books by Arcade Publishing
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Boy at the Gate: A Memoir

Arcade Publishing, 2013

Danny Ellis is a survivor, strong and resilient. An acclaimed singer/songwriter, he is proud of the way  he handled his difficult past: poverty in the 1950s Dublin slums and the brutality of the Artane Industrial School. He felt as though he had safely disposed of it all, until one night, while writing the powerful song that would launch his highly-praised album, 800 Voices ("A searing testament." — Irish Times ), Danny's past crept back to ...
  
  











  



  
Reluctant Genius: Alexander Graham Bell and the Passion for Invention
Charlotte Gray

Arcade Publishing, 2006

A major new biography of one of the giants of the golden age of invention whose innovations revolutionized the modern world. The popular image of Alexander Graham Bell shows an elderly American patriarch, memorable only for his paunch, his Santa Claus beard, and the invention of the telephone. In this magisterial reassessment, Charlotte Gray delves into the private life that supported his genius.
  
  











  



  
The Life and Ideas of James Hillman: Volume I: The Making of a Psychologist
Dick Russell

Arcade Publishing, 2013

Considered to be the world’s foremost post-Jungian thinker, James Hillman is known as the founder of archetypal psychology and the author of more than twenty books, including the bestselling title The Soul’s Code . In The Making of a Psychologis t, we follow Hillman from his youth in the heyday of Atlantic City, through post-war Paris and Dublin, travels in Africa and Kashmir, and onward to Zurich and the Jung Institute, which appointed ...
  
  











  



  
An African Rebound: A Novel

Arcade Publishing, 2013

It is 1989, and Jim Keating has hit absolute rock bottom. He’s lost his wife to cancer, his house to bankruptcy, and his job as a college basketball coach to what many outsiders believed to be a racially insensitive career-ending decision. He has also just about lost his mind, having slipped into a bout of serious depression. Attempting to pick up the pieces and start life over, Jim returns home to Worcester and rents a small apartment. Word ...
  
  











  



  
A Boy and His Bunny
Sean Bryan

Arcade Publishing, 2011

“Amusing . . . warrants repeated readings.”— School Library Journal 32 color illustrations
  
  











  



  
Hard Time: Life with Sheriff Joe Arpaio in America's Toughest Jail

Arcade Publishing, 2011

As told on Locked-Up Abroad "Raving Arizona," Shaun Attwood was a millionaire day trader in Phoenix, Arizona, but his hedonistic lifestyle of drugs and parties came to an abrupt end in 2002 when a SWAT team broke down his door. Attwood found himself on remand in Maricopa Jail with a $750,000 cash bond and all of his assets seized. The nightmare was only just beginning as he was submerged in a jail in which rival gangs vied for control, crystal ...
  
  











  



  
How Can I Talk If My Lips Don't Move: Inside My Autistic Mind
Tito Rajarshi Mukhopadhyay

Arcade Publishing, 2008

An astounding new work by the author of The Mind Tree that offers a rare insight into the autistic mind and how it thinks, sees, and reacts to the world. When he was three years old, Tito was diagnosed as severely autistic, but his remarkable mother, Soma, determined that he would overcome the “problem” by teaching him to read and write. The result was that between the ages of eight and eleven he wrote stories and poems of exquisite beauty, ...
  
  











  



  
The Assembler of Parts: A Novel
Raoul Wientzen

Arcade Publishing, 2013

From the start of this extraordinary first novel, eight-year-old Jess finds herself in heaven reviewing her short life. She is guided in this by a being she calls the Assembler of Parts, and her task, as she understands it, is to glean her life’s meaning. From birth, it was obvious that she was unlike other children: she was born without thumbs. The Assembler left out other parts too, for she suffers from a syndrome of birth defects that ...
  
  











  



  
The Essay: A Novel

Arcade Publishing, 2012

Jimmy Lee Hickam grew up along Red Dog Road, a dead-end strip of gravel and mud buried deep in the bowels of Appalachian Ohio. It is the poorest road, in the poorest county, in the poorest region of the state. To make things worse, the name Hickam is synonymous with trouble. Jimmy Lee hails from a heathen mix of thieves, moonshiners, drunkards, and general anti-socials that for decades have clung to both the hardscrabble hills and the iron bars ...
  
  











  



  
Favorite Sons: A Novel
Robin Yocum

Arcade Publishing, 2011

Narrator of Favorite Sons Hutch Van Buren is fifteen years old, playing sports and searching for arrowheads in a small industrial town in Ohio with his three closest friends when an altercation between the comrades and Petey Sanchez, a troubled seventeen- year-old, leads to Petey’s accidental death. Together, Hutch and his friends become ensnared in a web of secrets and moral dilemmas. A local ne’er-do-well goes to jail for the crime while ...
  
  











  



  
"Ready for the People": My Most Chilling Cases as a Prosecutor
Marissa N. Batt

Arcade Publishing, 2005

- A bona fide inside of the criminal justice system, Batt makes readers feel they are in the courtroom with her, as well as behind the scenes. This is nonfiction that reads like fiction. - Fans of Law & Order and Court TV and novels by John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Ann Rule will love this gripping, hard-hitting book. - Hardcover ISBN: 1-55970-705-4
  
  











  



  
Under the Eye of the Clock
Christopher Nolan

Arcade Publishing, 2011

The stirring, and inspiring, autobiography of a young man who almost died at birth but survived—though unable to speak or move.
  
  











  



  
A Girl and Her Gator
Sean Bryan

Arcade Publishing, 2006

In this hilarious follow-up to the acclaimed A Boy and His Bunny, Claire--the sister of the "boy who one day woke up with a bunny on his head--discovers that she too has a strange new condition: When she looks in the mirror, there is a gator in her hair! What is she to do? Bound to delight and entertain young children and their parents, Claire and her gator show kids that being different can be all right and even fun!
  
  











  



  
Sorcerer's Apprentice: An Incredible Journey into the World of India's Godmen
Tahir Shah

Arcade Publishing, 2011

“Tahir Shah has a genius for surreal travelling, finding—or creating—situations and people.”—Doris Lessing Sorcerer’s Apprentice is the amazing story of Shah’s apprenticeship to one of India’s master conjurers, Hakim Feroze, and his initiation into the brotherhood of Indian godmen. Told with self-deprecating wit, panache, and an eye for the outlandish, it is an account of a magical journey across India. Feroze teaches the ...
  
  











  



  
Under the Eye of the Clock
Christopher Nolan

Arcade Publishing, 2000

" Deprived of oxygen for two hours at birth, Christopher Nolan almost died, but he lived to write, at age twenty-one, this award-winning autobiography, told as the story of one Joseph Meehan. Nolan's birth injuries left him quadriplegic and completely unable to communicate, so for years no one suspected that his mind, though imprisoned in an inert body, was burning to express his innermost thoughts and ideas to not only his family but the ...
  
  











  



  
Universe on a T-Shirt: The Quest for the Theory of Everything
Dan Falk

Arcade Publishing, 2004

No scientific quest is as exciting and elusive as the search to understand the Universe. Falk's book places this search in its historical context, tracing the quest from its roots in ancient Greece to the twenty-first century, through the breakthroughs of Newton, Maxwell, and Einstein, up to the excitement of "string theory" and today's efforts to merge quantum theory with general relativity. With as much emphasis on history as on science, ...
  
  











  



  
The Palace of Dreams
Ismail Kadare

Arcade Publishing, 1998

Translated from the Jusef Vrioni's French version of the Albanian original, this is the author's own vision of totalitarianism.
  
  











  



  
Wise Thoughts for Every Day: On God, Love, Spirit, and Living a Good Life
Leo Tolstoy

Arcade Publishing, 2005

A treasury of timeless wisdom that the great author of War and Peace considered to be his most important and lasting contribution to humanity.During the last years of his life, Leo Tolstoy kept one book invariably on his desk, read and reread it to his family, and recommended it to all his friends. This was his compendium of wise thoughts gathered over the course of a decade from his wide-ranging readings in philosophy and religion and from his ...
  
  











  



  
Family Outing: What Happened When I Found Out My Mother Was Gay
Troy Johnson

Arcade Publishing, 2008

Like most teenagers, Troy Johnson was obsessed with sex, but his coming of age took a sharp turn whenÑin the era before ÒDonÕt Ask, DonÕt TellÓÑhe learned his mother was a lesbian. When he found out her secret (during a surprise visit from her ex-lover) his head spun. Does that mean Mom cruises schoolyards? Does that mean I have the gay gene? If I sleep with enough women, will it create an anti-gay force field around me? With searing wit ...
  
  











  



  
A Short History of Decay
E M Cioran

Arcade Publishing, 1998

"A Short History of Decay (1949)" is E. M. Cioran's nihilistic and witty collection of aphoristic essays concerning the nature of civilization in mid-twentieth-century Europe. Touching upon Man's need to worship, the feebleness of God, the downfall of the Ancient Greeks and the melancholy baseness of all existence, Cioran's pieces are pessimistic in the extreme, but also display a beautiful certainty that renders them delicate, vivid, and ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
african, alexander, america, apprentice, assembler, autistic, chilling, everything, family, favorite, happened, hillman, history, incredible, invention, journey, passion, people, prosecutor, psychologist, rebound, reluctant, sheriff, sorcerer, spirit, t-shirt, thoughts, toughest, universe, volume




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: Let's Walk the Talk!: Girlfriend to Girlfriend on Faith, Friendship, and ...

home  impressum - about us