books by Overlook Hardcover
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Washington Journal: Reporting Watergate and Richard Nixon's Downfall
Elizabeth Drew

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

Forty years after the tumultuous events that led to Richard Nixon’s historic downfall, a new edition of the legendary Elizabeth Drew’s Washington Journal , featuring a brilliant new afterword Originally published soon after Richard Nixon's resignation, Elizabeth Drew’s Washington Journal is a landmark work of political journalism. Keenly observed and hugely insightful, Washington Journal opens in 1973 and follows the deterioration ...
  
  











  



  
The Unpersuadables: Adventures with the Enemies of Science
Will Storr

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

While excavating fossils in the tropics of Australia with a celebrity creationist, Will Storr asked himself a simple question. Why don’t facts work? Why, that is, did the obviously intelligent man beside him sincerely believe in Adam and Eve, the Garden of Eden and a six-thousand-year-old Earth, in spite of the evidence against them? It was the start of a journey that would lead Storr all over the world—from Texas to Warsaw to the Outer ...
  
  











  



  
The History of the Hudson River Valley: From Wilderness to the Civil War
Vernon Benjamin

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

Sailing down the river that would later bear his captain’s name, explorer Robert Juet described the Hudson River Valley in 1609 as a “drowned land” submerged by a “great lake of water.” Over the next two centuries, this drowned landscape would be the site of a truly historic flowering of art, literature, architecture, innovation, and revolutionary fervor—drawing comparisons to another fertile cultural haven built around a might mighty ...
  
  











  



  
Performing Flea (Collector's Wodehouse)
P.G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

P.G. Wodehouse is recognized as the greatest English comic writer of the twentieth century, rightly admired throughout the world and translated into more than thirty languages. Launched on the twenty-fifth anniversary of his death, this series presents each Overlook Wodehouse as the finest edition of the master’s work ever published—beautifully designed and faithful to the original.  This season, Overlook is pleased to offer the latest two ...
  
  











  



  
The Soul of Discretion: A Chief Superintendent Simon Serrailler Mystery (Chief Superintendent Simon ...
Susan Hill

Overlook Hardcover, 2015

In the eighth of the successful Simon Serrailler series, the Chief Superintendent is faced with worse crimes than ever, and the town of Lafferton is left reeling   Susan Hill—the Man Booker Prize nominee and winner of the Whitbread, Somerset Maugham, and John Llewellyn Rhys awards—returns with a gripping new novel, the latest chapter in one of the most acclaimed mystery series of our time. ...
  
  











  



  
War of Attrition: Fighting the First World War
William Philpott

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

The Great War of 1914–1918 was the first mass conflict to fully mobilize the resources of industrial powers against one another, resulting in a brutal, bloody, protracted war of attrition between the world’s great economies. Now, one hundred years after the first guns of August rang out on the Western front, historian William Philpott reexamines the causes and lingering effects of the first truly modern war. Drawing on the experience of ...
  
  











  



  
Over Seventy
P.G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2015

First published in 1956, this collection of articles covers Wodehouse's feelings on United States, his adopted homeland all collected into one edition. Features a collection of articles originally from Punch magazine as well as America, I Like You, all with Wodehouse's usual wit and personality.
  
  











  



  
The Luck Stone
P.G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2015

Originally published as a serial in Chums under the pseudonym of Basil Windham, The Luck Stone is thoroughly Wodehouse with his trademark sticky situations, quirky characters, sly humour and wit, and of course, his renowned prose. All written in the form of a letter to a friend, this dark and suspenseful plot will never fail to disappoint.
  
  











  



  
Tales of Wrykyn and Elsewhere (Collector's Wodehouse)
P.G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

P.G. Wodehouse is recognized as the greatest English comic writer of the twentieth century, rightly admired throughout the world and translated into more than thirty languages. Launched on the twenty-fifth anniversary of his death, this series presents each Overlook Wodehouse as the finest edition of the master’s work ever published—beautifully designed and faithful to the original.  This season, Overlook is pleased to offer the latest two ...
  
  











  



  
Hotel Bemelmans
Ludwig Bemelmans

Overlook Hardcover, 2004

If there is such a thing as a comfort food book, Bemelmans' stories are it. His evocative tales of grand hotel life have a reporter's eye for sensory detail, yet he always manages to bathe his world and it's lovable characters in the mood of a fairytale. Meet the girl-hungry hotel Magician, Kalakobe the African cook, Mr Sigsag, Monsieur Victor, Mespoulet and an unforgettable cast of down but not yet out hotel employees. A feast of food writing. ...
  
  











  



  
Pigs Have Wings
P. G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2000

On the 25th anniversary of Wodehouse's death, booksellers and readers will be cheered to find the finest editions available of his classic novels--the first in a series of his best known works--by one of the greatest English comic writers of our time. Fans devoted to the master of comic fiction P. G. Wodehouse are legion. He represents an antic high point in the world of farce and social satire. Best known for the creation of two fictional ...
  
  











  



  
Much Obliged, Jeeves
P.G. Wodehouse, The Overlook Press

Overlook Hardcover, 2004

Spring brings four more antic novels by P. G. Wodehouse. In Quick Service a complicated chain of events is set into motion after Mrs. Chavender takes a bite of breakfast ham, and readers are reminded that disaster can be averted if you Ring for Jeeves . Bertie Wooster avoids Madeleine Bassett in Much Obliged, Jeeves , at Blandings Castle, in Uncle Fred in the pringtime , Uncle Fred is asked to foil a plot to steal a prize pig.
  
  











  



  
Smogtown: The Lung-Burning History of Pollution in Los Angeles
Chip Jacobs, William Kelly

Overlook Hardcover, 2008

Named one of 2009's best environmental books by Booklist magazine; awarded co-silver medal for best non-fiction work at The Green Book Festival, co-silver medal for best environmental/ecology work at the Independent Book Publishers (IPPY) Awards and winner of the Green Prize for Sustainable Literature from Santa Monica. The smog beast wafted into downtown Los Angeles on July 26, 1943. Nobody knew what it was. Secretaries rubbed their eyes. ...
  
  











  



  
The Catskills: From Wilderness to Woodstock, Revised and Updated
Alf Evers

Overlook Hardcover, 1984

The Catskills tells the story of one of America's most historically rich and romantic regions. Alf Evers evokes the special charm of the Catskills region with explorations of its flora and fauna, legends, superstitions, and natural and unnatural wonders. Packed with illustrations detailing the history of the Catskills from the time of its first settling through the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, the Borcht Belt years, the famed Woodstock ...
  
  











  



  
The Illustrated Gormenghast Trilogy
Mervyn Peake

Overlook Hardcover, 2011

First published between 1946 and 1959, this trilogy consists of "Titus Groan", "Gormenghast" and "Titus Alone". Gormenghast is a vast crumbling castle to which the 77th Earl, Titus Groan, is lord and heir. It is also a cobwebbed kingdom of Byzantine government and age-old ritual.
  
  











  



  
Waiting for the Electricity: A Novel
Christina Nichol

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

An exciting and hilarious debut novel: a remarkable picaresque set in post-Soviet Georgia—land of corruption, love, and power shortages In the republic of Georgia, the Communists are long gone, replaced by . . . well, by what? Something much more confusing. There are no jobs in the cities. And when there are jobs, employees aren’t compensated. And when they are compensated, it’s because the jobs are . . . not strictly scrupulous. In ...
  
  











  



  
How to Disappear Completely: On Modern Anorexia
Kelsey Osgood

Overlook Hardcover, 2013

At fourteen, Kelsey Osgood became fascinated by the stories of women who starved themselves. She devoured their memoirs and magazine articles, committing the most salacious details of their cautionary tales to memory--how little they ate, their lowest weights, and their merciless exercise regimes--to learn what it would take to be the very best anorectic. When she was hospitalized for anorexia at fifteen, she found herself in an existential ...
  
  











  



  
Carry On, Jeeves (A Jeeves and Bertie Novel)
P. G. Wodehouse

Overlook Hardcover, 2003

A full cast of Wodehouse creations—including tyrannical relatives, beastly acquaintances, demon children, and literary fatheads—return for further near catastrophes and sparkling comedy A Gentleman of Leisure is a comic novel dedicated to Douglas Fairbanks—who starred in the film version—and concerns a young man, his love life, and a burglary. Famiiliar Wodehouse characters from both sides of the ocean make appearances. Meanwhile, in ...
  
  











  



  
The Illusionists: A Novel
Rosie Thomas

Overlook Hardcover, 2014

    The intoxicating new novel of magic and intrigue by “a master storyteller” (Cosmopolitan), for fans of The Night Circus and Water for Elephants   Over the course of three decades of writing, bestselling novelist Rosie Thomas has earned an untold number of awards and the devotion of millions of loyal readers. Her new novel, The Illusionists , set in London in 1870, is a thrilling step forward—a captivating ...
  
  











  



  
Stevie Nicks: Visions, Dreams, & Rumors
Zoë Howe

Overlook Hardcover, 2015
  
  











  








   



search for books
adventures, anorexia, attrition, bemelmans, catskills, collector, completely, disappear, discretion, downfall, electricity, elsewhere, fighting, gormenghast, illusionists, illustrated, lung-burning, mysteries, performing, pollution, reporting, serrailler, smogtown, superintendent, unpersuadables, washington, watergate, wilderness, wodehouse, woodstock




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


"Insider-Tipps, Tricks und Geheimnisse - Für einen besseren Golfschwung" ...

home  impressum - about us