books about: soldier
 
 



Suche books:   






  
With the Old Breed: At Peleliu and Okinawa
E. B. Sledge

Oxford University Press, 1990

In his own book, Wartime , Paul Fussell called With the Old Breed "one of the finest memoirs to emerge from any war." John Keegan referred to it in The Second World War as "one of the most arresting documents in war literature." And Studs Terkel was so fascinated with the story he interviewed its author for his book, "The Good War." What has made E.B. Sledge's memoir of his experience fighting in the South Pacific during World War II ...
  
  











  



  
Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him
Luis Carlos Montalván, Bret Witter

Hachette Books, 2012

A heartwarming dog story like no other: Tuesday, a lovable golden retriever, changes a former soldier's life forever. A highly decorated captain in the U.S. Army, Luis Montalvan never backed down from a challenge during his two tours of duty in Iraq. After returning home from combat, however, his physical wounds and crippling post-traumatic stress disorder began to take their toll. He wondered if he would ever recover. Then Luis met ...
  
  











  



  
House to House
David Bellavia, John Bruning

Blackstone Audio Inc., 2007

This is the personal side of battle, where emotion, courage, and strength are stretched to the limits. In one of the most compelling combat narratives ever written, Staff Sergeant David Bellavia, Army infantry platoon leader, gives a teeth-rattling, first-hand account of eleven straight days of heavy house-to-house fighting during the climactic second battle of Fallujah. His actions in the firefight, which included killing five ...
  
  











  



  
13 Hours: The Inside Account of What Really Happened In Benghazi
Mitchell Zuckoff with the Annex Security Team

Twelve, 2014

The harrowing, true account from the brave men on the ground who fought back during the Battle of Benghazi. 13 HOURS presents, for the first time ever, the true account of the events of September 11, 2012, when terrorists attacked the US State Department Special Mission Compound and a nearby CIA station called the Annex in Benghazi, Libya. A team of six American security operators fought to repel the attackers and protect the Americans ...
  
  











  



  
Blood Song (A Raven's Shadow Novel)
Anthony Ryan

Ace, 2014

“The Sixth Order wields the sword of justice and smites the enemies of the Faith and the Realm. "  Vaelin Al Sorna was only a child of ten when his father left him at the iron gate of the Sixth Order—a caste devoted to battle. Vaelin will be trained and hardened to the austere, celibate and dangerous life of a warrior of the Faith. He has no family now save the Order. Vaelin’s father was Battle Lord to King Janus, ruler of the ...
  
  











  



  
Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him
Luis Carlos Montalvan

Hachette Books, 2011

* Now a New York Times bestseller * A heartwarming true dog story like no other: Tuesday, a lovable golden retriever, transforms a former soldier's life forever  Excerpt : "Tuesday combines a golden retriever's innate playfulness and bouncy exuberance with a noble bearing and seriousness of purpose. But it is not his beautiful coat, or even his regal attitude, that attract the stares. Tuesday has an extraordinarily ...
  
  











  



  
Fearless: The Undaunted Courage and Ultimate Sacrifice of Navy SEAL Team SIX Operator Adam Brown
Eric Blehm

WaterBrook Press, 2012

Fearless takes you deep into SEAL Team SIX, straight to the heart of one of its most legendary operators.   When Navy SEAL Adam Brown woke up on March 17, 2010, he didn’t know he would die that night in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan—but he was ready: In a letter to his children, not meant to be seen unless the worst happened, he wrote, “I’m not afraid of anything that might happen to me on this earth, because I know no ...
  
  











  



  
Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption
Laura Hillenbrand

Random House, 2010

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE •  Hailed as the top nonfiction book of the year by Time magazine • Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for biography and the Indies Choice Adult Nonfiction Book of the Year award On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, ...
  
  











  



  
Refugees (The Remaining)
D.J. Molles

Orbit, 2014

He has fought the fight, and run the race. But the enemies never stop coming, and the race has no finish line. It has been three months since Captain Lee Harden found the survivors at Camp Ryder. With winter looming, Lee is on the verge of establishing Camp Ryder as a hub of safety and stability in the region. But not everyone agrees with Lee's mission...or his methods. Growing tensions between camp leadership are coming to a head, and as ...
  
  











  



  
Champion: A Legend Novel
Marie Lu

Putnam Juvenile, 2013

The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Time s bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT! He is a Legend. She is a Prodigy. Who will be Champion?     June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite ...
  
  











  



  
Born of Fury (A League Novel)
Sherrilyn Kenyon

St. Martin's Press, 2014

The war is on… Counted among the fiercest Andarion warriors ever born, Hauk is one of the five founding members of the Sentella: an organization that has declared war on the League. They rule the Ichidian universe with an iron fist and terrify it with an army of well-trained assassins. Hauk’s enemies are legion, but he fears nothing and no one. He will do whatever it takes to survive and protect his Sentella brethren. Sumi Antaxas is one of ...
  
  











  



  
Miss Suzy
Miriam Young

Purple House Press, 2004

Miss Suzy is a little gray squirrel who lives happily in her oak-tree home until she is chased away by some mean red squirrels. Poor Miss Suzy is very sad. But soon she finds a beautiful dollhouse and meets a band of brave toy soldiers. How Miss Suzy and the soldiers help each other makes a gentle, old-fashioned tale that has captured the imaginations of girls and boys alike for forty years. Arnold Lobel's enchanting pictures are sure to make ...
  
  











  



  
Fire by Night

Recorded Books, 2005

Two-time Christy Award winner Lynn Austin is hailed for her inspiring historical novels. As in Candle in the Darkness Austin transports us back to the turbulence of the Civil War. Julia, a wealthy Philadelphia socialite is forced to overcome great obstacles and look for deeper meaning in her life when her intended describes her as shallow. Despite social restrictions on single women, she pursues a vocation as a battlefield nurse. Julia finds a ...
  
  











  



  
God's Smuggler: Library Edition
Brother Andrew

Blackstone Audiobooks, 2000

As a boy he dreamed of being a spy undercover behind enemy lines. As a man he found himself undercover for God. Brother Andrew was his name and for decades his life story, recounted in God's Smuggler, has awed and inspired millions. The bestseller tells of the young Dutch factory worker's incredible efforts to transport Bibles across closed borders--and the miraculous ways in which God provided for him every step of the way. Revell and Chosen ...
  
  











  



  
Full of Heart: My Story of Survival, Strength, and Spirit
J.R. Martinez

Hyperion, 2012

An inspirational journey from tragedy to triumph In 2003, nineteen-year-old Private J.R. Martinez was on a routine patrol when the Humvee he was driving hit an antitank mine in Iraq, resulting in severe injuries and burns on his face and more than one-third of his body. Out of that tragedy came an improbable journey of inspiration, motivation, and dreams come true. In Full of Heart , Martinez shares his story in intimate detail, from his ...
  
  











  



  
Lions of Kandahar: The Story of a Fight Against All Odds
Rusty Bradley, Kevin Maurer

Bantam, 2011

One of the most critical battles of the Afghan War is now revealed as never before. Lions of Kandahar is an inside account from the unique perspective of an active-duty U.S. Army Special Forces commander, an unparalled warrior with multiple deployments to the theater who has only recently returned from combat there. Southern Afghanistan was slipping away. That was clear to then-Captain Rusty Bradley as he began his third tour of duty there in ...
  
  











  



  
The Boy Who Said No: An Escape To Freedom
Patti Sheehy

Brilliance Audio, 2013

Love, Loss, and Courage As a boy, Frank Mederos’s grandfather teaches him to fish, to navigate the seas, and to think for himself, much needed skills under the new Castro regime. When Frank is drafted into the army, he is soon promoted to the Special Forces, where he is privy to top military secrets. But young Frank has no sympathy for Fidel. He thirsts for freedom and longs to join his girlfriend who has left Cuba for America. Frank yearns ...
  
  











  



  
Love is a Wounded Soldier

Backroad Books, 2012

Despite growing up with an abusive, alcoholic father, and having to cope with the untimely death of his mother, Robert Mattox has retained his innocence and idealism. He woos and marries his first love, Ellen, and it appears his life is set for a happily-ever-after ending. But World War II is raging, and its vortex snatches him away from his young bride. He finds himself fighting in Europe, witnessing and participating in the unspeakable ...
  
  











  



  
Tuesday Tucks Me In: The Loyal Bond between a Soldier and His Service Dog
Luis Carlos Montalván, Bret Witter

Roaring Brook Press, 2014

As narrated by Tuesday,  Tuesday Tucks Me In  is a day in the life of this service dog extraordinaire and tail-wagging ambassador for all things positive and uplifting in the world. The book takes us through a typical day of adventures, starting with Tuesday waking Luis in the morning and greeting him with dog breath in the face, and then ending with Tuesday cuddling up to Luis on their bed, the last moment they spend together before ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
account, benghazi, between, champion, courage, edition, fearless, freedom, happened, kandahar, library, okinawa, operator, peleliu, redemption, refugees, remaining, resilience, retriever, sacrifice, smuggler, soldier, strength, survival, tuesday, ultimate, unbroken, undaunted, warrior, wounded




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


SCN45-I-CAP Black on White, Wire Marker Clip Sleeves (50 Clips)

home  impressum - about us