books about: shipwreck
 
 



Suche books:   






  
I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912
Lauren Tarshis

Scholastic Paperbacks, 2010

The most terrifying events in history are brought vividly to life in this new fictional series! In book 1, ten-year-old George is trapped on the Titanic -- how will he survive? Ten-year-old George Calder can't believe his luck -- he and his little sister, Phoebe, are on the famous Titanic, crossing the ocean with their Aunt Daisy. The ship is full of exciting places to explore, but when George ventures into the first class storage cabin, a ...
  
  











  



  
In the Kingdom of Ice: The Grand and Terrible Polar Voyage of the USS Jeannette
Hampton Sides

Doubleday, 2014

New York Times   bestselling author Hampton Sides returns with a white-knuckle tale of polar exploration and survival in the Gilded Age In the late nineteenth century, people were obsessed by one of the last unmapped areas of the globe: the North Pole. No one knew what existed beyond the fortress of ice rimming the northern oceans, although theories abounded. The foremost cartographer in the world, a German named August Petermann, believed ...
  
  











  



  
The Cay (Laurel-Leaf Books)
Theodore Taylor

Laurel Leaf, 2003

Read Theodore Taylor’s classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner The Cay .    Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he’s eager to glimpse it firsthand–until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed.    When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only ...
  
  











  



  
Island of Legends (The Unwanteds)
Lisa McMann

Aladdin, 2014

Uncover adventure and dangerous secrets in book four of the New York Times bestselling Unwanteds series, which Kirkus Reviews called “ The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter.” When hundreds of lights appear across the sea during Artimé’s first annual masquerade ball, the party is over. Artimé is under attack, and Alex, the magical world’s young mage, must prove he can handle his newfound leadership. Alex receives no help from ...
  
  











  



  
Trial by Fire (Stranded)
Jeff Probst, Chris Tebbetts

Puffin, 2013

Sequel to the New York Times bestseller STRANDED , seen  The Today Show , Rachael Ray, and Kelly and Michael. From the multi-Emmy Award winning host of Survivor and the New York Times bestselling co-author of Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life comes a fantastic new middle grade series! They thought it couldn't get any worse. They were wrong. Being shipwrecked on a jungle island in the middle of the ...
  
  











  



  
Survivors (Stranded)
Jeff Probst, Chris Tebbetts

Puffin, 2013

Sequel to the New York Times bestseller STRANDED and TRIAL BY FIRE! As seen on The Today Show, Rachael Ray, and Kelly and Michael. From the Emmy-Award winning host of Survivor , Jeff Probst with Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life co-author Chris Tebbetts comes a fantastic family adventure series! Eleven days down, and no end in sight. How long could YOU survive? It’s been days since Buzz, ...
  
  











  



  
The Circus Ship
Chris Van Dusen

Candlewick, 2009

With stunning artwork and a rhyming text, the illustrator of the Mercy Watson books tells a tale of human-animal connection full of humor and heart. When a circus ship runs aground off the coast of Maine, the poor animals are left on their own to swim the chilly waters. Staggering onto a nearby island, they soon win over the wary townspeople with their kind, courageous ways. So well do the critters blend in that when the greedy circus owner ...
  
  











  



  
Lord of the Flies
William Golding

Perigee Books, 1959

Before The Hunger Games there was Lord of the Flies Lord of the Flies remains as provocative today as when it was first published in 1954, igniting passionate debate with its startling, brutal portrait of human nature. Though critically acclaimed, it was largely ignored upon its initial publication. Yet soon it became a cult favorite among both students and literary critics who compared it to J.D. Salinger's The Catcher in the ...
  
  











  



  
Stranded
Jeff Probst, Chris Tebbetts

Puffin, 2013

A New York Times Bestseller! As seen on  The Today Show ,  Rachael Ray,  and  Kelly and Michael. From the Emmy-Award winning host of  Survivor , Jeff Probst, with  Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life  co-author, Chris Tebbetts, comes a brand new family adventure series! A family vacation becomes a game of survival! It was supposed to be a vacation--and a chance to get to know each other better. But when a massive storm ...
  
  











  



  
In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex
Nathaniel Philbrick

Penguin Books, 2001

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Chris Hemsworth, Cillian Murphy, Ben Wishaw, and Brendan Gleeson, and directed by Ron Howard. The ordeal of the whaleship Essex was an event as mythic in the nineteenth century as the sinking of the Titanic was in the twentieth. In 1819, the Essex left Nantucket for the South Pacific with twenty crew members aboard. In the middle of the South Pacific the ship was rammed and sunk by an angry sperm ...
  
  











  



  
National Geographic Readers: Titanic
Melissa Stewart

National Geographic Children's Books, 2012

Get kids reading with cool information about the subjects that interest them the most. National Geographic Readers are high-interest, exciting, and easy to read. The latest in the series, Titanic is no exception. Just in time for the 100th anniversary of the Olympic-class passenger liner's ill-fated journey, this title is replete with brilliant photographs and exclusive in-depth coverage including Bob Ballard's 1985 discovery. Brought to you ...
  
  











  



  
Thea Stilton Special Edition: The Journey to Atlantis: A Geronimo Stilton Adventure
Thea Stilton

Scholastic Paperbacks, 2012

An all-new hardcover adventure featuring Thea Stilton and the Thea Sisters! At the beach by Mouseford Academy, one of the Thea Sisters discovers a mysterious boy with blue skin washed up on the shore. He speaks an unfamiliar language, so the Thea Sisters call Thea Stilton to help figure out how to communicate with him. She sets the mouselings on an exciting journey across the world to hunt for clues about the boy's origins. Could he be prince ...
  
  











  



  
Island of the Lost: Shipwrecked at the Edge of the World
Joan Druett

Algonquin Books, 2007

Auckland Island is a godforsaken place in the middle of the Southern Ocean, 285 miles south of New Zealand. With year-round freezing rain and howling winds, it is one of the most forbidding places in the world. To be shipwrecked there means almost certain death. In 1864 Captain Thomas Musgrave and his crew of four aboard the schooner Grafton wreck on the southern end of the island. Utterly alone in a dense coastal forest, plagued by stinging ...
  
  











  



  
Island of Shipwrecks (The Unwanteds)
Lisa McMann

Aladdin, 2015

A risky decision endangers both Artimé and Quill in book five of the New York Times bestselling Unwanteds series, which Kirkus Reviews called “The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter.” Alex and his friends from Artimé are stranded on a newly discovered island after barely surviving a storm that destroys their ship. And it turns out they’re not alone… Back in Quill, Aaron’s power base grows as he aligns himself with an unlikely ...
  
  











  



  
The Black Stallion
Walter Farley

Random House, 1991

First published in 1941, Walter Farley's best-selling novel for young readers is the triumphant tale of a boy and a wild horse. From Alec Ramsay and the Black's first meeting on an ill-fated ship to their adventures on a desert island and their eventual rescue, this beloved story will hold the rapt attention of readers new and old.
  
  











  



  
The Tempest (Folger Shakespeare Library)
William Shakespeare

Simon & Schuster, 2004

Each edition includes: • Freshly edited text based on the best early printed version of the play • Full explanatory notes conveniently placed on pages facing the text of the play • Scene-by-scene plot summaries • A key to famous lines and phrases • An introduction to reading Shakespeare's language • An essay by an outstanding scholar providing a modern perspective on the play • Illustrations from the Folger ...
  
  











  



  
The Titanic: Lost and Found (Step-Into-Reading, Step 4)
Judy Donnelly

Random House Books for Young Readers, 1987

Titanic. Just the name evokes tales of the doomed ship that have captivated people of all ages for more than 100 years.  Early readers will enjoy this exciting account of the world's most famous disaster-at-sea and the discovery of it's remains many years later.  Step 4 books are perfect for independent readers who are confident with simple sentences and are just starting to tackle paragraphs. 
  
  











  



  
Forbidden Passage (STRANDED, SHADOW ISLAND)
Jeff Probst, Chris Tebbetts

Puffin, 2014

The New York Times bestselling STRANDED adventure continues in the first novel in a brand new story arc! As seen on The Today Show, Rachael Ray, and Kelly and Michael. From the Emmy-Award winning host of Survivor , Jeff Probst with Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life co-author Chris Tebbetts comes a brand new arc in the bestselling family adventure series! It happened to them once. It could never happen again, ...
  
  











  



  
The Tempest (No Fear Shakespeare)
William Shakespeare

SparkNotes, 2003

No Fear Shakespeare gives you the complete text of The Tempest on the left-hand page, side-by-side with an easy-to-understand translation on the right. Each No Fear Shakespeare contains The complete text of the original play A line-by-line translation that puts Shakespeare into everyday language A complete list of characters with descriptions Plenty of helpful commentary
  
  











  



  
Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries ...
Robert Kurson

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2005

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves. For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
adventure, americans, atlantis, edition, everything, forbidden, geographic, geronimo, jeannette, journey, laurel-leaf, library, mysteries, national, passage, readers, reading, shakespeare, shipwrecked, shipwrecks, special, stallion, step-into-reading, stranded, survived, survivors, tempest, terrible, unwanteds, whaleship




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


sporting goods: Nike NCAA Youth Replica Football Jersey

home  impressum - about us