramatic and moving novel: The explosive story of a man and a woman, caught in a relentless storm of mankind’s darkest creation...
  
  











  



  
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Ala Notable ...
Daniel James Brown

Viking Adult, 2013

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken , the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard ...
  
  











  



  
Fearless: The Undaunted Courage and Ultimate Sacrifice of Navy SEAL Team SIX Operator Adam Brown
Eric Blehm

WaterBrook Press, 2013

Fearless takes you deep into SEAL Team SIX, straight to the heart of one of its most legendary operators.   “As a rule, we don’t endorse books or movies or anything regarding the command where I work—and Adam Brown worked—but as the author writes in Fearless , ‘you have to know the rules, so you know when to bend or break them.’ This is one of those times.  Read this book. Period. It succeeds where all the others have ...
  
  











  



  
The Jesus Storybook Bible Deluxe Edition
Sally Lloyd-Jones

Zonderkidz, 2009

Every Story Whispers His Name The award-winning Jesus Storybook Bible invites children to discover—through full-color illustrations and three read-along CDs—that Jesus is at the center of God’s great story of salvation… and at the center of their story, too. This beautifully crafted deluxe edition, with ribbon marker and audio CDs, is a wonderful gift and sure to become a family treasure.
  
  











  



  
Seabiscuit: An American Legend (Ballantine Reader's Circle)
Laura Hillenbrand

Ballantine Books, 2002

Seabiscuit was one of the most electrifying and popular attractions in sports history and the single biggest newsmaker in the world in 1938, receiving more coverage than FDR, Hitler, or Mussolini. But his success was a surprise to the racing establishment, which had written off the crooked-legged racehorse with the sad tail. Three men changed Seabiscuit’s fortunes: Charles Howard was a onetime bicycle repairman who introduced the automobile ...
  
  











  



  
With the Old Breed: At Peleliu and Okinawa
E.B. Sledge

Presidio Press, 2007

“Eugene Sledge became more than a legend with his memoir, With The Old Breed . He became a chronicler, a historian, a storyteller who turns the extremes of the war in the Pacific—the terror, the camaraderie, the banal and the extraordinary—into terms we mortals can grasp.”—Tom Hanks NEW YORK TIMES  BESTSELLER In The Wall Street Journal , Victor Davis Hanson named With the Old Breed one of the top five books on epic ...
  
  











  



  
The Duck Commander Family 2014 Day-to-Day Calendar: How Faith, Family, and Ducks Built a Dynasty
Willie & Korie Robertson

Andrews McMeel Publishing, 2013

Members of the Robertson family are the stars of A&E's hit show Duck Dynasty. This calendar is based on Willie and Korie Robertson's book. Learn about the Robertson family beyond what you know from A&E's hit show Duck Dynasty. In this calendar based on the book The Duck Commander Family, Willie shares what it was like for him and his brothers growing up, how Phil and Kay put food on the table, how their faith sustained them, and of ...
  
  











  



  
Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption
Laura Hillenbrand

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2014

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE •  Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more. In boyhood, Louis Zamperini was an incorrigible delinquent. As a teenager, he channeled his defiance into running, discovering a prodigious talent that had carried him to the Berlin Olympics. But when World War II began, the athlete became an airman, embarking on a ...
  
  











  



  
Redeeming Love
Francine Rivers

Fanfare, 1991

Best-selling author Francine Rivers skillfully retells the biblical love story of Gomer and Hosea as a tale set against the romantic historical background of the California Gold Rush. The main character, Angel, is a young woman who was sold into prostitution as a child. Michael Hosea, the hero, is a godly man who is sent into Angel's life to bring her God's love and truth, and to draw her into the Savior's redeeming love.
  
  











  



  
The Walking Dead: Compendium Two
Robert Kirkman

Image Comics, 2012

Returning with the second eight volumes of the fan-favorite, New York Times bestseller series, The Walking Dead, collected into one massive paperback collection! This is the perfect collection for any fan of the Emmy Award-winning television series on AMC: over one-thousand pages chronicling the next chapter of Robert Kirkman's Eisner Award-winning continuing story of survival horror - beginning with Rick Grimes' struggle to survive after the ...
  
  











  



  
Homer's Odyssey: A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned about Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat
Gwen Cooper

Bantam, 2010

ONCE IN NINE LIVES, SOMETHING EXTRAORDINARY HAPPENS.   The last thing Gwen Cooper wanted was another cat. She already had two, not to mention a phenomenally underpaying job and a recently broken heart. Then Gwen’s veterinarian called with a story about a three-week-old eyeless kitten who’d been abandoned. It was love at first sight. Everyone warned that Homer would always be an “underachiever.” But the kitten nobody believed in quickly ...
  
  











  



  
Where the Sidewalk Ends: Poems and Drawings
Shel Silverstein

HarperCollins, 2014

Where the Sidewalk Ends turns forty! Celebrate with this anniversary edition that features an eye-catching commemorative red sticker. This classic poetry collection, which is both outrageously funny and profound, has been the most beloved of Shel Silverstein's poetry books for generations. Where the sidewalk ends, Shel Silverstein's world begins. There you'll meet a boy who turns into a TV set and a girl who eats a whale. The Unicorn and the ...
  
  











  



  
Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea
Barbara Demick

Spiegel & Grau, 2009

A National Book Award finalist and National Book Critics Circle finalist, Barbara Demick’s Nothing to Envy is a remarkable view into North Korea, as seen through the lives of six ordinary citizens   Nothing to Envy follows the lives of six North Koreans over fifteen years—a chaotic period that saw the death of Kim Il-sung, the unchallenged rise to power of his son Kim Jong-il, and the devastation of a far-ranging famine that killed ...
  
  











  



  
Chicka Chicka Boom Boom
Bill Martin Jr., John Archambault

Little Simon, 1991

A long-time favorite children's story is narrated in lively fashion, and features the voice and music of Ray Charles.
  
  











  



  
Gifted Hands [VHS]
Ben Carson M.D., Cecil Murphey

Zondervan, 1992

From the pages of his best-selling book, Gifted Hands, Dr. Ben Carson comes to life in this even more inspiring video. Instead of having to imagine the man and his world, you can actually see and hear Ben Carson at home with his family and watch his gifted hands during surgery. You can observe him encouraging school children to try to be all that they can be. And you can accompany him on his professional rounds at Johns Hopkins University ...
  
  











  



  
October Sky (The Coalwood Series #1)
Homer Hickam

Dell, 1999

The true story, originally published as Rocket Boys , that inspired the Universal Pictures film. It was 1957, the year Sputnik raced across the Appalachian sky, and the small town of Coalwood, West Virginia, was slowly dying. Faced with an uncertain future, Homer Hickam nurtured a dream: to send rockets into outer space. The introspective son of the mine’s superintendent and a mother determined to get him out of Coalwood forever, Homer ...
  
  











  



  
The Action Bible
David C. Cook

David C. Cook, 2010

Here’s the most complete picture Bible ever! And it features a captivating, up-to-date artwork style—making it the perfect Bible for today’s visually focused culture.   The Action Bible presents 215 fast-paced narratives in chronological order, making it easier to follow the Bible’s historical flow—and reinforcing the build-up to its thrilling climax.   The stories in The Action Bible communicate clearly and forcefully to ...
  
  











  



  
Hinds Feet On High Places
Hannah Hurnard

Tyndale House Publishers, 1976

Hannah Hurnard created the story of Much Afraid, a young girl hoping to travel from the Valley of Humiliation to the High Places. Along the way, she meets a number of memorable characters— including the Family of Fearings, Cousin Pride, Mrs. Valiant, Mercy, and Peace. Much Afraid also meets the ever-caring Shepherd, who helps her on her journey, at the end of which she receives a new name: Grace and Glory. This long-time best-seller is an ...
  
  











  



  
The Hiding Place
John Sherrill, Elizabeth Sherrill, ...

Chosen, 2006

Corrie ten Boom was a woman admired the world over for her courage, her forgiveness, and her memorable faith. In World War II, she and her family risked their lives to help Jews escape the Nazis, and their reward was a trip to Hitler's concentration camps. But she survived and was released--as a result of a clerical error--and now shares the story of how faith triumphs over evil. For thirty-five years Corrie's dramatic life story, full of ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
american, americans, ballantine, calendar, coalwood, commander, compendium, day-to-day, drawings, edition, fearless, learned, notable, okinawa, olympics, operator, ordinary, peleliu, redeeming, redemption, resilience, sacrifice, seabiscuit, sidewalk, storybook, survival, ultimate, unbroken, undaunted, watchers




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: The Marine Biology Coloring Book (College Outline)

home  impressum - about us