books about: others
 
 



Suche books:   






  
With the Old Breed: The World War Two Pacific Classic
E. B. Sledge

Ebury, 2011

The inspiration behind the HBO series THE PACIFIC This was a brutish, primitive hatred, as characteristic of the horror of war in the Pacific as the palm trees and the islands...Landing on the beach at Peleliu in 1944 as a twenty-year-old new recruit to the US Marines, Eugene Sledge can only try desperately to survive. At Peleliu and Okinawa - two of the fiercest and filthiest Pacific battles of WWII - he witnesses the dehumanising brutality ...
  
  











  



  
Happy, Happy, Happy: My Life and Legacy as the Duck Commander

Simon & Schuster Audio, 2013

This no-holds-barred autobiography chronicles the remarkable life of Phil Robertson, the original Duck Commander and Duck Dynasty star, from early childhood through the founding of a family business. Life was always getting in the way of Phil Robertson's passion for duck hunting. An NFL-bound quarterback, Phil made his mark on Louisiana Tech University in the 1960s by playing football and completing his college career with a master's ...
  
  











  



  
The Duck Commander Family: How Faith, Family, and Ducks Built a Dynasty
Willie Robertson, Korie Robertson

Howard Books, 2012

Faith. Family. Ducks—in that order. This book gives readers an up-close and personal, behind-the-scenes look at the family in the exploding A&E® show— Duck Dynasty ®. This Louisiana bayou family operates Duck Commander, a booming family business that has made them millions. You’ll hear all about the Robertson clan from Willie and what it was like growing up in the Robertson household. You’ll sample some of Willie’s favorite family ...
  
  











  



  
Wonder
R. J. Palacio

Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2012

The extraordinary #1 New York Times  bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers. I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse. August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past ...
  
  











  



  
The Heroes of Olympus - Book Three: Mark of Athena
Rick Riordan

Disney-Hyperion, 2014

In The Son of Neptune , Percy, Hazel, and Frank met in Camp Jupiter, the Roman equivalent of Camp Halfblood, and traveled to the land beyond the gods to complete a dangerous quest. The third book in the Heroes of Olympus series will unite them with Jason, Piper, and Leo. But they number only six--who will complete the Prophecy of Seven? The Greek and Roman demigods will have to cooperate in order to defeat the giants released by the Earth ...
  
  











  



  
The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus, Book 2)
Rick Riordan

Disney-Hyperion, 2011

Percy is confused. When he awoke after his long sleep, he didn't know much more than his name. His brain-fuzz is lingering, even after the wolf Lupa told him he is a demigod and trained him to fight. Somehow Percy managed to make it to the camp for half-bloods, despite the fact that he had to continually kill monsters that, annoyingly, would not stay dead. But the camp doesn't ring any bells with him. Hazel is supposed to be dead. When she ...
  
  











  



  
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Penguin Audio, 2013

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken , the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics. Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, ...
  
  











  



  
Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices Book 3)

Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2013

Danger and betrayal, love and loss, secrets and enchantment are woven together in the breathtaking finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices Trilogy, prequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Danger intensifies for the Shadowhunters as the New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices trilogy comes to a close. If the only way to save the world was to destroy what you loved most, would you do ...
  
  











  



  
There's More to Life Than This: Healing Messages, Remarkable Stories, and Insight About the Other Side from ...
Theresa Caputo

Atria Books, 2014

For fans of TLC’s Long Island Medium and anyone interested in the big questions of life, death, and finding out what’s important in between, New York Times bestselling author and medium Theresa Caputo shares how she discovered her gift and her many encounters with Spirit. Beloved medium Theresa Caputo, star of the hit television show Long Island Medium , opens the door to her world and invites you to experience her exceptional gift of ...
  
  











  



  
The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
Sally Lloyd-Jones

Zonderkidz, 2007

The Moonbeam Award Gold Medal Winner in the religion category, The Jesus Storybook Bible tells the Story beneath all the stories in the Bible. At the center of the Story is a baby, the child upon whom everything will depend. Every story whispers his name. From Noah to Moses to the great King David---every story points to him. He is like the missing piece in a puzzle---the piece that makes all the other pieces fit together. From the Old ...
  
  











  



  
Lonesome Dove
Larry McMurtry

Pan Books, 1986
  
  











  



  
Hind's Feet on High Places: An Allegory Dramatizing the Journey Each of Us Must Take Before We Can Live in ...
Hannah Hurnard

Blacksmith Corp, 1999

Hannah Hurnard created the story of Much Afraid, a young girl hoping to travel from the Valley of Humiliation to the High Places. Along the way, she meets a number of memorable characters— including the Family of Fearings, Cousin Pride, Mrs. Valiant, Mercy, and Peace. Much Afraid also meets the ever-caring Shepherd, who helps her on her journey, at the end of which she receives a new name: Grace and Glory. This long-time best-seller is an ...
  
  











  



  
The Power of a Praying Wife
Stormie Omartian

Harvest House Publishers, 1999

Every wife who desires a deeper, more meaningful relationship with her husband is sure to appreciate Stormie's candor and encouragement in this practical book. By focusing on 30 different areas, women can cover every aspect of their husband's lives with prayer, including security in work and finances; health and physical protection; spiritual and emotional strength; fears and emotions; faith and the future; sexuality and communication; and ...
  
  











  



  
October Sky (The Coalwood Series #1)
Homer H. Hickam

Fourth Estate Ltd, 1999

Three years in the life of Homer 'Sonny' Hickam, from the moment he sees the Sputnik satellite overhead in West Virginia to his successful launch of a prizewinning rocket. A nostalgic and lyrical memoir of growing up in rural West Virginia in the 1950s and one boy's dream to rival the Russians in the race for space. In 1957 in Coalwood, West Virginia, a town dominated by the black steel towers of the mine and the coal waggons, for a fourteen ...
  
  











  



  
Seabiscuit: An American Legend

Random House Audio, 2010

Seabiscuit was one of the most electrifying and popular attractions in sports history and the single biggest newsmaker in the world in 1938, receiving more coverage than FDR, Hitler, or Mussolini. But his success was a surprise to the racing establishment, which had written off the crooked-legged racehorse with the sad tail. Three men changed Seabiscuit's fortunes: Charles Howard was a onetime bicycle repairman who introduced the automobile to ...
  
  











  



  
Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul: 101 Stories of Life, Love and Learning, Cassette (Chicken Soup for the ...
Jack Canfield

Health Communications, 1997

This cassette contains important lessons on the nature of friendship and love, the importance of belief in the future, the value of respect for oneself and others and more.
  
  











  



  
Endurance : Shackleton's Incredible Voyage
Alfred Lansing

Carroll & Graf Publishers, 1986

The astonishing saga of polar explorer Ernest Shackleton's survival for over a year on the ice-bound Antarctic seas, as Time magazine put it, "defined heroism." Alfred Lansing's scrupulously researched and brilliantly narrated book -- with over 200,000 copies sold -- has long been acknowledged as the definitive account of the Endurance's fateful trip. To write their authoritative story, Lansing consulted with ten of the surviving members and ...
  
  











  



  
The Everyday Life Bible: The Power of God's Word for Everyday Living
Joyce Meyer

FaithWords, 2009

As one of the world's most recognized and respected Bible teachers, Joyce Meyer's insight on Scripture is an invaluable resource to many students of the Word of God. THE EVERYDAY LIFE BIBLE is your tool for understanding and cherishing the Bible as deeply as Joyce does. Her well-researched knowledge of Scripture and her passion for weaving the Word of God into daily life are inspiring companions to the Amplified Version of the Bible. The Bible ...
  
  











  



  
Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption
Katie J. Davis

Howard Books, 2012

What would cause an eighteen-year-old senior class president and homecoming queen from Nashville, Tennessee, to disobey and disappoint her parents by forgoing college, break her little brother’s heart, lose all but a handful of her friends (because they think she has gone off the deep end), and break up with the love of her life, all so she could move to Uganda, where she knew only one person and didn’t even speak the language? A passion ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
allegory, american, americans, cassette, clockwork, coalwood, commander, communications, devices, dramatizing, endurance, everyday, healing, incredible, infernal, insight, journey, learning, lonesome, messages, olympics, princess, redemption, relentless, remarkable, seabiscuit, shackleton, stories, storybook, whispers




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


tools & hardware: Aqua Plumb 1829015 LB63LF Single Basin Polished Chrome Cross Handle Faucet

home  impressum - about us