books about: pulitzer
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Orphan Master's Son: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction)
Adam Johnson

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2012

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE In this epic, critically acclaimed tour de force, Adam Johnson provides a riveting portrait of a world rife with hunger, corruption, and casual cruelty but also camaraderie, stolen moments of beauty, and love. NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST • DAYTON LITERARY PEACE PRIZE WINNER • LONGLISTED FOR THE AMERICAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION’S ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL • WINNER OF THE CALIFORNIA BOOK AWARD ...
  
  











  



  
Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation
Dan Fagin

Bantam, 2013

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE •  Winner of The New York Public Library’s Helen Bernstein Book Award • “A new classic of science reporting.”— The New York Times The riveting true story of a small town ravaged by industrial pollution, Toms River melds hard-hitting investigative reporting, a fascinating scientific detective story, and an unforgettable cast of characters into a sweeping narrative in the tradition of A Civil ...
  
  











  



  
The Guns of August: The Pulitzer Prize-Winning Classic About the Outbreak of World War I
Barbara W. Tuchman

Presidio Press, 2004

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all time The Proud Tower, the Pulitzer Prize–winning The Guns of August, and The Zimmerman Telegram comprise Barbara W. Tuchman’s classic histories of the First World War era In this landmark, Pulitzer Prize–winning account, renowned historian Barbara W. Tuchman re-creates the first month of World War I: thirty days in the summer of 1914 that determined ...
  
  











  



  
The Keepers of the House
Shirley Ann Grau

Vintage, 2003

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 1965, The Keepers of the House is Shirley Ann Grau’s masterwork, a many-layered indictment of racism and rage that is as terrifying as it is wise. Entrenched on the same land since the early 1800s, the Howlands have, for seven generations, been pillars of their Southern community. Extraordinary family lore has been passed down to Abigail Howland, but not all of it. When shocking facts come to light about ...
  
  











  



  
Pulitzer Prize Winning Works Collection: One of Ours, His Family, Miss Lulu Bett, Cornhuskers, Anna Christie, ..., ...

Jame-Books, 2013

The Pulitzer Prize is a U.S. award for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature, and musical composition. It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of American (Hungarian-born) publisher Joseph Pulitzer, and is administered by Columbia University in New York City. Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories. In twenty of the categories, each winner receives a certificate and a US$10,000 cash award. The ...
  
  











  



  
A Visit from the Goon Squad
Jennifer Egan

Anchor, 2011

Bennie is an aging former punk rocker and record executive. Sasha is the passionate, troubled young woman he employs. Here Jennifer Egan brilliantly reveals their pasts, along with the inner lives of a host of other characters whose paths intersect with theirs. With music pulsing on every page, A Visit from the Goon Squad is a startling, exhilarating novel of self-destruction and redemption. National Bestseller National Book Critics ...
  
  











  



  
Pulitzer: A Life in Politics, Print, and Power
James McGrath Morris

Harper Perennial, 2011

In nineteenth-century industrial America, while Carnegie provided the steel, Rockefeller the oil, Morgan the money, and Vanderbilt the railroads, Pulitzer ushered in the modern mass media. James McGrath Morris chronicles the epic story of Joseph Pulitzer, a Jewish Hungarian immigrant who amassed great wealth and extraordinary power during his remarkable rise through American politics and journalism. Based on years of research and newly ...
  
  











  



  
The Snow Child: A Novel
Eowyn Ivey

Reagan Arthur / Back Bay Books, 2012

Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart--he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm; she crumbling from loneliness and despair. In a moment of levity during the season's first snowfall, they build a child out of snow. The next morning the snow child is gone--but they glimpse a young, blonde-haired girl running through the trees. This little ...
  
  











  



  
A Son of the Middle Border & A Daughter of the Middle Border: The Pulitzer Prize Winning Novel

Pearl Necklace Books, 2014

• Two of American writer Hamlin Garland’s best-selling books from the early 1900s are bound together in this Kindle book: A Son of the Middle Border (1917) and A Daughter of the Middle Border (1921) A Son of the Middle Border A classic American book and the coming-of-age of a farm boy on the prairie. This Hamlin Garland’s captivating autobiography, starting from his rural childhood to his studies in Boston. This is a brilliant and ...
  
  











  



  
200 GREATEST NOVELS, STORIES & POEMS EVER WRITTEN: THE COMPLETE HARVARD CLASSICS LIBRARY SHELF OF FICTION ..., ...

The Complete Works Collection, 2011

EXCLUSIVE AND UNPARALLELED COLLECTION OF THE WORLD'S BEST NOVELS, SHORT STORIES AND POEMS!!! THE COMPLETE HARVARD CLASSICS LIBRARY - "THE SHELF OF FICTION" [ILLUSTRATED] Selected by Harvard University scholars and fully revised and updated for 2011 200 OF THE GREATEST WORKS EVER WRITTEN - NOW AVAILABLE IN A SINGLE, FULL COLOR ILLUSTRATED, KINDLE(tm) VOLUME This incredible Harvard Classics Library Complete Shelf of Fiction collection ...
  
  











  



  
Gilead: A Novel
Marilynne Robinson

Picador, 2006

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping , Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of ...
  
  











  



  
Drinks with Lilly Pulitzer

Candle Wax, 2012

A tasty collection of poems and two short-stories for kids and adults to drink and enjoy. Burp!
  
  











  



  
Foreign Affairs: A Novel
Alison Lurie

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2006

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE Virginia Miner, a fifty-something, unmarried tenured professor, is in London to work on her new book about children’s folk rhymes. Despite carrying a U.S. passport, Vinnie feels essentially English and rather looks down on her fellow Americans. But in spite of that, she is drawn into a mortifying and oddly satisfying affair with an Oklahoman tourist who dresses more Bronco Billy than Beau Brummel. Also in London ...
  
  











  



  
The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer
Siddhartha Mukherjee

Scribner, 2011

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE The Emperor of All Maladies is a magnificent, profoundly humane “biography” of cancer—from its first documented appearances thousands of years ago through the epic battles in the twentieth century to cure, control, and conquer it to a radical new understanding of its essence. Physician, researcher, and award-winning science writer, Siddhartha Mukherjee examines cancer with a cellular biologist’s precision, ...
  
  











  



  
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay (with bonus content): A Novel
Michael Chabon

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2012

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE   The beloved, award-winning The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay , a Michael Chabon masterwork, is the American epic of two boy geniuses named Joe Kavalier and Sammy Clay. Now with special bonus material by Michael Chabon.   A “towering, swash-buckling thrill of a book” ( Newsweek ), hailed as Chabon’s “magnum opus” ( The New York Review of Books ), The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & ...
  
  











  



  
The Road
Cormac McCarthy

Vintage Books, 2006

NATIONAL BESTSELLER PULITZER PRIZE WINNER National Book Critic's Circle Award Finalist A New York Times Notable Book One of the Best Books of the Year The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Denver Post, The Kansas City Star, Los Angeles Times, New York, People, Rocky Mountain News, Time, The Village Voice, The Washington Post The searing, postapocalyptic novel destined to become Cormac McCarthy's masterpiece. A ...
  
  











  



  
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
Junot Diaz

Riverhead Trade, 2008

Oscar is a sweet but disastrously overweight ghetto nerd who—from the New Jersey home he shares with his old world mother and rebellious sister—dreams of becoming the Dominican J.R.R. Tolkien and, most of all, finding love. But Oscar may never get what he wants. Blame the fukú—a curse that has haunted Oscar’s family for generations, following them on their epic journey from Santo Domingo to the USA. Encapsulating Dominican-American ...
  
  











  



  
Tinkers
Paul Harding

Bellevue Literary Press, 2009

An old man lies dying. Confined to bed in his living room, he sees the walls around him begin to collapse, the windows come loose from their sashes, and the ceiling plaster fall off in great chunks, showering him with a lifetime of debris: newspaper clippings, old photographs, wool jackets, rusty tools, and the mangled brass works of antique clocks. Soon, the clouds from the sky above plummet down on top of him, followed by the stars, till the ...
  
  











  



  
Pulitzer Prize Feature Stories: America's Best Writing, 1979 - 2003

Wiley-Blackwell, 2003

As Garlock relates in the preface, “The quality of the research, reporting and writing of these unique features is stunning. No two are written exactly the same way. But they all hold to one constant: strong emotions and content—powerful, touching, frightening, harrowing journalism.” The rules for winning a Pulitzer Prize in feature writing are simple, yet demanding: the prize is awarded for “a distinguished example of feature writing ...
  
  











  



  
American Hunger: The Pulitzer Prize-Winning Washington Post Series (A Vintage Short)

Vintage, 2014

An eBook short. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Explanatory Reporting In this Pulitzer Prize-winning collection, Washington Post reporter Eli Saslow traveled across the country over the course of a year—from Florida and Texas to Rhode Island and Tennessee—to examine the personal and political implications and repercussions of America's growing food stamp program.   Saslow shows us the extraordinary impact the arrival of food stamps ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
adventures, affairs, amazing, american, biography, christie, classics, collection, complete, cornhuskers, daughter, emperor, fiction, foreign, greatest, harvard, kavalier, maladies, outbreak, politics, prize-winning, pulitzer, salvation, science, shakespeare, tolstoy, washington, wondrous, writing, written




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


outdoor living: National Garden Wholesale Super Sprouter Seedling Heat Mat Thermostat

home  impressum - about us