books about: nowhere
 
 



Suche books:   






  
No Place to Hide: Edward Snowden, the NSA, and the U.S. Surveillance State
Glenn Greenwald

Metropolitan Books, 2014

In May 2013, Glenn Greenwald set out for Hong Kong to meet an anonymous source who claimed to have astonishing evidence of pervasive government spying and insisted on communicating only through heavily encrypted channels. That source turned out to be the 29-year-old NSA contractor Edward Snowden, and his revelations about the agency’s widespread, systemic overreach proved to be some of the most explosive and consequential news in recent ...
  
  











  



  
Elementary Analysis: The Theory of Calculus (Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics)
Kenneth A. Ross

Springer, 2013

For over three decades, this best-selling classic has been used by thousands of students in the United States and abroad as a must-have textbook for a transitional course from calculus to analysis. It has proven to be very useful for mathematics majors who have no previous experience with rigorous proofs.  Its friendly style unlocks the mystery of writing proofs, while carefully examining the theoretical basis for calculus.  Proofs are given ...
  
  











  



  
Gods of The Nowhere: A Novel of Halloween
James Tipper

Waxlight Press, 2013

The ancient Celts believed that the veil separating the worlds of the living and the dead was at its thinnest on Halloween; it was then that the dead could get through. But could it work the other way? Could we go to them? High school senior Sam McGrath is convinced it can be done. For as long as he can remember, The Nowhere has been beckoning him, reaching out with cold and ancient fingers. Crippled from a childhood injury, Sam has always been ...
  
  











  



  
Black Science Volume 2: Welcome, Nowhere
Rick Remender

Image Comics, 2015

In this second volume of the hit series, the Anarchist League of Scientists dives further into the Onion construct of reality than ever before, jumping wildly through worlds of wonder, fantastic beauty, and cosmic horrors. Beset on dangers from without and within, the team must learn to be a family if they're ever to survive and find their way home again.
  
  











  



  
The Geography of Nowhere: The Rise and Decline of America's Man-Made Landscape
James Howard Kunstler

Free Press, 1994

The Geography of Nowhere traces America's evolution from a nation of Main Streets and coherent communities to a land where every place is like no place in particular, where the cities are dead zones and the countryside is a wasteland of cartoon architecture and parking lots. In elegant and often hilarious prose, Kunstler depicts our nation's evolution from the Pilgrim settlements to the modern auto suburb in all its ghastliness. The ...
  
  











  



  
crowded in the middle of nowhere
dr bo brock

rare bird, 2014

What do you do when you have a goat in your kitchen in the middle of the night? Why should you never put a pig in your mouth? With humor and heart, seasoned Texas veterinarian Bo Brock answers these questions and many more in his lighthearted collection of autobiographical essays, crowded in the middle of nowhere. Drawing from decades of work with every imaginable animal, as well as from his time off with his friends and family, Brock admits ...
  
  











  



  
Nothing to Lose (Jack Reacher)
Lee Child

Dell, 2009

Two small towns in the middle of nowhere: Hope and Despair. Between them, nothing but twelve miles of empty road. Jack Reacher can’t find a ride, so he walks. All he wants is a cup of coffee. What he gets are four hostile locals, a vagrancy charge, and an order to move on. They’re picking on the wrong guy. Reacher is a hard man. No job, no address, no baggage. Nothing at all, except hardheaded curiosity. What are the secrets that Despair ...
  
  











  



  
Nowhere to Turn: A Novel (Hidden Identity) (Volume 2)
Lynette Eason

Revell, 2014

The day Danielle Harding takes her 11-year-old son, Simon, and flees from her abusive husband, is the same day Kurt Harding dies. A relieved Dani believes she and her son are finally safe--but in reality, the danger has just begun. When Kurt was alive, he took something important to a mysterious person. That person wants the item back and believes Dani now has it. As she and her son run for their lives, they have nowhere to turn, until she hires ...
  
  











  



  
The Big Nowhere
James Ellroy

Mysterious Press, 1998

Los Angeles, 1950 Red crosscurrents: the Commie Scare and a string of brutal mutilation killings. Gangland intrigue and Hollywood sleaze. Three cops caught in a hellish web of ambition, perversion, and deceit. Danny Upshaw is a Sheriff's deputy stuck with a bunch of snuffs nobody cares about; they're his chance to make his name as a cop...and to sate his darkest curiosities. Mal Considine is D.A.'s Bureau brass. He's climbing on the Red Scare ...
  
  











  



  
Nowhere to Run (A Joe Pickett Novel)
C. J. Box

Berkley, 2011

It's Joe Pickett's last week as a temporary game warden in the mountain town of Baggs, Wyoming, but his conscience won't let him leave without checking out the strange reports coming from the wilderness: camps looted, tents slashed, elk butchered. What awaits him is like something out of an old campfire tale, except this story is all too real-and all too deadly.
  
  











  



  
Neverwhere
Neil Gaiman

Avon, 1998

Richard Mayhew is a plain man with a good heart -- and an ordinary life that is changed forever on a day he stops to help a girl he finds bleeding on a London sidewalk. From that moment forward he is propelled into a world he never dreamed existed -- a dark subculture flourish in abandoned subway stations and sewer tunnels below the city -- a world far stranger and more dangerous than the only one he has ever known...Richard Mayhew is a young ...
  
  











  



  
Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere
Julie T. Lamana

Chronicle Books, 2014

Armani Curtis can think about only one thing: her tenth birthday. All her friends are coming to her party, her mama is making a big cake, and she has a good feeling about a certain wrapped box. Turning ten is a big deal to Armani. It means she's older, wiser, more responsible. But when Hurricane Katrina hits the Lower Nines of New Orleans, Armani realizes that being ten means being brave, watching loved ones die, and mustering all her strength ...
  
  











  



  
Last Train to Paradise: Henry Flagler and the Spectacular Rise and Fall of the Railroad that Crossed an Ocean
Les Standiford

Broadway Books, 2003

Last Train to Paradise is acclaimed novelist Les Standiford’s fast-paced and gripping true account of the extraordinary construction and spectacular demise of the Key West Railroad—one of the greatest engineering feats ever undertaken, destroyed in one fell swoop by the Labor Day hurricane of 1935. Brilliant and driven entrepreneur Henry Flagler’s dream fulfilled, the Key West Railroad stood as a magnificent achievement for more than ...
  
  











  



  
Nowhere to Hide: Why Kids with ADHD and LD Hate School and What We Can Do About It
Jerome J. Schultz

Jossey-Bass, 2011

A new approach to help kids with ADHD and LD succeed in and outside the classroom This groundbreaking book addresses the consequences of the unabated stress associated with Learning disabilities and ADHD and the toxic, deleterious impact of this stress on kids' academic learning, social skills, behavior, and efficient brain functioning. Schultz draws upon three decades of work as a neuropsychologist, teacher educator, and school consultant to ...
  
  











  



  
Nowhere Men Volume 1: Fates Worse Than Death TP
Eric Stephenson

Image Comics, 2013

"SCIENCE IS THE NEW ROCK 'N' ROLL!" So said Dade Ellis, Simon Grimshaw, Emerson Strange, and Thomas Walker at the dawn of a new age of enlightenment that ushered in a boom in scientific advancement. As the research supergroup World Corp., they became the most celebrated scientists of all time. They changed the world - and we loved them for it. But where did it all go wrong? And when progress is made at any and all cost, who ultimately pays the ...
  
  











  



  
Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir
Poe Ballantine

Hawthorne Books, 2013

Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere. Poe Ballantine's "Free Rent at the Totalitarian Hotel" included in Best American Essays 2013, and for well over twenty years, Poe Ballantine traveled America, taking odd jobs, living in small rooms, trying to make a living as a writer. At age 46, he finally settled ...
  
  











  



  
The 39 Clues: Unstoppable: Nowhere to Run
Jude Watson

Scholastic Inc., 2013

The Cahill family has a secret. For five hundred years, they have guarded the 39 Clues – thirty-nine ingredients in a serum that transforms whomever takes it into the most powerful person on earth. If the serum got into the wrong hands, the disaster would rock the world. So certain Cahills have always made it their mission to keep the serum safe, buried, locked away. Until now.   Thirteen-year-old Dan Cahill and his older sister, Amy, are ...
  
  











  



  
Nowhere Hair: Explains your cancer and chemo to your kids
Sue Glader

Thousand Words Press, 2013

The little girl in NOWHERE HAIR knows two things: Her mom's hair is not on her head anymore, so therefore it must be somewhere around the house. After searching the obvious places, the story reveals that her mother, although going through cancer treatment, is still silly, attentive, happy and yes, sometimes very tired and cranky. She learns that she didn't cause the cancer, can't catch it, and that Mommy still is very much up for the job of ...
  
  











  



  
The Edge of the Water (Edge of Nowhere)
Elizabeth George

Viking Juvenile, 2014

A mysterious girl who won’t speak; a coal black seal named Nera that returns to the same place very year; a bitter feud of unknown origin—strange things are happening on Whidbey Island, and Becca King, is drawn into the maelstrom of events. But Becca, first met in The Edge of Nowhere , has her own secrets to hide. Still on the run from her criminal stepfather,  Becca is living in a secret location. Even Derric, the Ugandan orphan with ...
  
  











  



  
From Norvelt to Nowhere (Norvelt Series)
Jack Gantos

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR), 2013

This rocket-paced follow-up to the Newbery Medal–winning novel Dead End in Norvelt opens deep in the shadow of the Cuban missile crisis. But instead of Russian warheads, other kinds of trouble are raining down on young Jack Gantos and his utopian town of Norvelt in western Pennsylvania. After an explosion, a new crime by an old murderer, and the sad passing of the town’s founder, twelve-year-old Jack will soon find himself launched on a ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
america, analysis, calculus, crossed, crowded, decline, elementary, explains, flagler, geography, halloween, howling, identity, landscape, man-made, mathematics, neverwhere, nothing, nowhere, paradise, pickett, railroad, reacher, science, snowden, spectacular, surveillance, undergraduate, unstoppable, welcome




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


sporting goods: AIRHEAD AHW-1020 Splash Wakeboard

home  impressum - about us