books about: smuggler
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Star Wars: The Essential Atlas
Daniel Wallace, Jason Fry

LucasBooks, 2009

Navigate the Star Wars universe as you never have before–with this fully illustrated, full-color guide that maps the entire galaxy. You know the planets–from Alderaan and Corellia to Tatooine and Zonama Sekot–and the star systems, from the Deep Core to the Outer Rim. But now, for the first time, you can pinpoint their locations and chart the travels of your favorite characters through the vast reaches of space. St ar Wars: The Essential ...
  
  











  



  
Enrique's Journey
Sonia Nazario

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2007

An astonishing story that puts a human face on the ongoing debate about immigration reform in the United States, now updated with a new Epilogue and Afterword, photos of Enrique and his family, an author interview, and more—the definitive edition of a classic of contemporary America   Based on the Los Angeles Times newspaper series that won two Pulitzer Prizes, one for feature writing and another for feature photography, this ...
  
  











  



  
American Desperado: My Life--From Mafia Soldier to Cocaine Cowboy to Secret Government Asset
Jon Roberts, Evan Wright

Broadway Books, 2012

In 2008 veteran journalist Evan Wright, acclaimed for his New York Times bestselling book Generation Kill and co-writer of the Emmy-winning HBO series it spawned , began a series of conversations with super-criminal Jon Roberts, star of the fabulously successful documentary Cocaine Cowboys.  Those conversations would last three years, during which time Wright came to realize that Roberts was much more than the de-facto “transportation ...
  
  











  



  
The House on the Cliff (Hardy Boys)
Franklin W. Dixon

Grosset & Dunlap, 1959

Frank and Joe Hardy are investigating a mysterious old house high on the cliffs above Barmet Bay when they are frightened off by a scream. The boys return to the apparently haunted house when they make a connection between the place and a smuggling case their father is working on. When their father goes missing, they have to investigate the caves beneath the house and confront the smugglers.
  
  











  



  
Criminal Justice: A Brief Introduction (10th Edition)
Frank J. Schmalleger

Prentice Hall, 2013

The authoritative text in criminal justice.   The first and best-selling brief introduction to criminal justice text, Criminal Justice: A Brief Introduction , 10e offers instructors and students a trusted, authoritative, and impeccably researched introduction to police, courts, and corrections. Designed with a new visual approach, this edition integrates graphic art with the important concepts and ideas of criminal justice. Its unifying ...
  
  











  



  
God's Smuggler
Brother Andrew, John Sherrill, ...

Chosen Books, 2001

A true-life thriller that will leave you breathless! As a boy, Brother Andrew dreamed of being an undercover spy working behind enemy lines. As a man he found himself working undercover for God. His was a mission filled with danger, financed by faith, supported by miracles. Told it was impossible to minister behind the Iron Curtain, Andrew knew that nothing was too hard for God. Crossing "closed" borders, he prayed, "Lord, in my luggage I ...
  
  











  



  
Stormy Persuasion
Johanna Lindsey

Gallery Books, 2014

#1 New York Times bestselling author Johanna Lindsey returns to the dazzlingly passionate world of the Malorys, an aristocratic family of rakehell adventurers and spirited ladies, in a thrilling new tale of unbridled desires. James Malory sets sail for America to honor a promise he made to his in-laws: His and Georgina’s daughter, Jacqueline, will have her come-out in America. Judith and Jacqueline Malory are not simply cousins; they are ...
  
  











  



  
The Last Command (Star Wars: The Thrawn Trilogy, Vol. 3)
Timothy Zahn

Spectra, 1994

This story begins five years after the events of the "Star Wars" film "Return of the Jedi". Hopes are dim in the fragile New Republic as Grand Admiral Thrawn and his clone soldiers mount a final siege, threatening the Republic's ruin.
  
  











  



  
Thai Stick: Surfers, Scammers, and the Untold Story of the Marijuana Trade
Peter Maguire, Mike Ritter

Columbia University Press, 2013

Located on the left bank of the Chao Phya River, Thailand's capital, Krungthep, known as Bangkok to Westerners and "the City of Angels" to Thais, has been home to smugglers and adventurers since the late eighteenth century. During the 1970s, it became a modern Casablanca to a new generation of treasure seekers, from surfers looking to finance their endless summers to wide-eyed hippie true believers and lethal marauders left over from the Vietnam ...
  
  











  



  
Greenglass House
Kate Milford

Clarion Books, 2014

It’s wintertime at Greenglass House. The creaky smuggler’s inn is always quiet during this season, and twelve-year-old Milo, the innkeepers’ adopted son, plans to spend his holidays relaxing. But on the first icy night of vacation, out of nowhere, the guest bell rings. Then rings again. And again. Soon Milo’s home is bursting with odd, secretive guests, each one bearing a strange story that is somehow connected to the rambling old house. ...
  
  











  



  
The Last Pirate: A Father, His Son, and the Golden Age of Marijuana
Tony Dokoupil

Doubleday, 2014

In the tradition of Blow and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, The Last Pirate is a vivid, haunting and often hilarious memoir recounting the life of Big Tony, a family man who joined the biggest pot ring of the Reagan era and exploded his life in the process. Three decades later, his son came back to put together the pieces. As he relates his father’s rise from hey-man hippie dealer to multi-ton smuggler extraordinaire, Tony Dokoupil ...
  
  











  



  
Marching Powder: A True Story of Friendship, Cocaine, and South America's Strangest Jail
Thomas McFadden, Rusty Young

St. Martin's Griffin, 2004

Rusty Young was backpacking in South America when he heard about Thomas McFadden, a convicted English drug trafficker who ran tours inside Bolivia's notorious San Pedro prison. Intrigued, the young Australian journalisted went to La Paz and joined one of Thomas's illegal tours. They formed an instant friendship and then became partners in an attempt to record Thomas's experiences in the jail. Rusty bribed the guards to allow him to stay and for ...
  
  











  



  
What Happened at Midnight (Hardy Boys, Book 10)
Franklin W. Dixon

Grosset & Dunlap, 1931

Frank and Joe break up the Taffy Marr jewel smuggling ring.
  
  











  



  
The Politics of Heroin: CIA Complicity in the Global Drug Trade
Alfred W. McCoy

Chicago Review Press, 2003

The first book to prove CIA and U.S. government complicity in global drug trafficking, The Politics of Heroin includes meticulous documentation of dishonesty and dirty dealings at the highest levels from the Cold War until today. Maintaining a global perspective, this groundbreaking study details the mechanics of drug trafficking in Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and South and Central America. New chapters detail U.S. involvement in the ...
  
  











  



  
Escape (Island #3)
Gordon Korman

Scholastic, 2001

Things were bad enough when Luke, Lyssa, Will, J.J. Ian, and Charla were stuck alone on the island. But now they have company-really bad company. Plus, Will is seriously injured and needs help immediately. Before, escape was something the kids could only hope for. Now it's a matter of life and death.
  
  











  



  
Smuggler Nation: How Illicit Trade Made America
Peter Andreas

Oxford University Press, 2014

America is a smuggler nation. Our long history of illicit imports has ranged from West Indies molasses and Dutch gunpowder in the 18th century, to British industrial technologies and African slaves in the 19th century, to French condoms and Canadian booze in the early 20th century, to Mexican workers and Colombian cocaine in the modern era. Contraband capitalism, it turns out, has been an integral part of American capitalism. Providing a ...
  
  











  



  
Trafficking and Global Crime Control
Maggy Lee

SAGE Publications Ltd, 2010

This authoritative work examines key issues and debates on sex and labor trafficking, drawing on theoretical, empirical, and comparative material to inform the discussion of major trends and future directions. The text brings together key criminological and sociological literature on migration studies, gender, globalization, human rights, security, victimology, policing, and control to provide the most complete overview available on the subject.
  
  











  



  
Human Trafficking: A Global Perspective
Louise Shelley

Cambridge University Press, 2010

This book examines all forms of human trafficking globally, revealing the operations of the trafficking business and the nature of the traffickers themselves. Using a historical and comparative perspective, it demonstrates that there is more than one business model of human trafficking and that there are enormous variations in human trafficking in different regions of the world. Drawing on a wide body of academic research - actual prosecuted ...
  
  











  



  
Migra!: A History of the U.S. Border Patrol (American Crossroads)
Kelly Lytle Hernandez

University of California Press, 2010

This is the untold history of the United States Border Patrol from its beginnings in 1924 as a small peripheral outfit to its emergence as a large professional police force. To tell this story, Kelly Lytle Hernández dug through a gold mine of lost and unseen records stored in garages, closets, an abandoned factory, and in U.S. and Mexican archives. Focusing on the daily challenges of policing the borderlands and bringing to light unexpected ...
  
  











  



  
When I Wear My Alligator Boots: Narco-Culture in the U.S. Mexico Borderlands (California Series in Public ...
Shaylih Muehlmann

University of California Press, 2013

When I Wear My Alligator Boots examines how the lives of dispossessed men and women are affected by the rise of narcotrafficking along the U.S.-Mexico border. In particular, the book explores a crucial tension at the heart of the “war on drugs”: despite the violence and suffering brought on by drug cartels, for the rural poor in Mexico’s north, narcotrafficking offers one of the few paths to upward mobility and is a powerful source of ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
alligator, american, anthropology, borderlands, california, complicity, criminal, crossroads, desperado, essential, friendship, government, greenglass, happened, history, introduction, journey, marching, marijuana, midnight, narco-culture, perspective, persuasion, politics, scammers, smuggler, soldier, strangest, surfers, trafficking




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


The Pirates Who Don't Do Anything: A VeggieTales Movie

home  impressum - about us