books by Viking Adult
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma
Bessel van der Kolk MD

Viking Adult, 2014

A pioneering researcher and one of the world’s foremost experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for healing   Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Such experiences inevitably leave traces on minds, emotions, and even on biology. ...
  
  











  



  
The Invention of Wings: A Novel
Sue Monk Kidd

Viking Adult, 2014

From the celebrated author of  The Secret Life of Bees , a magnificent novel about two unforgettable American women    Writing at the height of her narrative and imaginative gifts, Sue Monk Kidd presents a masterpiece of hope, daring, the quest for freedom, and the desire to have a voice in the world—and it is now the newest Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 selection. Hetty “Handful” Grimke, an urban slave in early nineteenth century ...
  
  











  



  
Napoleon: A Life
Andrew Roberts

Viking Adult, 2014

The definitive biography of the great soldier-statesman by the New York Times bestselling author of The Storm of War —w inner of the Grand Prix of the Fondation Napoleon 2014 Austerlitz, Borodino, Waterloo: his battles are among the greatest in history, but Napoleon Bonaparte was far more than a military genius and astute leader of men. Like George Washington and his own hero Julius Caesar, he was one of the greatest ...
  
  











  



  
The Sense of Style: The Thinking Person’s Guide to Writing in the 21st Century
Steven Pinker

Viking Adult, 2014

A short and entertaining book on the modern art of writing well by New York Times bestselling author Steven Pinker Why is so much writing so bad, and how can we make it better? Is the English language being corrupted by texting and social media? Do the kids today even care about good writing? Why should any of us care? In The Sense of Style , the bestselling linguist and cognitive scientist Steven Pinker answers these questions ...
  
  











  



  
The Invisible History of the Human Race: How DNA and History Shape Our Identities and Our Futures
Christine Kenneally

Viking Adult, 2014

How biology, psychology, and history shape us as individuals We are doomed to repeat history if we fail to learn from it, but how are we affected by the forces that are invisible to us? In The Invisible History of the Human Race Christine Kenneally draws on cutting-edge research to reveal how both historical artifacts and DNA tell us where we come from and where we may be going. While some books explore our genetic inheritance and ...
  
  











  



  
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Ala Notable ...
Daniel James Brown

Viking Adult, 2013

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken , the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard ...
  
  











  



  
The Secret Place (Dublin Murder Squad)
Tana French

Viking Adult, 2014

The sensational new novel from “one of the most talented crime writers alive” ( The Washington Post ) The photo on the card shows a boy who was found murdered, a year ago, on the grounds of a girls’ boarding school in the leafy suburbs of Dublin. The caption saysI KNOW WHO KILLED HIM. Detective Stephen Moran has been waiting for his chance to get a foot in the door of Dublin’s Murder Squad—and one morning, sixteen-year-old ...
  
  











  



  
Herbie Hancock: Possibilities
Herbie Hancock, Lisa Dickey

Viking Adult, 2014

The long-awaited memoir by one of the most influential and beloved musicians of our time In Herbie Hancock the legendary jazz musician and composer reflects on a life and a thriving career that has spanned seven decades. A true innovator, Hancock has had an enormous influence on both acoustic and electric jazz, R&B and hip-hop, with his ongoing exploration of different musical genres, winning fourteen Grammy awards along the way. ...
  
  











  



  
The Book of Life: A Novel (All Souls Trilogy)
Deborah Harkness

Viking Adult, 2014

The highly anticipated finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling trilogy that began with A Discovery of Witches   After traveling through time in Shadow of Night , the second book in Deborah Harkness’s enchanting series, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. At Matthew’s ancestral home at Sept-Tours, they reunite with the cast of ...
  
  











  



  
The Wars of the Roses: The Fall of the Plantagenets and the Rise of the Tudors
Dan Jones

Viking Adult, 2014

The author of the New York Times bestseller The Plantagenets chronicles the next chapter in British history—the historical backdrop for Game of Thrones The crown of England changed hands five times over the course of the fifteenth century, as two branches of the Plantagenet dynasty fought to the death for the right to rule. In this riveting follow-up to  The Plantagenets , celebrated historian Dan Jones describes how the ...
  
  











  



  
The Magician's Land: A Novel (Magicians Trilogy)
Lev Grossman

Viking Adult, 2014

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER  The stunning conclusion to the bestselling Magicians trilogy   Quentin Coldwater has been cast out of Fillory, the secret magical land of his childhood dreams. With nothing left to lose he returns to where his story began, the Brakebills Preparatory College of Magic. But he can’t hide from his past, and it’s not long before it comes looking for him.   Along with Plum, a brilliant young ...
  
  











  



  
Blood Aces: The Wild Ride of Benny Binion, the Texas Gangster Who Created Vegas Poker
Doug Swanson

Viking Adult, 2014

The astonishing story of Benny Binion—a rip-roaring saga of murder, money, and the making of Las Vegas   Benny Binion was many things: a cowboy, a pioneering casino owner, a gangster, a killer, and founder of the hugely successful World Series of Poker.   Blood Aces tells the story of Binion’s crucial role in shaping modern Las Vegas. From a Texas backwater, Binion rose to prominence on a combination of vision, determination, ...
  
  











  



  
The Magicians Trilogy Boxed Set
Lev Grossman

Viking Adult, 2014

The entire New York Times bestselling Magicians trilogy, including The Magicians , The Magician King , and The Magician's Land , now available in a gorgeous boxed set Including four fan-designed character cards, this beautiful boxed set makes a perfect gift for readers of the beloved fantasy series praised by George R. R. Martin, Junot Díaz, and Erin Morgenstern. The Magicians Quentin Coldwater is brilliant but ...
  
  











  



  
James Madison: A Life Reconsidered
Lynne Cheney

Viking Adult, 2014

A major new biography of the fourth president of the United States by New York Times bestselling author Lynne Cheney   This majestic new biography of James Madison explores the astonishing story of a man of vaunted modesty who audaciously changed the world. Among the Founding Fathers, Madison was a true genius of the early republic.   Outwardly reserved, Madison was the intellectual driving force behind the Constitution ...
  
  











  



  
By Daniel James Brown The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin ...
Daniel James Brown

Viking Adult, 2013
  
  











  



  
Anticancer: A New Way of Life
David Servan-Schreiber

Viking Adult, 2009

Anticancer has been a bestselling phenomenon since Viking first published it in fall 2008. Now, a new edition addresses current developments in cancer research and offers more tips on how people living with cancer can fight it and how healthy people can prevent it. The new edition of Anticancer includes: • The latest research on anticancer foods, including new alternatives to sugar and cautions about some that are now on the market • ...
  
  











  



  
Christ Actually: The Son of God for the Secular Age
James Carroll

Viking Adult, 2014

A New York Times bestselling and widely admired Catholic writer explores how we can retrieve transcendent faith in modern times Critically acclaimed and bestselling author James Carroll has explored every aspect of Christianity, faith, and Jesus Christ except this central one: What can we believe about—and how can we believe in—Jesus in the twenty-first century in light of the Holocaust and other atrocities of the twentieth century ...
  
  











  



  
Wait for Signs: Twelve Longmire Stories
Craig Johnson

Viking Adult, 2014

Twelve Longmire short stories available for the first time in a single volume—featuring an introduction by Lou Diamond Phillips of A&E’s Longmire Ten years ago, Craig Johnson wrote his first short story, the Hillerman Award–winning “Old Indian Trick.” This was one of the earliest appearances of the sheriff who would go on to star in Johnson’s bestselling, award-winning novels and the A&E hit series Longmire . Each Christmas ...
  
  











  



  
The Deluge: The Great War, America and the Remaking of the Global Order, 1916-1931
Adam Tooze

Viking Adult, 2014

A searing and highly original analysis of the First World War and its anguished aftermath In the depths of the Great War, with millions dead and no imaginable end to the conflict, societies around the world began to buckle. The heart of the financial system shifted from London to New York. The infinite demands for men and matériel reached into countries far from the front. The strain of the war ravaged all economic and political ...
  
  











  



  
Brian Jones: The Making of the Rolling Stones
Paul Trynka

Viking Adult, 2014

For the first time, the complete story of the enigmatic founder of the Rolling Stones and the early years of the band Brian Jones was the golden boy of the Rolling Stones—the visionary who gave the band its name and its sound. Yet he was a haunted man, and much of his brief time with the band, before his death in 1969 at the infamous age of twenty-seven, was volatile and tragic. Some of the details of how Jones was dethroned are well ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
1916-1931, actually, america, americans, anticancer, created, edition, futures, gangster, hancock, healing, history, identities, invention, invisible, longmire, madison, magician, magicians, napoleon, notable, olympics, plantagenets, possibilities, reconsidered, remaking, rolling, stories, thinking, trilogy




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: La Llamada de la Selva (Los Grandes Clasicos Ilustrados) (Spanish Edition)

home  impressum - about us