books about: wandering
 
 



Suche books:   






  
The Wandering Falcon
Jamil Ahmad

Riverhead Trade, 2012

For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a remarkable, award-winning book about the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan. In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy descended from both chiefs and outlaws who becomes the Wandering Falcon, moves between the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan and their uncertain worlds full of brutality, humanity, deep love, honor, poverty, and grace. The wild area he travels ...
  
  











  



  
The Wanderings of Odysseus: The Story of the Odyssey
Rosemary Sutcliff

Laurel Leaf, 2005

A master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator evoke the golden age of mythical Greece in this spirited retelling of The Odyssey. From the Hardcover edition.
  
  











  



  
A Deadly Wandering: A Tale of Tragedy and Redemption in the Age of Attention
Matt Richtel

William Morrow, 2014

From Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist Matt Richtel, a brilliant, narrative-driven exploration of technology’s vast influence on the human mind and society, dramatically-told through the lens of a tragic “texting-while-driving” car crash that claimed the lives of two rocket scientists in 2006. In this ambitious, compelling, and beautifully written book, Matt Richtel, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for the New York Times , examines ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering
Melissa Burovac

Wanderers Press, 2014

Traveling solo as a woman certainly has its ups and downs, but Melissa Burovac will be the first to tell you to embrace the adventure as you encounter it. Facing her fortieth birthday as a single woman in a job she was tired of, Burovac decided to do something . Always keen for adventure, she chose to buy a one-way ticket to Mexico—and quit her job, sell her beloved Jeep, and store all her belongings. Though she’d gone on trips abroad ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Bear

Colin West, 2014

A funny children's tale told in rhyme about a bear who always wants something more. In a surprise ending he discovers at last what REALLY makes him happy!
  
  











  



  
Wandering: Notes and Sketches
Hermann Hesse

Farrar Straus & Giroux, 1972
  
  











  



  
Wandering: Philosophical Performances of Racial and Sexual Freedom
Sarah Jane Cervenak

Duke University Press Books, 2014

Combining black feminist theory, philosophy, and performance studies, Sarah Jane Cervenak ruminates on the significance of physical and mental roaming for black freedom. She is particularly interested in the power of wandering or daydreaming for those whose mobility has been under severe constraint, from the slave era to the present. Since the Enlightenment, wandering has been considered dangerous and even criminal when associated with people of ...
  
  











  



  
Wanderings on Writing, 2014

Whether You Live to Write or Write to Live, This is the Book for You… Wanderings on Writing is not just a “how to write book.” It’s also a window into how one writer has managed to fit writing in around the demands of “real” life. Over fifty essays address topics as diverse as hooking a reader, presenting conflict, creating vivid characters, and research strategies. Throughout, Lindskold provides examples of the unique ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Earth

Beijing Guomi Digital Technology Co., Ltd., 2012

I’ve never seen the night, nor seen a star; I’ve seen neither spring, nor fall, nor winter. I was born at the end of the Reining Age, just as the Earth’s rotation was coming to a final halt. The Sun is about to unleash a helium flash, threatening to swallow all terrestrial planets in the solar system. On Earth, the Unity Government has erected Earth Engines. With them it plans to propel our planet out of the solar system, setting it on a ...
  
  











  



  
While Wandering: A Walking Companion

Random House UK, 2014

An anthology of literary walks—from Austen, Woolf, and Bronte to Colm Toibin, Bruce Chatwin, and Werner Herzog This is the ultimate companion for readers and walkers looking to take inspiration from poems, novels, plays, and journals. Walking is a fundamental act, often taken for granted, yet through the centuries it has inspired a fascinating literature. This, the first comprehensive anthology on the subject, delves into why we ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering Home: Essays by Tom Roddy
Tom Roddy

Looking Glass Books, 2014

For more than thirty years, Tom Roddy presided over the Atlanta Resource Foundation (ARF), which serves as a conduit for bringing people with resources, both monetary and time, together with those who are less fortunate. ARF offers a network aimed at engaging urban Christians to support empowerment instead of entitlement. Roddy's major work has been to encourage people who in many different ways were bringing hope to those living in Atlanta's ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering in Darkness: Narrative and the Problem of Suffering
Eleonore Stump

Oxford University Press, 2012

Only the most naive or tendentious among us would deny the extent and intensity of suffering in the world. Can one hold, consistently with the common view of suffering in the world, that there is an omniscient, omnipotent, perfectly good God? This book argues that one can. Wandering in Darkness first presents the moral psychology and value theory within which one typical traditional theodicy, namely, that of Thomas Aquinas, is embedded. It ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering Stars: An Anthology of Jewish Fantasy and Science Fiction

Jewish Lights Publishing, 1998

Jewish Science Fiction and Fantasy? Yes! Wandering Stars is the landmark collection of Jewish science fiction and fantasy. The first of its kind, it is an established and enduring classic. This is the first time in a science fiction collection that the Jewish People—and the richness of their themes and particular points of ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Earth: Classic Science Fiction Collection
Cixin Liu

CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2013

“The Wandering Earth” is a collection of short stories by Cixin Liu, China's most acclaimed contemporary science-fiction author. Unabashedly classic in the great tradition of Asimov and Clarke, Cixin Liu's science-fiction is firmly rooted in the cosmic. “[most] literature has always left me with the impression of indulging an intense anthropocentric narcissism. […] In the world of literature, the Sun exists for no other reason than to ...
  
  











  



  
Education of a Wandering Man
Louis L'Amour

Bantam, 1990

From his decision to leave school at fifteen to roam the world, to his recollections of life as a hobo on the Southern Pacific Railroad, as a cattle skinner in Texas, as a merchant seaman in Singapore and the West Indies, and as an itinerant bare-knuckled prizefighter across small-town America, here is Louis L'Amour's memoir of his lifelong love affair with learning--from books, from yondering, and from some remarkable men and women--that shaped ...
  
  











  



  
Wanderings: Chaim Potok's History of the Jews
Chaim Potok

Knopf, 1978

A fascinating history of the Jews, told by a master novelist, here is Chaim Potok's fascinating, moving four thousand-year history. Recreating great historical events, exporing Jewish life in its infinite variety and in many eras and places, here is a unique work by a singular Jewish voice.
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Who
Gilad Atzmon

Zero Books, 2011

An investigation of Jewish identity politics and Jewish contemporary ideology using both popular culture and scholarly texts. Jewish identity is tied up with some of the most difficult and contentious issues of today. The purpose in this book is to open many of these issues up for discussion. Since Israel defines itself openly as the ‘Jewish State’, we should ask what the notions of ’Judaism’, ‘Jewishness’, ‘Jewish culture’ and ...
  
  











  



  
Ghost Station (The Wandering Engineer Book 4)

Self, 2013

After everything that has happened to Fleet Admiral Irons since he'd woken up from stasis after nearly 700 years after the last shots in the brutal Xeno War left Earth and civilization a memory... you'd think he couldn't go any lower. Smarting from his 'exile' from Pyrax he'd saved the frieghter Destiny several times and dodged an assassin only to find and loose love to a near miss. At the bottom of the well Irons knew he had only one place to ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Hill (The Berrybender Narratives, Vol. 2)
Larry McMurtry

Simon & Schuster, 2005

In The Wandering Hill, Larry McMurtry continues the story of Tasmin Berrybender and her eccentric family in the still unexplored Wild West of the 1830s. Their journey is one of exploration, beset by difficulties, tragedies, the desertion of trusted servants, and the increasing hardships of day-to-day survival in a land where nothing can be taken for granted. By now, Tasmin is married to the elusive young mountain man Jim Snow (the "Sin ...
  
  











  



  
A Wandering Heart (An Angel Island Novel)
Thomas Kinkade, Katherine Spencer

Berkley Hardcover, 2012

All the stars come out in Cape Light... New York Times bestselling authors Thomas Kinkade and Katherine Spencer continue their Angel Island series with a sparkling new tale set in Cape Light. Celebrity has landed on Angel Island, but it's new love that steals the show. Welcome to Angel Island. . . .Its captivating spirit can be felt from the shores of its windswept beaches to the heights of its spectacular Angel Wings Cliffs. The ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
anthology, attention, berrybender, classic, collection, companion, darkness, education, engineer, fantasy, fiction, freedom, history, narrative, narratives, odysseus, odyssey, performances, philosophical, problem, redemption, science, sketches, station, suffering, tragedy, walking, wandering, wanderings, writing




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


apparel: Dakota Dan Winter Trooper, Trapper, or Hunting Hat Faux Fur

home  impressum - about us