books about: pulitzer
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Road
Cormac McCarthy

Vintage Books, 2006

The searing, postapocalyptic novel destined to become Cormac McCarthy's masterpiece. A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don't know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves ...
  
  











  



  
The Prairie Trilogy: O Pioneers!; The Song of the Lark; My Antoniá

Heritage Publishing, 2014

- The Prairie Trilogy is Pulitzer prize-winning author Willa Cather's highly acclaimed series of novels that deal with the ordinary everyday lives of Americans in plainspoken language. - O Pioneers! is a powerful early Cather novel that tells the compelling tale of a young girl with the tough task of taking care of her frontier family after their father's death. - The Song of the Lark is the self-portrait of an artist in the making. It ...
  
  











  



  
Pulitzer Prize Winning Works Collection: One of Ours, His Family, Miss Lulu Bett, Cornhuskers, Anna Christie, ..., ...

Jame-Books, 2013

The Pulitzer Prize is a U.S. award for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature, and musical composition. It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of American (Hungarian-born) publisher Joseph Pulitzer, and is administered by Columbia University in New York City. Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories. In twenty of the categories, each winner receives a certificate and a US$10,000 cash award. The ...
  
  











  



  
The Orphan Master's Son: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction)
Adam Johnson

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2012

Pak Jun Do is the haunted son of a lost mother—a singer “stolen” to Pyongyang—and an influential father who runs a work camp for orphans. Superiors in the state soon recognize the boy’s loyalty and keen instincts. Considering himself “a humble citizen of the greatest nation in the world,” Jun Do rises in the ranks. He becomes a professional kidnapper who must navigate the shifting rules, arbitrary violence, and baffling demands of ...
  
  











  



  
The Guns of August: The Pulitzer Prize-Winning Classic About the Outbreak of World War I
Barbara W. Tuchman

Presidio Press, 2004

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all time The Proud Tower, the Pulitzer Prize–winning The Guns of August, and The Zimmerman Telegram comprise Barbara W. Tuchman’s classic histories of the First World War era In this landmark, Pulitzer Prize–winning account, renowned historian Barbara W. Tuchman re-creates the first month of World War I: thirty days in the summer of 1914 that determined ...
  
  











  



  
The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer
Siddhartha Mukherjee

Scribner, 2011

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE The Emperor of All Maladies is a magnificent, profoundly humane “biography” of cancer—from its first documented appearances thousands of years ago through the epic battles in the twentieth century to cure, control, and conquer it to a radical new understanding of its essence. Physician, researcher, and award-winning science writer, Siddhartha Mukherjee examines cancer with a cellular biologist’s precision, ...
  
  











  



  
200 GREATEST NOVELS, STORIES & POEMS EVER WRITTEN: THE COMPLETE HARVARD CLASSICS LIBRARY SHELF OF FICTION ..., ...

The Complete Works Collection, 2011

EXCLUSIVE AND UNPARALLELED COLLECTION OF THE WORLD'S BEST NOVELS, SHORT STORIES AND POEMS!!! THE COMPLETE HARVARD CLASSICS LIBRARY - "THE SHELF OF FICTION" [ILLUSTRATED] Selected by Harvard University scholars and fully revised and updated for 2011 200 OF THE GREATEST WORKS EVER WRITTEN - NOW AVAILABLE IN A SINGLE, FULL COLOR ILLUSTRATED, KINDLE(tm) VOLUME This incredible Harvard Classics Library Complete Shelf of Fiction collection ...
  
  











  



  
The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction)
Donna Tartt

Little, Brown and Company, 2013

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE " The Goldfinch is a rarity that comes along perhaps half a dozen times per decade, a smartly written literary novel that connects with the heart as well as the mind....Donna Tartt has delivered an extraordinary work of fiction."-- Stephen King, The New York Times Book Review Theo Decker, a 13-year-old New Yorker, miraculously survives an accident that kills his mother. Abandoned by his father, Theo is taken ...
  
  











  



  
Gilead: A Novel
Marilynne Robinson

Picador, 2006

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping , Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of ...
  
  











  



  
Pulitzer: A Life in Politics, Print, and Power
James McGrath Morris

Harper, 2010

In nineteenth-century industrial America, while Carnegie provided the steel, Rockefeller the oil, Morgan the money, and Vanderbilt the railroads, Pulitzer ushered in the modern mass media. James McGrath Morris chronicles the epic story of Joseph Pulitzer, a Jewish Hungarian immigrant who amassed great wealth and extraordinary power during his remarkable rise through American politics and journalism. Based on years of research and newly ...
  
  











  



  
The Swerve: How the World Became Modern
Stephen Greenblatt

W. W. Norton & Company, 2012

Winner of the 2012 Pulitzer Prize for Non-Fiction  Winner of the 2011 National Book Award for Non-Fiction One of the world's most celebrated scholars, Stephen Greenblatt has crafted both an innovative work of history and a thrilling story of discovery, in which one manuscript, plucked from a thousand years of neglect, changed the course of human thought and made possible the world as we know it. Nearly six hundred years ago, a short, ...
  
  











  



  
A Son of the Middle Border & A Daughter of the Middle Border: The Pulitzer Prize Winning Novel

Pearl Necklace Books, 2014

• Two of American writer Hamlin Garland’s best-selling books from the early 1900s are bound together in this Kindle book: A Son of the Middle Border (1917) and A Daughter of the Middle Border (1921) A Son of the Middle Border A classic American book and the coming-of-age of a farm boy on the prairie. This Hamlin Garland’s captivating autobiography, starting from his rural childhood to his studies in Boston. This is a brilliant and ...
  
  











  



  
The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo
Tom Reiss

Broadway Books, 2013

WINNER OF THE 2013 PULITZER PRIZE FOR BIOGRAPHY General Alex Dumas, is a man almost unknown today, yet his story is strikingly familiar — because his son, the novelist Alexandre Dumas, used his larger-than-life feats as inspiration for such classics as The Count of Monte Cristo and The Three Musketeers .      But, hidden behind General Dumas's swashbuckling adventures was an even more incredible secret: he was the son of a black ...
  
  











  



  
Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America
Gilbert King

Harper Perennial, 2013

* Winner of the 2013 Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction * Nominated for a 2013 Edgar Award  * Book of the Year (Non-fiction, 2012) The Boston Globe , Christian Science Monitor In 1949, Florida's orange industry was booming, and citrus barons got rich on the backs of cheap Jim Crow labor. To maintain order and profits, they turned to Willis V. McCall, a violent sheriff who ruled Lake County with murderous resolve. When a white ...
  
  











  



  
The Keepers of the House

Open Road Media, 2012

Grau’s Pulitzer Prize–winning classic, about the racial prejudice and long-buried secrets that threaten to destroy a distinguished Southern family   The Howland dynasty began after the War of 1812, when a young Tennessee solider fighting for Andrew Jackson settled in Alabama. Over the next century, the Howlands accumulated a fortune, fought for Secession, helped rebuild the South, and established themselves as one of the most ...
  
  











  



  
Alice Adams, 2012

This book was converted from its physical edition to the digital format by a community of volunteers. You may find it for free on the web. Purchase of the Kindle edition includes wireless delivery.
  
  











  



  
Paper Boy to Pulitzer

Nebbadoon Press, 2014

JOHN HUGHES is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and former editor of The Christian Science Monitor. His earning the Pulitzer and spending a lifetime dedicated to the journalism trade, with professional standards respected by all his peers, make this memoir a fascinating read and of interest to historians, journalists, journalism students, biography buffs, diplomats, and foreign policy experts. This book is an intimate narrative that ...
  
  











  



  
Drinks with Lilly Pulitzer

Candle Wax, 2012

A tasty collection of poems and two short-stories for kids and adults to drink and enjoy. Burp!
  
  











  



  
Beyond Belief: My Secret Life Inside Scientology and My Harrowing Escape

William Morrow, 2013

Jenna Miscavige Hill, niece of Church of Scientology leader David Miscavige, was raised as a Scientologist but left the controversial religion in 2005. In Beyond Belief , she shares her true story of life inside the upper ranks of the sect, details her experiences as a member Sea Org—the church's highest ministry, speaks of her "disconnection" from family outside of the organization, and tells the story of her ultimate escape. In this ...
  
  











  



  
The Snow Child: A Novel
Eowyn Ivey

Reagan Arthur / Back Bay Books, 2012

Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart--he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm; she crumbling from loneliness and despair. In a moment of levity during the season's first snowfall, they build a child out of snow. The next morning the snow child is gone--but they glimpse a young, blonde-haired girl running through the trees. This little ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
america, betrayal, biography, christie, classic, classics, collection, complete, cornhuskers, daughter, emperor, goldfinch, greatest, groveland, harrowing, harvard, keepers, maladies, marshall, outbreak, pioneers, politics, prize-winning, pulitzer, revolution, scientology, shakespeare, stories, thurgood, written




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


tools & hardware: Tornado 00515 J-Hook

home  impressum - about us