books about: post-american
 
 



Suche books:   






  
A Circle of Wives

Atlantic Monthly Press, 2014

When Dr. John Taylor is found dead in a hotel room in his hometown, the local police find enough incriminating evidence to suspect foul play. Detective Samantha Adams, whose Palo Alto beat usually covers small-town crimes, is innocently thrown into a high-profile murder case that is more intricately intertwined than she could ever imagine. A renowned plastic surgeon, a respected family man, and an active community spokesman, Dr. Taylor was loved ...
  
  











  



  
The Widow of Larkspur Inn (The Gresham Chronicles Book #1)

Bethany House Publishers, 2007

When Life Seemed Its Worst, Gresham Awaited Julia Hollis' opulent life in Victorian London crashes to pieces when her husband passes away. Worse, she is told by his bankers that he gambled away their fortune. Now, the family's hope rests on The Larkspur, an old abandoned coaching inn in the quaint village of Gresham. Driven by dread and her desire to provide for her children, Julia decides to turn the dilapidated inn into a lodging house. ...
  
  











  



  
Forget Me Not

Zebra Books, 2014

Letting Go Of The Past With a popular comic strip, card line, and children's cartoon to her name, Lucy Brighton should be in a happy place. But the ache of a cold, lonely childhood lingers on. Even though she still lives in the New Jersey house where she grew up, Lucy has had little contact with her parents since they moved to Florida five years ago. Finding Joy In The Present Then Lucy receives a call that her parents have been killed in a ...
  
  











  



  
The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry: A Novel

Algonquin Books, 2014

We are not quite novels. We are not quite short stories. In the end, we are collected works. A. J. Fikry's life is not at all what he expected it to be. His wife has died; his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history; and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. Slowly but surely, he is isolating himself from all the people of Alice Island--from Chief Lambiase, the well-intentioned police ...
  
  











  



  
Scorched (Tracers)

Pocket Books, 2012

The sixth thrilling Tracers novel from bestselling and award-winning author Laura Griffin features a forensic anthropologist and a Navy Seal who work together to find a killer before the killer finds them. Kelsey Quinn has traveled the world unearthing heartbreaking secrets, but nothing prepares her for the trauma of her latest discovery. While on a human rights dig in the Philippines, the forensic anthropologist uncovers a set of human ...
  
  











  



  
Orphan Train: A Novel

William Morrow Paperbacks, 2013

Orphan Train is a gripping story of friendship and second chances from Christina Baker Kline, author of Bird in Hand and The Way Life Should Be . Penobscot Indian Molly Ayer is close to “aging out” out of the foster care system. A community service position helping an elderly woman clean out her home is the only thing keeping Molly out of juvie and worse... As she helps Vivian sort through her possessions and memories, Molly learns ...
  
  











  



  
Candle in the Darkness (Refiner's Fire Book #1) (Refiner's Fire)

Bethany House Publishers, 2002

"A gripping tale told by a gifted writer."--Beverly Lewis Caroline Fletcher is caught in a nation split apart and torn between the ones she loves and a truth she can't deny The daughter of a wealthy slave-holding family from Richmond, Virginia, Caroline Fletcher is raised to believe slavery is God-ordained and acceptable. But on awakening to its cruelty and injustice, her eyes are opened to the men and women who have cared ...
  
  











  



  
Stuck in the Middle (Sister-to-Sister Book #1): A Novel

Revell, 2008

Joan Sanderson's life is stuck. Her older sister, Allie, is starting a family and her younger sister, Tori, has a budding career. Meanwhile, Joan is living at home with Mom and looking after her aging grandmother. Not exactly a recipe for excitement. That is, until a hunky young doctor moves in next door. Suddenly Joan has a goal--to get a date. But it won't be easy. Pretty Tori flirts relentlessly with him and Joan is sure that she can't ...
  
  











  



  
Maybe Someday

Atria Books, 2014

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover, a passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance. At twenty-two years old, Sydney has a great life: She's in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter's cheating on her--and she is left trying to decide what to do next. Sydney becomes captivated by Ridge, ...
  
  











  



  
The Paris Architect: A Novel

Sourcebooks Landmark, 2013

"A beautiful and elegant account of an ordinary man's unexpected and reluctant descent into heroism during the second world war." (Malcolm Gladwell)   A thrilling debut novel of World War II Paris, from an author who's been called "an up and coming Ken Follett." (Booklist)   In 1942 Paris, gifted architect Lucien Bernard accepts a commission that will bring him a great deal of money - and maybe get him killed. But if ...
  
  











  



  
The Perks of Being a Wallflower

MTV Books, 2010

Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective…but there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. Since its publication, Stephen Chbosky’s haunting debut novel has received critical acclaim, provoked discussion and debate, grown into a cult phenomenon with over three million copies in print, spent over one year at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list, and inspired a major motion picture starring Logan ...
  
  











  



  
1984 (Signet Classics)
George Orwell

Signet Classic, 1961

View our feature on George Orwell’s 1984 . Written in 1948, 1984 was George Orwell’s chilling prophecy about the future. And while 1984 has come and gone, Orwell’s narrative is timelier than ever. 1984 presents a startling and haunting vision of the world, so powerful that it is completely convincing from start to finish. No one can deny the power of this novel, its hold on the imaginations of multiple generations of readers, or ...
  
  











  



  
When the Cypress Whispers

Harper, 2014

On a beautiful Greek island, myths, magic, and a colorful cast of characters come together in When the Cypress Whispers , Yvette Manessis Corporon’s lushly atmospheric story about past and present, family and fate, love and dreams that poignantly captures the deep bond between an American woman and her Greek grandmother. The daughter of Greek immigrants, Daphne aspires to the American Dream, yet feels as if she’s been sleepwalking through ...
  
  











  



  
The Aviator's Wife: A Novel

Delacorte Press, 2013

In the spirit of Loving Frank and The Paris Wife, acclaimed novelist Melanie Benjamin pulls back the curtain on the marriage of one of America’s most extraordinary couples: Charles Lindbergh and Anne Morrow Lindbergh.   “The history [is] exhilarating. . . .  The Aviator’s Wife soars.” — USA Today   NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER When Anne Morrow, a shy college senior with hidden literary aspirations, travels to Mexico ...
  
  











  



  
The Secret History

Vintage, 2011

The first novel by Donna Tartt, author of  the National Bestseller The Goldfinch , The Secret History is a contemporary classic. Under the influence of their charismatic classics professor, a group of clever, eccentric misfits at an elite New England college discover a way of thinking and living that is a world away from the humdrum existence of their contemporaries. But when they go beyond the boundaries of normal morality their lives ...
  
  











  



  
Family Life: A Novel

W. W. Norton & Company, 2014

"Outstanding…Every page is alive and surprising, proof of [Sharma’s] huge, unique talent."—David Sedaris Hailed as a "supreme storyteller" ( Philadelphia Inquirer ) for his "cunning, dismaying and beautifully conceived" fiction ( New York Times ), Akhil Sharma is possessed of a narrative voice "as hypnotic as those found in the pages of Dostoyevsky" ( The Nation ). In his highly anticipated second novel, Family Life , he delivers a story ...
  
  











  



  
What She Left Behind

Kensington Books, 2013

In this stunning new novel, the acclaimed author of The Plum Tree merges the past and present into a haunting story about the nature of love and loyalty--and the lengths we will go to protect those who need us most. Ten years ago, Izzy Stone's mother fatally shot her father while he slept. Devastated by her mother's apparent insanity, Izzy, now seventeen, refuses to visit her in prison. But her new foster parents, employees at the local museum, ...
  
  











  



  
Up at Butternut Lake: A Novel (The Butternut Lake Trilogy)

William Morrow Paperbacks, 2014

In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs, Mary McNear introduces readers to the town of Butternut Lake and to the unforgettable people who call it home. It's summer, and after ten years away, Allie Beckett has returned to her family's cabin beside tranquil Butternut Lake, where as a teenager she spent so many carefree days. She's promised her five-year-old son, Wyatt, they will be happy there. She's promised herself this is the place ...
  
  











  



  
A Passion Most Pure (The Daughters of Boston Book #1): A Novel

Revell, 2008

Refusing to settle for anything less than a romantic relationship that pleases God, Faith O'Connor steels her heart against her desire for the roguish Collin McGuire. But when Collin tries to win her sister Charity's hand, Faith isn't sure she can handle the jealousy she feels. To further complicate matters, Faith finds herself the object of Collin's affections, even as he is courting her sister. The Great War is raging overseas, and a smaller ...
  
  











  



  
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Daniel James Brown

Viking Adult, 2013

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken , the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
americans, architect, aviator, behind, berlin, boston, butternut, chronicles, circle, classics, cypress, darkness, daughters, family, forget, gresham, history, larkspur, olympics, passion, refiner, scorched, signet, sister-to-sister, someday, storied, tracers, trilogy, wallflower, whispers




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


health & personal care: 10 357 / 303 Energizer Batteries SR44SW SR44W LR44

home  impressum - about us