books about: soldier
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Blood Song (A Raven's Shadow Novel)
Anthony Ryan

Ace, 2014

“The Sixth Order wields the sword of justice and smites the enemies of the Faith and the Realm. "  Vaelin Al Sorna was only a child of ten when his father left him at the iron gate of the Sixth Order—a caste devoted to battle. Vaelin will be trained and hardened to the austere, celibate and dangerous life of a warrior of the Faith. He has no family now save the Order. Vaelin’s father was Battle Lord to King Janus, ruler of the ...
  
  











  



  
Lions of Kandahar: The Story of a Fight Against All Odds
Rusty Bradley, Kevin Maurer

Bantam, 2011

One of the most critical battles of the Afghan War is now revealed as never before. Lions of Kandahar is an inside account from the unique perspective of an active-duty U.S. Army Special Forces commander, an unparalled warrior with multiple deployments to the theater who has only recently returned from combat there. Southern Afghanistan was slipping away. That was clear to then-Captain Rusty Bradley as he began his third tour of duty there in ...
  
  











  



  
Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him
Luis Carlos Montalván, Bret Witter

Hachette Books, 2012

A heartwarming dog story like no other: Tuesday, a lovable golden retriever, changes a former soldier's life forever. A highly decorated captain in the U.S. Army, Luis Montalvan never backed down from a challenge during his two tours of duty in Iraq. After returning home from combat, however, his physical wounds and crippling post-traumatic stress disorder began to take their toll. He wondered if he would ever recover. Then Luis met ...
  
  











  



  
Love is a Wounded Soldier

Backroad Books, 2012

Despite growing up with an abusive, alcoholic father, and having to cope with the untimely death of his mother, Robert Mattox has retained his innocence and idealism. He woos and marries his first love, Ellen, and it appears his life is set for a happily-ever-after ending. But World War II is raging, and its vortex snatches him away from his young bride. He finds himself fighting in Europe, witnessing and participating in the unspeakable ...
  
  











  



  
House to House
David Bellavia, John Bruning

Blackstone Audio Inc., 2007

This is the personal side of battle, where emotion, courage, and strength are stretched to the limits. In one of the most compelling combat narratives ever written, Staff Sergeant David Bellavia, Army infantry platoon leader, gives a teeth-rattling, first-hand account of eleven straight days of heavy house-to-house fighting during the climactic second battle of Fallujah. His actions in the firefight, which included killing five ...
  
  











  



  
Fearless: The Undaunted Courage and Ultimate Sacrifice of Navy SEAL Team SIX Operator Adam Brown
Eric Blehm

WaterBrook Press, 2012

Fearless takes you deep into SEAL Team SIX, straight to the heart of one of its most legendary operators.   When Navy SEAL Adam Brown woke up on March 17, 2010, he didn’t know he would die that night in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan—but he was ready: In a letter to his children, not meant to be seen unless the worst happened, he wrote, “I’m not afraid of anything that might happen to me on this earth, because I know no ...
  
  











  



  
Champion: A Legend Novel
Marie Lu

Putnam Juvenile, 2013

The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Time s bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT! He is a Legend. She is a Prodigy. Who will be Champion?     June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite ...
  
  











  



  
With the Old Breed: At Peleliu and Okinawa
E. B. Sledge

Presidio Press, 2007

“Eugene Sledge became more than a legend with his memoir, With The Old Breed . He became a chronicler, a historian, a storyteller who turns the extremes of the war in the Pacific—the terror, the camaraderie, the banal and the extraordinary—into terms we mortals can grasp.”—Tom Hanks NEW YORK TIMES  BESTSELLER In The Wall Street Journal , Victor Davis Hanson named With the Old Breed one of the top five books on epic ...
  
  











  



  
Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption
Laura Hillenbrand

Random House, 2010

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE •  Hailed as the top nonfiction book of the year by Time magazine • Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for biography and the Indies Choice Adult Nonfiction Book of the Year award On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, ...
  
  











  



  
Refugees (The Remaining)
D.J. Molles

Brilliance Audio, 2013

He has fought the fight, and run the race. But the enemies never stop coming, and the race has no finish line. It has been three months since Captain Lee Harden found the survivors at Camp Ryder. With winter looming, Lee is on the verge of establishing Camp Ryder as a hub of safety and stability in the region. But not everyone agrees with Lee’s mission…or his methods. Growing tensions between camp leadership are coming to a head, and as Lee ...
  
  











  



  
Miss Suzy
Miriam Young

Purple House Press, 2004

Miss Suzy is a little gray squirrel who lives happily in her oak-tree home until she is chased away by some mean red squirrels. Poor Miss Suzy is very sad. But soon she finds a beautiful dollhouse and meets a band of brave toy soldiers. How Miss Suzy and the soldiers help each other makes a gentle, old-fashioned tale that has captured the imaginations of girls and boys alike for forty years. Arnold Lobel's enchanting pictures are sure to make ...
  
  











  



  
Full of Heart: My Story of Survival, Strength, and Spirit
J.R. Martinez

Hyperion, 2012

An inspirational journey from tragedy to triumph In 2003, nineteen-year-old Private J.R. Martinez was on a routine patrol when the Humvee he was driving hit an antitank mine in Iraq, resulting in severe injuries and burns on his face and more than one-third of his body. Out of that tragedy came an improbable journey of inspiration, motivation, and dreams come true. In Full of Heart , Martinez shares his story in intimate detail, from his ...
  
  











  



  
Chasing Ghosts : A Soldier's Fight for America from Baghdad to Washington
Paul Rieckhoff

New Amer Library, 2006
  
  











  



  
The Longest Day: June 6, 1944
Cornelius Ryan

Simon & Schuster, 1994

This classic bestseller--back in print to coincide with the 50th anniversary of D-Day--offers a brilliant, authentic, gripping account of the hours that preceded and followed the Allied invasion of Normandy.
  
  











  



  
Fire by Night

Recorded Books, 2005

Two-time Christy Award winner Lynn Austin is hailed for her inspiring historical novels. As in Candle in the Darkness Austin transports us back to the turbulence of the Civil War. Julia, a wealthy Philadelphia socialite is forced to overcome great obstacles and look for deeper meaning in her life when her intended describes her as shallow. Despite social restrictions on single women, she pursues a vocation as a battlefield nurse. Julia finds a ...
  
  











  



  
God's Smuggler: Library Edition
Brother Andrew

Blackstone Audiobooks, 2000

As a boy he dreamed of being a spy undercover behind enemy lines. As a man he found himself undercover for God. Brother Andrew was his name and for decades his life story, recounted in God's Smuggler, has awed and inspired millions. The bestseller tells of the young Dutch factory worker's incredible efforts to transport Bibles across closed borders--and the miraculous ways in which God provided for him every step of the way. Revell and Chosen ...
  
  











  



  
In The Company Of Heroes
Michael J. Durant, Steven Hartov

Signet, 2006

Piloting a U.S. Army Special Operations Blackhawk over Somalia, Michael Durant was shot down with a rocket-propelled grenade on October 3, 1993. With devastating injuries, he was taken prisoner by a Somali warlord. With revealing insight and emotion, he tells the story of what he saw, how he survived, and the courage and heroism that only soldiers under fire could ever know.
  
  











  



  
The Throne 2

SBR Publications, 2012

**The national best-selling author Cole Hart is back with The Throne 2 and the stakes have never been higher.** Amil Walker, the daughter of the late Timothy Timbo Walker and Falisa Walker; is eager to know some of the family secrets that have been kept from her over the years. And she's stopping at nothing to get her turn on The Throne. However, her mother is still in charge. Running the family drug empire from prison and getting a few ...
  
  











  



  
The Boy Who Said No

Oceanview Publishing, 2013

As a boy Frank Mederos' grandfather teaches him to fish, to navigate the seas, and to think for himself, much needed skills under the new Castro regime.
  
  











  








   



search for books
baghdad, champion, chasing, company, courage, edition, fearless, kandahar, library, longest, okinawa, operator, peleliu, redemption, refugees, remaining, resilience, retriever, sacrifice, smuggler, soldier, strength, survival, tuesday, ultimate, unbroken, undaunted, warrior, washington, wounded




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


beauty: Matrix Vavoom Design Pulse, Loosely Defined Texture Cream, 5 Ounce

home  impressum - about us