books by Arcade Publishing
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Life and Ideas of James Hillman: Volume I: The Making of a Psychologist
Dick Russell

Arcade Publishing, 2013

Considered to be the world’s foremost post-Jungian thinker, James Hillman is known as the founder of archetypal psychology and the author of more than twenty books, including the bestselling title The Soul’s Code . In The Making of a Psychologis t, we follow Hillman from his youth in the heyday of Atlantic City, through post-war Paris and Dublin, travels in Africa and Kashmir, and onward to Zurich and the Jung Institute, which appointed ...
  
  











  



  
Hard Time: Life with Sheriff Joe Arpaio in America's Toughest Jail

Arcade Publishing, 2011

As told on Locked-Up Abroad "Raving Arizona," Shaun Attwood was a millionaire day trader in Phoenix, Arizona, but his hedonistic lifestyle of drugs and parties came to an abrupt end in 2002 when a SWAT team broke down his door. Attwood found himself on remand in Maricopa Jail with a $750,000 cash bond and all of his assets seized. The nightmare was only just beginning as he was submerged in a jail in which rival gangs vied for control, crystal ...
  
  











  



  
How Can I Talk If My Lips Don't Move: Inside My Autistic Mind
Tito Rajarshi Mukhopadhyay

Arcade Publishing, 2008

An astounding new work by the author of The Mind Tree that offers a rare insight into the autistic mind and how it thinks, sees, and reacts to the world. When he was three years old, Tito was diagnosed as severely autistic, but his remarkable mother, Soma, determined that he would overcome the “problem” by teaching him to read and write. The result was that between the ages of eight and eleven he wrote stories and poems of exquisite beauty, ...
  
  











  



  
The Essay: A Novel
Robin Yocum

Arcade Publishing, 2012

Jimmy Lee Hickam grew up along Red Dog Road, a dead-end strip of gravel and mud buried deep in the bowels of Appalachian Ohio. It is the poorest road, in the poorest county, in the poorest region of the state. To make things worse, the name Hickam is synonymous with trouble. Jimmy Lee hails from a heathen mix of thieves, moonshiners, drunkards, and general anti-socials that for decades have clung to both the hardscrabble hills and the iron bars ...
  
  











  



  
The Boy at the Gate: A Memoir

Arcade Publishing, 2013

Danny Ellis is a survivor, strong and resilient. An acclaimed singer/songwriter, he is proud of the way  he handled his difficult past: poverty in the 1950s Dublin slums and the brutality of the Artane Industrial School. He felt as though he had safely disposed of it all, until one night, while writing the powerful song that would launch his highly-praised album, 800 Voices ("A searing testament." — Irish Times ), Danny's past crept back to ...
  
  











  



  
Reluctant Genius: Alexander Graham Bell and the Passion for Invention
Charlotte Gray

Arcade Publishing, 2006

A major new biography of one of the giants of the golden age of invention whose innovations revolutionized the modern world. The popular image of Alexander Graham Bell shows an elderly American patriarch, memorable only for his paunch, his Santa Claus beard, and the invention of the telephone. In this magisterial reassessment, Charlotte Gray delves into the private life that supported his genius.
  
  











  



  
An African Rebound: A Novel

Arcade Publishing, 2013

It is 1989, and Jim Keating has hit absolute rock bottom. He’s lost his wife to cancer, his house to bankruptcy, and his job as a college basketball coach to what many outsiders believed to be a racially insensitive career-ending decision. He has also just about lost his mind, having slipped into a bout of serious depression. Attempting to pick up the pieces and start life over, Jim returns home to Worcester and rents a small apartment. Word ...
  
  











  



  
The Assembler of Parts: A Novel
Raoul Wientzen

Arcade Publishing, 2015

A dual Kirkus Best Fiction and Best Debut Fiction selection, this stunning novel is an emotional fable about love, forgiveness, and what most makes us human. At the outset of this extraordinary first novel, eight-year-old Jess finds herself in heaven reviewing her short life. She is guided in this by a being she calls the Assembler of Parts, and her task seems to be to grasp her life’s meaning. From the moment of her birth, it was obvious ...
  
  











  



  
A Girl and Her Gator
Sean Bryan

Arcade Publishing, 2011

Claire—the sister of the “boy who one day woke up with a bunny on his head”—discovers that she too has a strange new condition: When she looks in the mirror, there is a gator in her hair! What is she to do? Panic? Run to Mother? Or, like her brother, learn to enjoy her new friend? With endearing characters and simple, chuckle-worthy rhyme schemes, Sean Bryan and Tom Murphy, the author and illustrator of A Boy and His Bunny , have once ...
  
  











  



  
A Boy and His Bunny
Sean Bryan

Arcade Publishing, 2011

A humorous way to show kids that being different can be a lot of fun! How would you feel if one morning you woke up with a big-eared, wet-nosed bunny on your head?Would you be surprised? And what would you do if you learned the bunny's name was Fred? And he liked it there on top of your head? You'd be different from your friends, who have nothing on their heads, but hey! That's okay too.This charming fun-filled book about a boy and special ...
  
  











  



  
Wise Thoughts for Every Day: On God, Love, Spirit, and Living a Good Life
Leo Tolstoy

Arcade Publishing, 2005

A treasury of timeless wisdom that the great author of War and Peace considered to be his most important and lasting contribution to humanity.During the last years of his life, Leo Tolstoy kept one book invariably on his desk, read and reread it to his family, and recommended it to all his friends. This was his compendium of wise thoughts gathered over the course of a decade from his wide-ranging readings in philosophy and religion and from his ...
  
  











  



  
"Ready for the People": My Most Chilling Cases as a Prosecutor
Marissa N. Batt

Arcade Publishing, 2005

- A bona fide inside of the criminal justice system, Batt makes readers feel they are in the courtroom with her, as well as behind the scenes. This is nonfiction that reads like fiction. - Fans of Law & Order and Court TV and novels by John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Ann Rule will love this gripping, hard-hitting book. - Hardcover ISBN: 1-55970-705-4
  
  











  



  
The Canal Bridge: A Novel of Ireland, Love, and the First World War
Tom Phelan

Arcade Publishing, 2014

In 1913, before there is a rumor of war in Europe, two lifelong friends from Ballyrannel in the Irish midlands, Matthias “Matt” Wrenn and Con Hatchel, decide to see the world at the expense of the king of England and join the British army. A year later, while en route to India, their troop ship is recalled and they find themselves in the slaughterhouse that was World War I. As stretcher bearers, the two men witness the horrors of the ...
  
  











  



  
Under the Eye of the Clock
Christopher Nolan

Arcade Publishing, 2011

The stirring, and inspiring, autobiography of a young man who almost died at birth but survived—though unable to speak or move.
  
  











  



  
The Unknown Henry Miller: A Seeker in Big Sur

Arcade Publishing, 2014

Henry Miller was one of the most distinctive voices in twentieth-century literature. Better known in Europe than in his native America for most of this career, he achieved international success and celebrity during the 1960s when his banned “Paris” books—beginning with Tropic of Cancer —were published here and judged by the Supreme Court not to be obscene. Until then he had toiled in relative obscurity and poverty. The Unknown Henry Miller ...
  
  











  



  
Universe on a T-Shirt: The Quest for the Theory of Everything
Dan Falk

Arcade Publishing, 2005

No scientific quest is as exciting and elusive as the search to understand the Universe. Falk's book places this search in its historical context, tracing the quest from its roots in ancient Greece to the twenty-first century, through the breakthroughs of Newton, Maxwell, and Einstein, up to the excitement of "string theory" and today's efforts to merge quantum theory with general relativity. With as much emphasis on history as on science, ...
  
  











  



  
Our Lady of Infidelity: A Novel of Miracles

Arcade Publishing, 2014

It begins when a vision appears in a carwash window in the tiny, dusty desert town of Infidelity, a blip on the map just outside of Joshua Tree, California. Seven-year-old Luz Reyes, whose family was killed by death squads in her native land and whose mother is gravely ill, is the first to see it. Then Walt Adair, the divorced owner of the carwash. Then Zoe Luedke, the golden-haired stranger in search of her runaway husband. And even the child's ...
  
  











  



  
The Nature Notes of an Edwardian Lady
edith holden

arcade publishing, 1989
  
  











  



  
Dragon Songs: Love and Adventure among Crocodiles, Alligators, and Other Dinosaur Relations

Arcade Publishing, 2013

A born naturalist and a fearless traveler, Vladimir Dinets wrote travel guides, conducted field research, and lived a couple of lives before he was accepted into the PhD program in zoology at the University of Miami. He thought crocodiles were a dead-end research topic—survivors from the age of the dinosaurs but not much else—until he witnessed groups of up to seventy alligators performing mating choruses that included infrasound ...
  
  











  



  
Under the Eye of the Clock
Christopher Nolan

Arcade Publishing, 2000

" Deprived of oxygen for two hours at birth, Christopher Nolan almost died, but he lived to write, at age twenty-one, this award-winning autobiography, told as the story of one Joseph Meehan. Nolan's birth injuries left him quadriplegic and completely unable to communicate, so for years no one suspected that his mind, though imprisoned in an inert body, was burning to express his innermost thoughts and ideas to not only his family but the ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
adventure, african, alexander, alligators, america, assembler, autistic, chilling, crocodiles, dinosaur, edwardian, everything, hillman, infidelity, invention, ireland, miracles, passion, prosecutor, psychologist, rebound, relations, reluctant, sheriff, t-shirt, thoughts, toughest, universe, unknown, volume




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: Korean patterns, (Royal Asiatic Society. Korea Branch. Handbook series, ...

home  impressum - about us