books about: nonfiction
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The American Revolution: A History (Modern Library Chronicles)

Modern Library, 2002

In the American colonies of the 1770s, people were fed up with British laws. Local farmers and tradesmen secretly formed a militia. In 1775, when the British marched into Lexington and Concord, Massachusetts, the Americans were ready. From that first battle to the final showdown at Yorktown, the Americans fought against tremendous odds. The British army was bigger and better trained. Food and guns were scarce. But George Washington’s ragged ...
  
  











  



  
Ultimate Sticker Book: Frozen (Ultimate Sticker Books)
DK Publishing

DK CHILDREN, 2013

Frozen journeys into theaters November 27, 2013, in Disney Digital 3D™ in select theaters. From the studio behind 2010's Tangled and this year's Wreck-It Ralph , Walt Disney Animation Studios presents Frozen , the coolest comedy-adventure ever to hit the big screen. When a prophecy traps a kingdom in eternal winter, Anna, a fearless optimist, teams up with extreme mountain man Kristoff and his sidekick reindeer, Sven, on an epic ...
  
  











  



  
Gone Girl: A Novel
Gillian Flynn

Broadway Books, 2014

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone ...
  
  











  



  
Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption

Random House, 2010

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE •  Hailed as the top nonfiction book of the year by Time magazine • Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for biography and the Indies Choice Adult Nonfiction Book of the Year award   On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. ...
  
  











  



  
The Nazi Officer's Wife: How One Jewish Woman Survived The Holocaust

William Morrow, 2012

Edith Hahn was an outspoken young woman in Vienna when the Gestapo forced her into a ghetto and then into a labor camp. When she returned home months later, she knew she would become a hunted woman and went underground. With the help of a Christian friend, she emerged in Munich as Grete Denner. There she met Werner Vetter, a Nazi Party member who fell in love with her. Despite Edith's protests and even her eventual confession that she was ...
  
  











  



  
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Viking Adult, 2013

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken , the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard ...
  
  











  



  
Zack & Zoey's Alien Apocalypse -or- Alien Busting Ninja Adventure (Z&Z Book 1)

CG Press LTD., 2012

Free for a limited time--with over 50 full-color images be sure to download it today! When hungry aliens begin their 'rain' of terror, break out the umbrellas--the aliens can't eat you with an umbrella shoved in their huge mouths. Looking for yummy human tenders, Admiral Nact-bauk invades the local school. Zack and Zoey lead the counterattack armed with rulers, protractors, and dodge balls. They might have a chance, if Nact-bauk ...
  
  











  



  
925 Ideas to Help You Save Money, Get Out of Debt and Retire A Millionaire So You Can Leave Your Mark on the ..., 2012

Devin Thorpe has collected over 150 essays on personal and family finance to help you learn how to be happier with your money, to live more frugally and investment more wisely. 925 Ideas... is an easy and readable guide to help your family find financial peace. Author Devin D. Thorpe explains: 1) how you and your spouse can find agreement on money matters, 2) how to teach your kids about money, 3) how to pay for your children's ...
  
  











  



  
Nikola Tesla: Imagination and the Man That Invented the 20th Century

Oculus Publishers, 2013

If you want to learn about one of history's most fascinating minds and uncover some of his secrets of imagination--secrets that enabled him to invent machines light years ahead of his time and literally bring light to the world--then you want to read this book. Imagination amplifies and colors every other element of genius, and unlocks our potential for understanding and ability. It's no coincidence that geniuses not only dare to dream of ...
  
  











  



  
The Syndrome: Based on a True Story (Book #1)

Deep Blue Publishing, 2014

Top 100 Amazon Bestselling Author  --Trail of 32     THE SYNDROME, "....Paul Rega does a masterful job of extracting what can only be described as raw emotion from his audience, in his most compelling novel yet."      Inspired by a true story, Nikolas Renzetti's life is not how he had planned it. Alienated from his children and on the verge of divorce, his escape from what was now reality, seems all but certain. ...
  
  











  



  
Twelve Years a Slave

Open Road Media, 2014

The harrowing true story that inspired the critically acclaimed film The son of a freed slave, Solomon Northup lived the first thirty years of his life as a free man in upstate New York. In the spring of 1841, he was offered a job: a short-term, lucrative engagement as a violinist in a traveling circus. It was a trap. In Washington, DC, Northup was drugged, kidnapped, and sold into slavery. He spent the next twelve years on plantations in ...
  
  











  



  
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

Broadway Books, 2012

The book that started the Quiet Revolution At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over working in teams. It is to introverts—Rosa Parks, Chopin, Dr. Seuss, Steve Wozniak—that we owe many of the great contributions to society.  In Quiet, Susan Cain argues that we dramatically undervalue ...
  
  











  



  
Barely Breathing (The Breathing Series, #2)

Skyscape, 2013

"I've spent most of my life trying to make it to a future that still hasn't happened, or avoid a past that won't let me go. I don't remember when I've ever just stopped to live in the present, to hold on to the seconds I'm in." Emma Thomas’s struggle with an abusive home life came to a heart-pounding conclusion in the final chapters of Reason to Breathe , the first installment of The Breathing Series — Rebecca Donovan’s bestselling ...
  
  











  



  
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail (Oprah's Book Club 2.0 1)

Vintage, 2012

A powerful, blazingly honest memoir: the story of an eleven-hundred-mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe—and built her back up again.   At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother's death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed. Four years later, with nothing more to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life: to hike the Pacific ...
  
  











  



  
A Little Bit of Everything For Dummies

For Dummies, 2011

Twenty years ago the very first For Dummies book, DOS For Dummies , was published. From that first printing of that first book came a series unlike anything in the publishing world, one that is global in both geography - we have been published worldwide in some 30 languages - and in coverage. No single volume can hope to summarize what thousands of titles have meant to millions of readers over the years, and we don't claim to do that in this ...
  
  











  



  
The Frugal Prepper: Survival on a Budget, 2014

Prepare for Survival Without Breaking the Bank! We all need to prep. Nobody knows what the future will bring. But, prepping doesn't need to cost you your life savings! You don’t need to spend money on every latest gadget and toy, every item marketed as a “must-have” or a “life-saver”. The Frugal Prepper: Survival on a Budget will guide you and your family through the important steps and considerations that you need to begin ...
  
  











  



  
The Going-To-Bed Book
Sandra Boynton

Little Simon, 1982

Getting ready for sleep is tons of fun in this special anniversary edition of a Sandra Boynton classic. The sun has set not long ago. Now everybody goes below to take a bath in one big tub with soap all over—SCRUB SCRUB SCRUB! This classic bedtime story is just right for winding down the day as a joyful, silly group of animals scrub scrub scrub in the tub, brush and brush and brush their teeth, and finally rock and rock and rock to sleep. ...
  
  











  



  
TIME for Kids The Big Book of Why: 1,001 Facts Kids Want to Know

Time Home Entertainment, 2010

Why do we have eyebrows? What's a black hole, and what happens if you fall into one? What's the fastest a human is capable of running? Why do wet fingers stick to metal in the freezer? Where is the deepest point on Earth? Divided by subject area--humans, animals, environment/nature, technology, and space--and written in an upbeat manner, each answer is accompanied by either a photo or an illustration to show the reasons why. Of course, TIME for ...
  
  











  



  
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

Random House, 2009

Here is a book as joyous and painful, as mysterious and memorable, as childhood itself. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings captures the longing of lonely children, the brute insult of bigotry, and the wonder of words that can make the world right. Maya Angelou’s debut memoir, first published in 1969, is a modern American classic beloved worldwide.   Sent by their mother to live with their devout, self-sufficient grandmother in a small ...
  
  











  



  
33 Cute Animals of the World (Cool Facts and Picture Book Series for Kids), 2013

What are the Cutest Animals in the World? All children love adorable looking animals. But do they know which ones are the cutest? In "33 Cute Animals of the World" your child will get a captivating, fact-based guide that is filled with stunning photographs and information on adorable animals that can be found all over the globe. Each of these 33 profiles contain an animal photograph with a caption and detailed facts. Not only will ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
adventure, american, americans, apocalypse, breathing, busting, century, chronicles, dummies, everything, going-to-bed, holocaust, imagination, introverts, invented, library, millionaire, olympics, pacific, picture, redemption, resilience, revolution, sticker, survival, survived, syndrome, talking, ultimate, unbroken




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: Changing the Game: The New Way to Sell

home  impressum - about us