books by Overlook Hardcover
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Barefoot to Billionaire: Reflections on a Life's Work and a Promise to Cure Cancer
Jon Huntsman Sr.

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

Billionaire entrepreneur, distinguished public servant, and father of a former governor and presidential candidate, Jon M. Huntsman, Sr. has been very fortunate in life. The company he founded in 1970, the Huntsman Corporation, is now one of the largest petrochemical manufacturers in the world, employing more than 12,000 people and generating over $10 billion in revenue each year. Success in business, though, has always been a means to an ...
  
  











  



  
The Madness of July: A Thriller
James Naughtie

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

Set in the endgame of the Cold War, The Madness of July is an instant classic: an explosive, brilliantly written spy novel, by an author who has spent his life in the halls of power.    The Madness of July is set in the late 1970s, and takes place during six sweltering days in the month that gives the book its title. Will Flemyng was trained as a spy for a life behind enemy lines, but now he is in politics—and rising to the top. ...
  
  











  



  
Little Darling's Pinups for Pitbulls
Deirdre Franklin

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

In 2005, Deirdre “Little Darling” Franklin founded the non-profit organization, Pinups for Pitbulls, because she was tired of so-called rescues and shelters euthanizing healthy, friendly, and adoptable animals due to their alleged “breed.” Drawing on her background in modeling, she created a calendar like no other—eye-catching pinup girls and their pit bull pups, in era-appropriate style—that has become something of a phenomenon in the ...
  
  











  



  
Without Frontiers: The Life and Music of Peter Gabriel
Daryl Easlea

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

Peter Brian Gabriel may have started out as a high profile rock performer with a penchant for theatrical costumes, but he was never going to age in the traditional rock manner. Neither becoming a parody of his past self nor endlessly seeking self-consciously new images, instead he took his creativeness and perfectionism into fresh fields.    Throughout his career, Gabriel has been a pioneer in the music industry, pushing pop music to ...
  
  











  



  
Breakfast at Sotheby's: An A-Z of the Art World
Philip Hook

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

When you stand in front of a work of art in a museum or exhibition, the first two questions you normally ask yourself are 1) Do I like it? and 2) Who’s it by? When you stand in front of a work of art in an auction room or dealer’s gallery, you ask these two questions followed by others: How much is it worth? How much will it be worth in five or ten years’ time? And what will people think of me if they see it hanging on my wall?   ...
  
  











  



  
Darling Monster: The Letters of Lady Diana Cooper to Son John Julius Norwich, 1939-1952
Diana Cooper

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

Lady Diana Cooper was an aristocrat, a socialite, an actress of stage and early screen. When she married rising political star Duff Cooper, they became the golden couple who knew everyone who was anyone; they sat at the very heart of British public life. Diana’s letters to her only son, John Julius Norwich, cover the period 1939 to 1952. They take us from the rumblings of war, through the Blitz, which the Coopers spent holed up in the ...
  
  











  



  
Stevie Nicks: Visions, Dreams & Rumors
Zoë Howe

Overlook Hardcover, 2015

The New biography of “the Reigning Queen of Rock and Roll” ( Rolling Stone )   Lyrical visionary, enduring style icon, and one indispensable fifth of post-Peter Green megaband Fleetwood Mac, Stevie Nicks is one of the most recognizable figures in rock ’n’ roll history—very much Fleetwood Mac’s “Queen Bee,” as Mick Fleetwood himself described her. With gold and qua­druple platinum solo albums under her beaded belt, Stevie ...
  
  











  



  
Life with my Father Glen Campbell
Debby Campbell, Mark Bego

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

Glen Campbell began his musical career as the recording session guitar player to many of the 1960’s biggest stars including Sonny & Cher, the Mamas & The Papas, The Beach Boys, and Elvis Presley. He transitioned to film with John Wayne in 1969’s True Grit , which earned him a Golden Globe nomination. He was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2005, and was awarded a Grammy for Lifetime Achievement in 2012. During his ...
  
  











  



  
The Soul of Discretion: A Chief Superintendent Simon Serrailler Mystery (Chief Superintendent Simon ...
Susan Hill

Overlook Hardcover, 2015

In the eighth of the successful Simon Serrailler series, the Chief Superintendent is faced with worse crimes than ever, and the town of Lafferton is left reeling   Susan Hill—the Man Booker Prize nominee and winner of the Whitbread, Somerset Maugham, and John Llewellyn Rhys awards—returns with a gripping new novel, the latest chapter in one of the most acclaimed mystery series of our time. ...
  
  











  



  
The Illusionists: A Novel
Rosie Thomas

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

    The intoxicating new novel of magic and intrigue by “a master storyteller” (Cosmopolitan), for fans of The Night Circus and Water for Elephants   Over the course of three decades of writing, bestselling novelist Rosie Thomas has earned an untold number of awards and the devotion of millions of loyal readers. Her new novel, The Illusionists , set in London in 1870, is a thrilling step forward—a captivating ...
  
  











  



  
The Luck Stone
P.G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2015

Originally published as a serial in Chums under the pseudonym of Basil Windham, The Luck Stone is thoroughly Wodehouse with his trademark sticky situations, quirky characters, sly humour and wit, and of course, his renowned prose. All written in the form of a letter to a friend, this dark and suspenseful plot will never fail to disappoint.
  
  











  



  
Waiting for the Electricity: A Novel
Christina Nichol

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

An exciting and hilarious debut novel: a remarkable picaresque set in post-Soviet Georgia—land of corruption, love, and power shortages In the republic of Georgia, the Communists are long gone, replaced by . . . well, by what? Something much more confusing. There are no jobs in the cities. And when there are jobs, employees aren’t compensated. And when they are compensated, it’s because the jobs are . . . not strictly scrupulous. In ...
  
  











  



  
Carry On, Jeeves (A Jeeves and Bertie Novel)
P. G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2003

A full cast of Wodehouse creations—including tyrannical relatives, beastly acquaintances, demon children, and literary fatheads—return for further near catastrophes and sparkling comedy A Gentleman of Leisure is a comic novel dedicated to Douglas Fairbanks—who starred in the film version—and concerns a young man, his love life, and a burglary. Famiiliar Wodehouse characters from both sides of the ocean make appearances. Meanwhile, in ...
  
  











  



  
Washington Journal: Reporting Watergate and Richard Nixon's Downfall
Elizabeth Drew

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

Forty years after the tumultuous events that led to Richard Nixon’s historic downfall, a new edition of the legendary Elizabeth Drew’s Washington Journal , featuring a brilliant new afterword Originally published soon after Richard Nixon's resignation, Elizabeth Drew’s Washington Journal is a landmark work of political journalism. Keenly observed and hugely insightful, Washington Journal opens in 1973 and follows the deterioration ...
  
  











  



  
Performing Flea (Collector's Wodehouse)
P.G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

P.G. Wodehouse is recognized as the greatest English comic writer of the twentieth century, rightly admired throughout the world and translated into more than thirty languages. Launched on the twenty-fifth anniversary of his death, this series presents each Overlook Wodehouse as the finest edition of the master’s work ever published—beautifully designed and faithful to the original.  This season, Overlook is pleased to offer the latest two ...
  
  











  



  
The Mating Season
P.G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2002

Fans of P. G. Wodehouse 's comic genius are legion, and their devotion to his masterful command of the hilarity borders on an obsession. The Mating Season is a time of love, mistaken identity, and mishap for Bertie, Gussie Fink-Nottle and other guests staying at Deverill Hall-luckily there's unflappable Jeeves to set things right.
  
  











  



  
Bring on the Girls
P.G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

Despite an enormous solo output, P.G. Wodehouse often co-operated with other writers, especially in the early stages of his career, exchanging or sharing plots, advising on problems and even writing books and stage-works together. Bring on the Girls is a characteristically mordant account of his work with Guy Bolton in musical comedy, which occupied much of Wodehouse’s energy from his arrival in America and effectively made his reputation. ...
  
  











  



  
War of Attrition: Fighting the First World War
William Philpott

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

The Great War of 1914–1918 was the first mass conflict to fully mobilize the resources of industrial powers against one another, resulting in a brutal, bloody, protracted war of attrition between the world’s great economies. Now, one hundred years after the first guns of August rang out on the Western front, historian William Philpott reexamines the causes and lingering effects of the first truly modern war. Drawing on the experience of ...
  
  











  



  
The Roman Guide to Slave Management: A Treatise by Nobleman Marcus Sidonius Falx
Jerry Toner

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

Marcus Sidonius Falx is an average Roman citizen. Born of a relatively well-off noble family, he lives on a palatial estate in Campania, dines with senators and generals, and, like all of his ancestors before him, owns countless slaves. Having spent most of his life managing his servants—many of them prisoners from Rome’s military conquests—he decided to write a kind of owner’s manual for his friends and countrymen. The result, ...
  
  











  



  
Tales of Wrykyn and Elsewhere (Collector's Wodehouse)
P.G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

P.G. Wodehouse is recognized as the greatest English comic writer of the twentieth century, rightly admired throughout the world and translated into more than thirty languages. Launched on the twenty-fifth anniversary of his death, this series presents each Overlook Wodehouse as the finest edition of the master’s work ever published—beautifully designed and faithful to the original.  This season, Overlook is pleased to offer the latest two ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
1939-1952, attrition, barefoot, billionaire, breakfast, campbell, collector, discretion, downfall, electricity, elsewhere, fighting, frontiers, illusionists, journal, management, mysteries, nobleman, performing, pitbulls, reflections, reporting, serrailler, sidonius, superintendent, thriller, treatise, washington, watergate, wodehouse




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: JavaScript: The Good Parts

home  impressum - about us