books by Viking Adult
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Magician's Land: A Novel (Magicians Trilogy)
Lev Grossman

Viking Adult, 2014

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER  The stunning conclusion to the bestselling Magicians trilogy   Quentin Coldwater has been cast out of Fillory, the secret magical land of his childhood dreams. With nothing left to lose he returns to where his story began, the Brakebills Preparatory College of Magic. But he can’t hide from his past, and it’s not long before it comes looking for him.   Along with Plum, a brilliant young ...
  
  











  



  
Wait for Signs: Twelve Longmire Stories
Craig Johnson

Viking Adult, 2014

Twelve Longmire short stories available for the first time in a single volume—featuring an introduction by Lou Diamond Phillips of A&E’s Longmire Ten years ago, Craig Johnson wrote his first short story, the Hillerman Award–winning “Old Indian Trick.” This was one of the earliest appearances of the sheriff who would go on to star in Johnson’s bestselling, award-winning novels and the A&E hit series Longmire . Each Christmas ...
  
  











  



  
The Invention of Wings: A Novel
Sue Monk Kidd

Viking Adult, 2014

From the celebrated author of  The Secret Life of Bees , a magnificent novel about two unforgettable American women    Writing at the height of her narrative and imaginative gifts, Sue Monk Kidd presents a masterpiece of hope, daring, the quest for freedom, and the desire to have a voice in the world—and it is now the newest Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 selection. Hetty “Handful” Grimke, an urban slave in early nineteenth century ...
  
  











  



  
Anticancer: A New Way of Life
David Servan-Schreiber

Viking Adult, 2009

Anticancer has been a bestselling phenomenon since Viking first published it in fall 2008. Now, a new edition addresses current developments in cancer research and offers more tips on how people living with cancer can fight it and how healthy people can prevent it. The new edition of Anticancer includes: • The latest research on anticancer foods, including new alternatives to sugar and cautions about some that are now on the market • ...
  
  











  



  
In Search of the Perfect Loaf: A Home Baker's Odyssey
Samuel Fromartz

Viking Adult, 2014

"If you love great bread, you will love this book! From Paris, to Berlin, to Marienthal, Kansas, we follow Sam on his quest as he shares his love for bread and the ‘baking secrets’ he learned along the way." –Daniel Leader, founder of Bread Alone Bakery and author of  Bread Alone   "This fascinating, beautifully written memoir reveals Sam Fromartz as that rare breed of cook: craftsman, historian and scientist all in one." ...
  
  











  



  
The Sense of Style: The Thinking Person’s Guide to Writing in the 21st Century
Steven Pinker

Viking Adult, 2014

A short and entertaining book on the modern art of writing well by New York Times bestselling author Steven Pinker Why is so much writing so bad, and how can we make it better? Is the English language being corrupted by texting and social media? Do the kids today even care about good writing? Why should any of us care? In The Sense of Style , the bestselling linguist and cognitive scientist Steven Pinker answers these questions ...
  
  











  



  
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Daniel James Brown

Viking Adult, 2013

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken , the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard ...
  
  











  



  
The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma
Bessel van der Kolk MD

Viking Adult, 2014

A pioneering researcher and one of the world’s foremost experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for healing   Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Such experiences inevitably leave traces on minds, emotions, and even on biology. ...
  
  











  



  
The Book of Life: A Novel (All Souls Trilogy)
Deborah Harkness

Viking Adult, 2014

The highly anticipated finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling trilogy that began with A Discovery of Witches   After traveling through time in Shadow of Night , the second book in Deborah Harkness’s enchanting series, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. At Matthew’s ancestral home at Sept-Tours, they reunite with the cast of ...
  
  











  



  
The Secret Place (Dublin Murder Squad)
Tana French

Viking Adult, 2014

The sensational new novel from “one of the most talented crime writers alive” ( The Washington Post ) The photo on the card shows a boy who was found murdered, a year ago, on the grounds of a girls’ boarding school in the leafy suburbs of Dublin. The caption saysI KNOW WHO KILLED HIM. Detective Stephen Moran has been waiting for his chance to get a foot in the door of Dublin’s Murder Squad—and one morning, sixteen-year-old ...
  
  











  



  
The Wars of the Roses: The Fall of the Plantagenets and the Rise of the Tudors
Dan Jones

Viking Adult, 2014

The author of the New York Times bestseller The Plantagenets chronicles the next chapter in British history—the historical backdrop for Game of Thrones The crown of England changed hands five times over the course of the fifteenth century, as two branches of the Plantagenet dynasty fought to the death for the right to rule. In this riveting follow-up to  The Plantagenets , celebrated historian Dan Jones describes how the ...
  
  











  



  
The Lagoon: How Aristotle Invented Science
Armand Marie Leroi

Viking Adult, 2014

A brilliant study of Aristotle as biologist The philosophical classics of Aristotle loom large over the history of Western thought, but the subject he most loved was biology. He wrote vast volumes about animals. He described them, classified them, told us where and how they live and how they develop in the womb or in the egg. He founded a science. It can even be said that he founded science itself. In The Lagoon , acclaimed ...
  
  











  



  
Napoleon: A Life
Andrew Roberts

Viking Adult, 2014

The definitive biography of the great soldier-statesman by the New York Times bestselling author of The Storm of War Austerlitz, Borodino, Waterloo: his battles are among the greatest in history, but Napoleon Bonaparte was far more than a military genius and astute leader of men. Like George Washington and his own hero Julius Caesar, he was one of the greatest soldier-statesmen of all times. Andrew Roberts’s Napoleon is the ...
  
  











  



  
The Case Against the Supreme Court
Erwin Chemerinsky

Viking Adult, 2014

A preeminent constitutional scholar offers a hard-hitting analysis of the Supreme Court over the last two hundred years Most Americans share the perception that the Supreme Court is objective, but Erwin Chemerinsky, one of the country’s leading constitutional lawyers, shows that this is nonsense and always has been. The Court is made up of fallible individuals who base decisions on their own biases. Today, the Roberts Court is promoting ...
  
  











  



  
Dear Daughter: A Novel
Elizabeth Little

Viking Adult, 2014

“Quick-witted and fast-paced, this debut mystery should be a hit with Gone Girl fans.”  — People magazine    "This is an all-nighter . . . The best debut mystery I've read in a long time." —Tana French      “A really gutsy, clever, energetic read, often unexpected, always entertaining. I loved Janie Jenkins’s sassy voice and Elizabeth Little’s too. In the world of crime novels,  Dear Daughter ...
  
  











  



  
James Madison: A Life Reconsidered
Lynne Cheney

Viking Adult, 2014

A major new biography of the fourth president of the United States by New York Times bestselling author Lynne Cheney   This majestic new biography of James Madison explores the astonishing story of a man of vaunted modesty who audaciously changed the world. Among the Founding Fathers, Madison was a true genius of the early republic.   Outwardly reserved, Madison was the intellectual driving force behind the Constitution ...
  
  











  



  
Thanks for the Feedback: The Science and Art of Receiving Feedback Well
Douglas Stone, Sheila Heen

Viking Adult, 2014

The bestselling authors of the classic Difficult Conversations teach us how to turn evaluations, advice, criticisms, and coaching into productive listening and learning We swim in an ocean of feedback. Bosses, colleagues, customers—but also family, friends, and in-laws—they all have “suggestions” for our performance, parenting, or appearance. We know that feedback is essential for healthy relationships and professional development—but ...
  
  











  



  
Blood Aces: The Wild Ride of Benny Binion, the Texas Gangster Who Created Vegas Poker
Doug Swanson

Viking Adult, 2014

The astonishing story of Benny Binion—a rip-roaring saga of murder, money, and the making of Las Vegas   Benny Binion was many things: a cowboy, a pioneering casino owner, a gangster, a killer, and founder of the hugely successful World Series of Poker.   Blood Aces tells the story of Binion’s crucial role in shaping modern Las Vegas. From a Texas backwater, Binion rose to prominence on a combination of vision, determination, ...
  
  











  



  
Any Other Name: A Longmire Mystery
Craig Johnson

Viking Adult, 2014

Sheriff Walt Longmire is sinking into a high-plains winter discontent when his former boss, Lucian Connally, asks him to take on a mercy case outside his jurisdiction. Detective Gerald Holman of neighboring Campbell County is dead, and Lucian wants to know what drove his old friend, a by-the-book lawman with a wife and daughter, to take his own life. With the clock ticking on the birth of Walt’s first grandchild in Philadelphia, he enlists the ...
  
  











  



  
Etta Mae's Worst Bad-Luck Day
Ann B. Ross

Viking Adult, 2014

Fan favorite Etta Mae Wiggins takes center stage in the latest novel in the New York Times bestselling Miss Julia series Bestselling author Ann B. Ross is back with another lively adventure set in Miss Julia’s Abbotsville. For the first time, though, she writes from the perspective of another resident: the hardscrabble, heart-of-gold Etta Mae Wiggins. Etta Mae is frustrated with her trailer-park life and her no-good family, and she has ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
against, americans, anticancer, aristotle, bad-luck, century, created, daughter, feedback, gangster, healing, invented, invention, longmire, madison, magician, magicians, mystery, napoleon, odyssey, olympics, plantagenets, receiving, reconsidered, science, stories, supreme, thinking, trilogy, writing




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


tools & hardware: Cuero Wall 32-inch Wide, White Bathroom Vanity Cabinet Set, Storage ...

home  impressum - about us