books about: pulitzer
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Gilead: A Novel
Marilynne Robinson

Picador, 2006

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping , Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of ...
  
  











  



  
A Son of the Middle Border & A Daughter of the Middle Border: The Pulitzer Prize Winning Novel

Pearl Necklace Books, 2014

• Two of American writer Hamlin Garland’s best-selling books from the early 1900s are bound together in this Kindle book: A Son of the Middle Border (1917) and A Daughter of the Middle Border (1921) A Son of the Middle Border A classic American book and the coming-of-age of a farm boy on the prairie. This Hamlin Garland’s captivating autobiography, starting from his rural childhood to his studies in Boston. This is a brilliant and ...
  
  











  



  
Pulitzer: A Life in Politics, Print, and Power
James McGrath Morris

Harper Perennial, 2011

In nineteenth-century industrial America, while Carnegie provided the steel, Rockefeller the oil, Morgan the money, and Vanderbilt the railroads, Pulitzer ushered in the modern mass media. James McGrath Morris chronicles the epic story of Joseph Pulitzer, a Jewish Hungarian immigrant who amassed great wealth and extraordinary power during his remarkable rise through American politics and journalism. Based on years of research and newly ...
  
  











  



  
The Orphan Master's Son: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction)
Adam Johnson

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2012

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE In this epic, critically acclaimed tour de force, Adam Johnson provides a riveting portrait of a world rife with hunger, corruption, and casual cruelty but also camaraderie, stolen moments of beauty, and love. NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST • DAYTON LITERARY PEACE PRIZE WINNER • LONGLISTED FOR THE AMERICAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION’S ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL • WINNER OF THE CALIFORNIA BOOK AWARD ...
  
  











  



  
200 GREATEST NOVELS, STORIES & POEMS EVER WRITTEN: THE COMPLETE HARVARD CLASSICS LIBRARY SHELF OF FICTION ..., ...

The Complete Works Collection, 2011

EXCLUSIVE AND UNPARALLELED COLLECTION OF THE WORLD'S BEST NOVELS, SHORT STORIES AND POEMS!!! THE COMPLETE HARVARD CLASSICS LIBRARY - "THE SHELF OF FICTION" [ILLUSTRATED] Selected by Harvard University scholars and fully revised and updated for 2011 200 OF THE GREATEST WORKS EVER WRITTEN - NOW AVAILABLE IN A SINGLE, FULL COLOR ILLUSTRATED, KINDLE(tm) VOLUME This incredible Harvard Classics Library Complete Shelf of Fiction collection ...
  
  











  



  
The Guns of August: The Pulitzer Prize-Winning Classic About the Outbreak of World War I
Barbara W. Tuchman

Presidio Press, 2004

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all time The Proud Tower, the Pulitzer Prize–winning The Guns of August, and The Zimmerman Telegram comprise Barbara W. Tuchman’s classic histories of the First World War era In this landmark, Pulitzer Prize–winning account, renowned historian Barbara W. Tuchman re-creates the first month of World War I: thirty days in the summer of 1914 that determined ...
  
  











  



  
The Road
Cormac McCarthy

Vintage Books, 2006

NATIONAL BESTSELLER PULITZER PRIZE WINNER National Book Critic's Circle Award Finalist A New York Times Notable Book One of the Best Books of the Year The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Denver Post, The Kansas City Star, Los Angeles Times, New York, People, Rocky Mountain News, Time, The Village Voice, The Washington Post The searing, postapocalyptic novel destined to become Cormac McCarthy's masterpiece. A ...
  
  











  



  
The Keepers of the House
Shirley Ann Grau

Vintage, 2003

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 1965, The Keepers of the House is Shirley Ann Grau’s masterwork, a many-layered indictment of racism and rage that is as terrifying as it is wise. Entrenched on the same land since the early 1800s, the Howlands have, for seven generations, been pillars of their Southern community. Extraordinary family lore has been passed down to Abigail Howland, but not all of it. When shocking facts come to light about ...
  
  











  



  
Pulitzer Prize Winning Works Collection: One of Ours, His Family, Miss Lulu Bett, Cornhuskers, Anna Christie, ..., ...

Jame-Books, 2013

The Pulitzer Prize is a U.S. award for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature, and musical composition. It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of American (Hungarian-born) publisher Joseph Pulitzer, and is administered by Columbia University in New York City. Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories. In twenty of the categories, each winner receives a certificate and a US$10,000 cash award. The ...
  
  











  



  
Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation
Dan Fagin

Bantam, 2013

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE •  Winner of The New York Public Library’s Helen Bernstein Book Award • “A new classic of science reporting.”— The New York Times The riveting true story of a small town ravaged by industrial pollution, Toms River melds hard-hitting investigative reporting, a fascinating scientific detective story, and an unforgettable cast of characters into a sweeping narrative in the tradition of A Civil ...
  
  











  



  
The Prairie Trilogy: O Pioneers!; The Song of the Lark; My Antoniá

Heritage Publishing, 2014

- The Prairie Trilogy is Pulitzer prize-winning author Willa Cather's highly acclaimed series of novels that deal with the ordinary everyday lives of Americans in plainspoken language. - O Pioneers! is a powerful early Cather novel that tells the compelling tale of a young girl with the tough task of taking care of her frontier family after their father's death. - The Song of the Lark is the self-portrait of an artist in the making. It ...
  
  











  



  
The Snow Child: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize in Letters: Fiction Finalists)

Reagan Arthur Books, 2012

Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart--he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm; she crumbling from loneliness and despair. In a moment of levity during the season's first snowfall, they build a child out of snow. The next morning the snow child is gone--but they glimpse a young, blonde-haired girl running through the trees. This ...
  
  











  



  
The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer
Siddhartha Mukherjee

Scribner, 2011

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE The Emperor of All Maladies is a magnificent, profoundly humane “biography” of cancer—from its first documented appearances thousands of years ago through the epic battles in the twentieth century to cure, control, and conquer it to a radical new understanding of its essence. Physician, researcher, and award-winning science writer, Siddhartha Mukherjee examines cancer with a cellular biologist’s precision, ...
  
  











  



  
Capture the Moment: The Pulitzer Prize Photographs
Cyma Rubin

W. W. Norton & Company, 2003

The defining moments of the tumultuous second half of the twentieth century captured in riveting photographs. Collected here are the Pulitzer Prize-winning photographs (updated to include winners through 2003)—pictures that influenced our thinking in times of crisis and sometimes stirred us to action. Among them are Joe Rosenthal's World War II photograph of the raising of the flag over Mount Suribachi on Iwo Jima, commemorating the more ...
  
  











  



  
Drinks with Lilly Pulitzer

Candle Wax, 2012

A tasty collection of poems and two short-stories for kids and adults to drink and enjoy. Burp!
  
  











  



  
Foreign Affairs: A Novel

Open Road Media, 2013

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction, and a finalist for the National Book Award: Alison Lurie’s supremely entertaining masterwork about two American scholars, both alone in London, who find romance in the most unlikely places Prim, divorced, and middle-aged, Vinnie Miner gave up on love long ago. On her way to London to research a book about children’s folk rhymes—a scholarly pursuit that ...
  
  











  



  
Pulitzer
W. A., Swanberg

Scribner, 1967

The life of Pulitzer, greatest American journalist.
  
  











  



  
Tinkers
Paul Harding

Bellevue Literary Press, 2009

An old man lies dying. Confined to bed in his living room, he sees the walls around him begin to collapse, the windows come loose from their sashes, and the ceiling plaster fall off in great chunks, showering him with a lifetime of debris: newspaper clippings, old photographs, wool jackets, rusty tools, and the mangled brass works of antique clocks. Soon, the clouds from the sky above plummet down on top of him, followed by the stars, till the ...
  
  











  



  
The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction)

Little, Brown and Company, 2013

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE " The Goldfinch is a rarity that comes along perhaps half a dozen times per decade, a smartly written literary novel that connects with the heart as well as the mind....Donna Tartt has delivered an extraordinary work of fiction."-- Stephen King, The New York Times Book Review Theo Decker, a 13-year-old New Yorker, miraculously survives an accident that kills his mother. Abandoned by his father, Theo is taken ...
  
  











  



  
Pulitzer Prize Feature Stories: America's Best Writing, 1979 - 2003

Wiley-Blackwell, 2003

As Garlock relates in the preface, “The quality of the research, reporting and writing of these unique features is stunning. No two are written exactly the same way. But they all hold to one constant: strong emotions and content—powerful, touching, frightening, harrowing journalism.” The rules for winning a Pulitzer Prize in feature writing are simple, yet demanding: the prize is awarded for “a distinguished example of feature writing ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
biography, capture, christie, classic, classics, collection, complete, cornhuskers, daughter, feature, fiction, finalists, foreign, goldfinch, greatest, keepers, letters, maladies, outbreak, photographs, pioneers, politics, prize-winning, pulitzer, salvation, shakespeare, tolstoy, trilogy, writing, written




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


DVD: Extreme Comedy Collection (Team America - Uncensored and Unrated / Beavis ...

home  impressum - about us