books about: post-american
 
 



Suche books:   






  
A Dog's Purpose
W. Bruce Cameron

Forge Books, 2010

This is the remarkable story of one endearing dog’s search for his purpose over the course of several lives. More than just another charming dog story, A Dog’s Purpose touches on the universal quest for an answer to life's most basic question: Why are we here? Surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy after a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey’s search for his new life’s meaning leads him into ...
  
  











  



  
Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption
Laura Hillenbrand

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2014

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE •  Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more. In boyhood, Louis Zamperini was an incorrigible delinquent. As a teenager, he channeled his defiance into running, discovering a prodigious talent that had carried him to the Berlin Olympics. But when World War II began, the athlete became an airman, embarking on a ...
  
  











  



  
Maybe Someday
Colleen Hoover

Atria Books, 2014

At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She's in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her--and she's forced to decide what her next move should be. Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can't take her eyes off him or stop ...
  
  











  



  
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Ala Notable ...
Daniel James Brown

Viking Adult, 2013

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken , the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard ...
  
  











  



  
Crashed (Driven)
K. Bromberg

Tantor Audio, 2014

Life is full of moments. Big moments. Little moments. And none of them are inconsequential. Every single moment prepares you for that one instance that defines your life. You must overcome all your fears, confront the demons that chase you, and cleanse the poison that clings to your soul or you risk the chance of losing everything. Mine started the minute Rylee fell out of that damn storage closet. She made me feel. Made me whole when all ...
  
  











  



  
With the Old Breed: At Peleliu and Okinawa
E.B. Sledge

Presidio Press, 2007

“Eugene Sledge became more than a legend with his memoir, With The Old Breed . He became a chronicler, a historian, a storyteller who turns the extremes of the war in the Pacific—the terror, the camaraderie, the banal and the extraordinary—into terms we mortals can grasp.”—Tom Hanks NEW YORK TIMES  BESTSELLER In The Wall Street Journal , Victor Davis Hanson named With the Old Breed one of the top five books on epic ...
  
  











  



  
Refugees (The Remaining)
D.J. Molles

Orbit, 2014

He has fought the fight, and run the race. But the enemies never stop coming, and the race has no finish line. It has been three months since Captain Lee Harden found the survivors at Camp Ryder. With winter looming, Lee is on the verge of establishing Camp Ryder as a hub of safety and stability in the region. But not everyone agrees with Lee's mission...or his methods. Growing tensions between camp leadership are coming to a head, and as ...
  
  











  



  
Outlaw Platoon: Heroes, Renegades, Infidels, and the Brotherhood of War in Afghanistan
Sean Parnell, John Bruning

William Morrow Paperbacks, 2013

A riveting story of American fighting men, Outlaw Platoon is Lieutenant Sean Parnell’s stunning personal account of the legendary U.S. Army’s 10th Mountain Division’s heroic stand in the mountains of Afghanistan. Acclaimed for its vivid, poignant, and honest recreation of sixteen brutal months of nearly continuous battle in the deadly Hindu Kesh, Outlaw Platoon is a Band of Brothers or We Were Soldiers Once and Young for the early ...
  
  











  



  
Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire (Book 4)
J.K. Rowling

Scholastic Press, 2000

Fourteen-year-old Harry Potter joins the Weasleys at the Quidditch World Cup, then enters his fourth year at Hogwarts Academy where he is mysteriously entered in an unusual contest that challenges his wizarding skills, friendships and character, amid signs that an old enemy is growing stronger.
  
  











  



  
The Sea of Tranquility: A Novel
Katja Millay

Atria Books, 2013

A School Library Journal Best Book of 2013 An ALA/YALSA Alex Award Winner I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk. Two and a half years ...
  
  











  



  
Animal
K'wan

Cash Money Content, 2012

One bullet changed everything. Three years after narrowly escaping a one way trip to the gas chamber, the fugitive known only as Animal finds himself drawn back to the scene of the crime, Harlem, NY. Throughout his entire time in exile the only thing that kept Animal going was the thought that he would one day be reunited with his soul mate, Gucci. But one bullet changed everything. When his enemies tried to murder Gucci they crossed the ...
  
  











  



  
Sacrifice of Love (Grey Wolves)
Quinn Loftis

Tantor Audio, 2014

As one evil falls, another rises in its place. The powerful witch Desdemona has finally been killed by an alliance of wolf, elf, and fae. But Reyaz, brother to Cypher the warlock king, has vowed retribution for a life that was taken from him. Now Cypher must decide not only how to protect his newfound mate and his people, but also how to destroy the only family he has left. Meanwhile, Jen's pregnancy progresses and the fateful due date draws ...
  
  











  



  
13 Hours: The Inside Account of What Really Happened In Benghazi
Mitchell Zuckoff, Annex Security Team

Twelve, 2014

The harrowing, true account from the brave men on the ground who fought back during the Battle of Benghazi. 13 HOURS presents, for the first time ever, the true account of the events of September 11, 2012, when terrorists attacked the US State Department Special Mission Compound and a nearby CIA station called the Annex in Benghazi, Libya. A team of six American security operators fought to repel the attackers and protect the Americans ...
  
  











  



  
Out of the Dark (Grey Wolves)
Quinn Loftis

Tantor Audio, 2013

Darkness has descended on the Transylvanian Alps. Four packs of the powerful Grey wolves—in a rare show of cooperation—had joined together here in an effort to help their pack members find true mates. Then they were betrayed by one of their own—an Alpha hell-bent on becoming the most powerful of the Canis lupis. And though the wolf's assassination attempt on the currently-reigning Romanian Alpha failed, his plans to get Decebel, the ...
  
  











  



  
To Whisper Her Name (Thorndike Press Large Print Christian Fiction)
Tamera Alexander

Thorndike Press, 2013

USA Today  Bestseller    "...Settled on the carriage seat, Olivia drew in a deep breath, the first in what felt like five years. She knew it was wrong, what she was feeling. Because a widow of only a week shouldn't wish to dance a jig. But God help her, that's precisely what she wanted to do. Not on the grave of her recently deceased husband, of course--that would be considered rude. Just off to the side would suffice."  [Excerpt from ...
  
  











  



  
Just One Drop (Grey Wolves)
Quinn Loftis

Tantor Audio, 2013

Jennifer Adams, best friend to Jacque Pierce and Sally Morgan, is spicy, outspoken, a little crazy, and human . . . or so she thought. Jen has just found out that human DNA is not the only thing that resides in her veins; she happens to share that little pesky werewolf gene, although it isn't more than just a drop. Now that she and her friends are living in Romania with Fane's pack, she is also oh so conveniently stuck with the object of her ...
  
  











  



  
Waiting in Vain
Colin Channer

One World/Ballantine, 1998

"I'm a Jamaican. Yardie to de bloodclaat core. I love stout more than wine. I love cricket more than baseball. . . . I love Bob Marley more than Beethoven or Basie. . . . And I think that the fat on a woman batty and hips is sexy thing that they shouldn't try to lose at the gym. . . ." As the clock nears midnight, a travel-weary man steps out of the New York subway where Chinatown collides with Soho and TriBeCa. He strides up West Broadway in ...
  
  











  



  
Shogun (Asian Saga Book 1)

Dell, 2009

A bold English adventurer. An invincible Japanese warlord. A beautiful woman torn between two ways of life, two ways of love. All brought together in an extraordinary saga of a time and a place aflame with conflict, passion, ambition, lust, and the struggle for power... From the Paperback edition.
  
  











  



  
Beyond The Veil (Grey Wolves)
Quinn Loftis

Tantor Audio, 2014

Though the Serbian pack has been brought to heel thanks to the downfall of their Alpha, the war is far from over. Desdemona, a witch of unfathomable power, has escaped the wolves' wrath, but she will not go quietly into the night. She takes refuge in a place where even the smallest sliver of light does not dare to enter. Though she had to flee, she has not given up on the treasure she wishes to acquire. Her depravity knows no bounds; she's ...
  
  











  



  
Fallen Crest Public
Tijan

Tantor Audio, 2014

Sam's first day at Fallen Crest Public doesn't go well. Some girls want to be her. Some girls want to destroy her. And some just don't like her. All in all, despite being protected by Mason and Logan, it's still only the strong who survive. Sam will not only have to survive, she will need to learn how to conquer too. But there's another battle growing. Things are about to come to a disastrous end between the towns of Roussou and Fallen ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
account, afghanistan, americans, benghazi, brotherhood, christian, crashed, fiction, happened, infidels, notable, okinawa, olympics, peleliu, platoon, potter, purpose, redemption, refugees, remaining, renegades, resilience, sacrifice, someday, survival, thorndike, tranquility, unbroken, waiting, whisper




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


Maleficent (Plus Bonus Features) [HD]

home  impressum - about us