books about: wandering
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Wanderings of Odysseus: The Story of the Odyssey
Rosemary Sutcliff

Laurel Leaf, 2005

A master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator evoke the golden age of mythical Greece in this spirited retelling of The Odyssey. From the Hardcover edition.
  
  











  



  
You Majored in What?: Mapping Your Path from Chaos to Career
Katharine Brooks

Plume, 2010

Read Katharine Brooks's posts on the Penguin Blog. As revolutionary as What Color Is Your Parachute? , this career guide for a new generation of job- seekers, from one of America's top college career counselors With the job market in flux, young people face The Question : what are you going to do with that major? In this indispensable guide, Dr. Katharine Brooks provides a road map for twenty-somethings, replacing obsolete ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering on the Way: Early Taoist Tales and Parables of Chuang Tzu
Chuang Tzu

Univ of Hawaii Pr, 1998

A contemporary translation remaining faithful to the original collection of tales, poems and parables of Taoist philosophy. The collection covers a wide range of issues, from ambition to politics, and is accompanied by an introduction on the author and his place in Chinese thought and history.
  
  











  



  
Encyclopedia Of Classic Quilt Patterns
Oxmoor House Editors

Leisure Arts, 2001

A complete A-Z resource for the quilter - over 100 traditional favourite quilts to make with step-by-step instructions with updated, labour-saving techniques. Beautifully illustrated throughout with projects ranging from Amethyst to Whig Rose, from Evening Star to Flying Geese, and many traditional influences from Amish to Irish. * Patchwork and quilting is a craft as old as history, but it found its apogee amongst the settlers in the New World, ...
  
  











  



  
African Game Trails: An Account of the African Wanderings of an American Hunter-Naturalist (Peter Capstick's ...
Theodore Roosevelt

St. Martin's Press, 1988

The twenty-sixth president of the United States was also a world-renowned hunter, conservationist, soldier, and scholar. In 1908 he took a long safari holiday in East Africa with his son Kermit. His account of this adventure is as remarkably fresh today as it was when these adventures on the veldt were first published. Roosevelt describes the excitement of the chase, the people he met (including such famous hunters as Cunninghame and Selous), ...
  
  











  



  
The Last Night of the Earth Poems
Charles Bukowski

Ecco, 2002

Poems deal with writing, death and immortality, literature, city life, illness, war, and the past.
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Falcon
Jamil Ahmad

Riverhead Trade, 2012

For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a remarkable, award-winning book about the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan. In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy descended from both chiefs and outlaws who becomes the Wandering Falcon, moves between the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan and their uncertain worlds full of brutality, humanity, deep love, honor, poverty, and grace. The wild area he travels ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering: Philosophical Performances of Racial and Sexual Freedom
Sarah Jane Cervenak

Duke University Press Books, 2014

Combining black feminist theory, philosophy, and performance studies, Sarah Jane Cervenak ruminates on the significance of physical and mental roaming for black freedom. She is particularly interested in the power of wandering or daydreaming for those whose mobility has been under severe constraint, from the slave era to the present. Since the Enlightenment, wandering has been considered dangerous and even criminal when associated with people of ...
  
  











  



  
A Deadly Wandering: A Tale of Tragedy and Redemption in the Age of Attention
Matt Richtel

William Morrow, 2014

From Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist Matt Richtel, a brilliant, narrative-driven exploration of technology’s vast influence on the human mind and society, dramatically-told through the lens of a tragic “texting-while-driving” car crash that claimed the lives of two rocket scientists in 2006. In this ambitious, compelling, and beautifully written book, Matt Richtel, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for the New York Times , examines ...
  
  











  



  
The Secret Teachings of All Ages (Reader's Edition)
Manly P. Hall

Tarcher, 2003

A classic since 1928, this masterly encyclopedia of ancient mythology, ritual, symbolism, and the arcane mysteries of the ages is available for the first time in a compact "reader's edition." Like no other book of the twentieth century, Manly P. Hall's legendary The Secret Teachings of All Ages is a codex to the ancient occult and esoteric traditions of the world. Students of hidden wisdom, ancient symbols, and arcane practices treasure ...
  
  











  



  
I Am Phoenix: Poems for Two Voices
Paul Fleischman

HarperCollins, 1989

At first light the finches are flitting about the trees Flittering fluttering flit purple finches flit Fluttering flittering fly painted finches fly. In this companion volume to Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices , the winner of the 1989 Newbery Medal, Paul Fleischman celebrates the sound, the sense, the essence of birds. Written to be spoken aloud by two voices, sometimes alternating, sometimes simultaneous, these poems perfectly capture the ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering Joy: Meister Eckhart's Mystical Philosophy
Meister Eckhart

Lindisfarne Books, 2001

In this remarkable work, Reiner Schürmann shows Meister Eckhart, the thirteenth-century Christian mystic, as the great teacher of the birth of God in the soul, which shatters the dualism between God and the world, the self and God. This is an exposition of Eckhar's mysticism-perhaps the best in English-and, because Eckhart is a profound philosopher for whom knowing precedes being, it is also an exemplary work of contemporary philosophy. ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Fire: Book Two of the Fionavar Tapestry
Guy Gavriel Kay

Roc Trade, 2001

The Wandering Fire is the second novel of Guy Gavriel Kay’s critically acclaimed fantasy trilogy, The Fionavar Tapestry . A mage’s power has brought five university students from our world into a realm where an ancient evil has freed itself from captivity to wreak revenge on its enemies… The ice of eternal winter has reached out to enshroud Fionavar, the first of all worlds. For the Unraveller has broken free after millennia ...
  
  











  



  
When Faith Feels Fragile: Help for the Wary, Weak, and Wandering
R. Scott Hurd

Pauline Books & Media, 2013

Feed your faith with this motivational book serving up a hearty spiritual feast of inspiring anecdotes, amusing reflections, and helpful advice. At some point in our lives, no matter who we are-laity, clergy, consecrated men/women-we question, doubt, or struggle with our faith commitment. Even individuals who have been canonized or beatified have had this experience. Maybe the faith you acquired during childhood no longer resonates with ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering in Darkness: Narrative and the Problem of Suffering
Eleonore Stump

Oxford University Press, 2012

Only the most naive or tendentious among us would deny the extent and intensity of suffering in the world. Can one hold, consistently with the common view of suffering in the world, that there is an omniscient, omnipotent, perfectly good God? This book argues that one can. Wandering in Darkness first presents the moral psychology and value theory within which one typical traditional theodicy, namely, that of Thomas Aquinas, is embedded. It ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering Son: Volume Seven (Vol. 7) (Wandering Son)
Shimura Takako

Fantagraphics, 2014

In this sensitive manga series about transgendered preteens, the boy who wants to be a girl deals with acne, and is scouted for the school’s theater club along with Chiba-san. Shimura Takako’s groundbreaking, critically acclaimed, and beloved Wandering Son continues to explore gender identity among its cast of middle school students in our 7th volume. Nitori-kun gets his first signs of acne. This may well be the end of the world. But ...
  
  











  



  
Education of a Wandering Man
Louis L'Amour

Bantam, 1990

From his decision to leave school at fifteen to roam the world, to his recollections of life as a hobo on the Southern Pacific Railroad, as a cattle skinner in Texas, as a merchant seaman in Singapore and the West Indies, and as an itinerant bare-knuckled prizefighter across small-town America, here is Louis L'Amour's memoir of his lifelong love affair with learning--from books, from yondering, and from some remarkable men and women--that shaped ...
  
  











  



  
Dear Wandering Wildebeest: And Other Poems from the Water Hole
Irene Latham

Millbrook Press, 2014

Welcome wildebeest / and beetle, / Oxpecker and lion. / This water hole is yours. / It offers you oasis / beside its shrinking shores. Spend a day at a water hole on the African grasslands. From dawn to nightfall, animals come and go. Giraffes gulp, wildebeest graze, impalas leap, vultures squabble, and elephants wallow. Irene Latham's gorgeous poems are accompanied by additional facts that provide further details about the animals and their ...
  
  











  



  
Different: Reimagining holiness for a wandering church in a watching world.
Brian Sanders, Mike Patz

Underground Media, 2014

Different makes a compelling argument that passionate love for God and the world he came to save will produce disciples who stand with, but not as, the lost world. We can walk alongside people and still stand out from them. Disciples cannot call other disciples to repentance and change if they are not themselves changed and changing. Churches cannot serve their divine purpose to call cities and systems to redemption and change if they are not ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Who
Gilad Atzmon

Zero Books, 2011

An investigation of Jewish identity politics and Jewish contemporary ideology using both popular culture and scholarly texts. Jewish identity is tied up with some of the most difficult and contentious issues of today. The purpose in this book is to open many of these issues up for discussion. Since Israel defines itself openly as the ‘Jewish State’, we should ask what the notions of ’Judaism’, ‘Jewishness’, ‘Jewish culture’ and ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
american, attention, capstick, darkness, different, edition, education, encyclopedia, fionavar, holiness, hunter-naturalist, majored, mystical, narrative, naturalist, odysseus, parables, patterns, performances, philosophical, philosophy, redemption, reimagining, suffering, tapestry, teachings, wandering, wanderings, watching, wildebeest




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: By Wolff OTTO - Alles Klar? : Integrated Approach to German Language and ...

home  impressum - about us