books about: vietnamese
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Miracle of Mindfulness: An Introduction to the Practice of Meditation
Thich Nhat Hanh

Beacon Press, 1999

In this beautiful and lucid guide, Zen master Thich Nhat Hanh offers gentle anecdotes and practical exercise as a means of learning the skills of mindfulness--being awake and fully aware. From washing the dishes to answering the phone to peeling an orange, he reminds us that each moment holds within it an opportunity to work toward greater self-understanding and peacefulness.
  
  











  



  
Defiant: The POWs Who Endured Vietnam's Most Infamous Prison, the Women Who Fought for Them, and the One Who ...
Alvin Townley

Thomas Dunne Books, 2014

During the Vietnam War, hundreds of American prisoners-of-war faced years of brutal conditions and horrific torture at the hands of North Vietnamese guards and interrogators who ruthlessly plied them for military intelligence and propaganda. Determined to maintain their Code of Conduct, the POWs developed a powerful underground resistance. To quash it, their captors singled out its eleven leaders, Vietnam’s own “dirty dozen,” and banished ...
  
  











  



  
Kill and Tell: A Novel

Atria Books, 2011

Family secrets and murder converge in this captivating and suspenseful romance from New York Times bestselling author Linda Howard. Some secrets need to be told... Still reeling from her mother's recent death, Karen Whitlaw is stunned when she receives a package containing a mysterious notebook from her estranged father, whom she has barely seen since his return from the Vietnam War decades ago. Then, a shocking phone call: Karen's father ...
  
  











  



  
Inside Out and Back Again
Thanhha Lai

HarperCollins, 2013

Inside Out and Back Again is a New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award! Inspired by the author's childhood experience of fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabama, this coming-of-age debut novel told in verse has been celebrated for its touching child's-eye view of family and immigration. Hà has only ever known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its ...
  
  











  



  
Pok Pok: Food and Stories from the Streets, Homes, and Roadside Restaurants of Thailand
Andy Ricker, JJ Goode

Ten Speed Press, 2013

A guide to bold, authentic Thai cooking from Andy Ricker, the chef and owner of the wildly popular and widely lauded Pok Pok restaurants. After decades spent traveling throughout Thailand, Andy Ricker wanted to bring the country’s famed food stateside. In 2005 he opened Pok Pok, so named for the sound a wooden pestle makes when it strikes a clay mortar, in an old shack in a residential neighborhood of Portland, Oregon. Ricker has since gone ...
  
  











  



  
Si-cology 1: Tales and Wisdom from Duck Dynasty's Favorite Uncle
Si Robertson

Howard Books, 2013

As you read this book, there are a few things you have to understand: 95 percent of my stories are truthful. Every member of the Robertson family has the God- given gift of storytelling. Hey, when you’ve sat in a duck blind for more than half of your life, you have to figure out some way to pass the time! It’s better than looking at Willie and Jase for six hours! Many of the stories I like to tell happened when I was a young boy or when I ...
  
  











  



  
Another Man's Moccasins: A Walt Longmire Mystery (Walt Longmire Mysteries)

Penguin Books, 2008

A murder victim might connect to Walt’s past in this enthralling novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and As the Crow Flies , the fourth in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE , the hit A&E original drama series   Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love the fourth mystery in New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson's award-winning Walt Longmire ...
  
  











  



  
The Sriracha Cookbook: 36 Sriracha Hot Sauce Recipes, 2014

One of the most popular condiments in the world right now is Sriracha, which is a red, hot sauce known for its spicy deliciousness. In fact, Sriracha sauce has become nearly as popular as other western condiments, such as mustard, ketchup and mayonnaise. Since the creation of the Sriracha hot sauce, it has been used in many foods, from gourmet popcorn, to spicy ice cream flavors and even various drinks. Do you love adding Sriracha to your ...
  
  











  



  
Peace Is Every Step: The Path of Mindfulness in Everyday Life
Thich Nhat Hanh

Bantam, 1992

In the rush of modern life, we tend to lose touch with the peace that is available in each moment. World-renowned Zen master, spiritual leader, and author Thich Nhat Hanh shows us how to make positive use of the very situations that usually pressure and antagonize us. For him a ringing telephone can be a signal to call us back to our true selves. Dirty dishes, red lights, and traffic jams are spiritual friends on the path to "mindfulness"—the ...
  
  











  



  
Asia's Cauldron: The South China Sea and the End of a Stable Pacific
Robert D. Kaplan

Random House, 2014

From Robert D. Kaplan, named one of the world’s Top 100 Global Thinkers by Foreign Policy magazine, comes a penetrating look at the volatile region that will dominate the future of geopolitical conflict.   Over the last decade, the center of world power has been quietly shifting from Europe to Asia. With oil reserves of several billion barrels, an estimated nine hundred trillion cubic feet of natural gas, and several centuries’ worth ...
  
  











  



  
The Complete Book of Baby Names: The Most Names (100,001+), Most Unique Names, Most Idea-Generating Lists ...
Lesley Bolton

Sourcebooks, 2013

The #1 Baby Names Book! The Most Names, Most Lists, Most Help to Find the Best Name! Every year, hundreds of thousands of expectant parents turn to The Complete Book of Baby Names as their essential, indispensable guide to choosing the best name for their child. Helpful and full of creative inspiration, this #1 bestseller gives you all the best ways to find your favorites and decide on the perfect fit. More than 600 fun lists to ...
  
  











  



  
The Story of the World: History for the Classical Child, Volume 4: The Modern Age: From Victoria's Empire to ...
Susan Wise Bauer

Peace Hill Press, 2005

This fourth book in the four-volume narrative history series for elementary students will transform your study of history. The Story of the World has won awards from numerous homeschooling magazines and readers' polls—over 150,000 copies of the series in print! Where was the Crystal Palace? Who was the Sick Man of Europe? And how did cow fat start a revolution? Now more than ever, other countries and customs affect our everyday ...
  
  











  



  
Dead Center: A Marine Sniper's Two-Year Odyssey in the Vietnam War

Ballantine Books, 2012

WHEN YOU'RE IN THE DEATH BUSINESS, EACH DAWN COULD BE YOUR LAST. Raw, straightforward, and powerful, Ed Kugler's account of his two years as a Marine scout-sniper in Vietnam vividly captures his experiences there--the good, the bad, and the ugly. After enlisting in the Marines at seventeen, then being wounded in Santo Domingo during the Dominican crisis, Kugler arrived in Vietnam in early 1966. As a new sniper with the 4th Marines, Kugler ...
  
  











  



  
50 Kick Ass Spring and Egg Roll Recipes, 2014

Are you looking for new recipes for spring and egg rolls, which tantalize your taste buds and leave you wanting more? Do you love the texture of the spring rolls; crunchy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside? Are you one of those people who just love to make spring and egg rolls at home, because they taste so much better when you make them yourself? Nowadays, there are many places where you can find spring rolls. But spring/ egg rolls ...
  
  











  



  
Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America's Vietnam
Fredrik Logevall

Random House Trade Paperbacks, 2014

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE   Written with the style of a great novelist and the intrigue of a Cold War thriller, Embers of War is a landmark work that will forever change your understanding of how and why America went to war in Vietnam. Tapping newly accessible diplomatic archives in several nations, Fredrik Logevall traces the path that led two Western nations to tragically lose their way in the jungles of Southeast Asia. He brings to ...
  
  











  



  
Up Country

Grand Central Publishing, 2002

Now in trade paperback for the first time, this sensational novel by #1 New York Times bestseller Nelson DeMille features the return of Army investigator Paul Brenner from Nelson DeMille's previous New York Times bestseller, The General's Daughter.
  
  











  



  
Marine Sniper: 93 Confirmed Killes

Berkley, 2001

Tells the exciting true story of Sergeant Carlos Hathcock, a legendary Marine sniper in the Vietnam War.
  
  











  



  
Top 50 Most Delicious Spring Roll Recipes (Egg rolls - Egg roll recipes) (Recipe Top 50's), 2013

This top 50 of amazing spring roll recipes is based on an internet poll. Try them all and taste their deliciousness. These spring rolls are so good, you will surely be overwhelmed by their amazing taste. Easy to follow steps so anyone can make and enjoy them! Each of the recipes have easy to follow steps allowing anyone to make them in no time at all. Tried, Tested and SO GOOD! These recipes have all been tried out by us and we LOVE ...
  
  











  



  
Oxford Picture Dictionary English-Spanish: Bilingual Dictionary for Spanish speaking teenage and adult ...
Jayme Adelson-Goldstein, Norma Shapiro

Oxford University Press, USA, 2008

Content is organized within 12 thematic units , including Everyday Language, People, Housing, Food and Recreation. Each unit starts with an Intro page (new to this edition) and ends with a story page, with single or double-page sub-topics introducing new words in a realistic visual context and easy-to-learn "chunks." The t arget new vocabulary is listed and simple practice activities help students put their new words into practice. ...
  
  











  



  
A Rumor of War
Philip Caputo

Holt Paperbacks, 1996

The classic Vietnam memoir, as relevant today as it was almost thirty years ago. In March of 1965, Marine Lieutenent Philip J. Caputo landed at Da Nang with the first ground combat unit deployed to Vietnam. Sixteen months later, having served on the line in one of modern history's ugliest wars, he returned home--physically whole but emotionally wasted, his youthful idealism forever gone. A Rumor of War is more than one soldier's story. Upon ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
bilingual, cauldron, classical, complete, confirmed, cookbook, delicious, dictionary, english-spanish, everyday, favorite, generating, idea-generating, introduction, longmire, meditation, mindfulness, moccasins, mysteries, practice, restaurants, returned, roadside, si-cology, speaking, sriracha, students, thailand, two-year, victoria




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: Ecocultures: Blueprints for Sustainable Communities

home  impressum - about us