books about: wandering
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Wandering
Melissa Burovac

Wanderers Press, 2014

Traveling solo as a woman certainly has its ups and downs, but Melissa Burovac will be the first to tell you to embrace the adventure as you encounter it. Facing her fortieth birthday as a single woman in a job she was tired of, Burovac decided to do something . Always keen for adventure, she chose to buy a one-way ticket to Mexico—and quit her job, sell her beloved Jeep, and store all her belongings. Though she’d gone on trips abroad ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering: Notes and Sketches
Hermann Hesse

Farrar Straus & Giroux, 1972
  
  











  



  
Wandering: Philosophical Performances of Racial and Sexual Freedom
Sarah Jane Cervenak

Duke University Press Books, 2014

Combining black feminist theory, philosophy, and performance studies, Sarah Jane Cervenak ruminates on the significance of physical and mental roaming for black freedom. She is particularly interested in the power of wandering or daydreaming for those whose mobility has been under severe constraint, from the slave era to the present. Since the Enlightenment, wandering has been considered dangerous and even criminal when associated with people of ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering Through Winter: A Naturalist's Record of a 20,000-Mile Journey Through the North American Winter ...
Edwin Way Teale

St Martins Pr, 1990

In this final volume of his brilliant four-volume cycle, Edwin Way Teale follows winter diagonally across the country in a 20,000-mile journey from Southern California to Northern Maine. Illustrated.
  
  











  



  
The Wanderings of Odysseus: The Story of the Odyssey
Rosemary Sutcliff

Laurel Leaf, 2005

A master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator evoke the golden age of mythical Greece in this spirited retelling of The Odyssey. From the Hardcover edition.
  
  











  



  
The Wandering (Departure Day Book 2), 2014

Picking up where Departure Day left off, the survivors of the Ark leave the desert heading east in search of the last of their fellow Americans. Working toward the common goal of restarting the human race, each also has independent motivations that eventually ruptures the group. Meanwhile, a thousand years in the future Pokalura leaves the Ghost village in Vermont to return to the Ark only to encounter a people who are either his best hope for ...
  
  











  



  
Ghosts from the Past (The Wandering engineer Book 7)

Self, 2015

Fleet admiral John Henry Irons has been busy. After waking in the Senka system he has crisscrossed the system, having a series of adventures and ups and downs along the way. He's made some new friends and met old ones. He has also made some powerful enemies. But the call to war is inevitable. Those who thrive on destruction wish him and the civilization he is trying to rebuild ill will. The boot of oppression is already on a part of ...
  
  











  



  
On The Path and Other Wanderings
Maria I Ritter Phd

CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2015

A Pilgrim seeks and finds inner peace. The author, who grew up in Germany during and after World War II, sifts through the warm ashes of her painful memories and restores them with a healing vision. Joyful, traumatic, humorous and puzzling experiences find their reflective voice in this collection of poems and stories on people, animals and encounters. These rhymes and musings will inspire readers to search their own attics and archives of ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering Bear (Paranormal Werebear Shifter Romance)

E-Book Publishing World, 2014

The language of love is universal but what about when you don't even speak the local language? Bianca has been travelling for several months, enjoying her newfound freedom since graduating college, but she's starting to feel a little lonely. Europeans are more suspicious of shifters and whilst she's not overt about her nature, the young were-bear is missing the company of her own. In a remote township she is stunned to meet Marco, a bear ...
  
  











  



  
A Deadly Wandering: A Tale of Tragedy and Redemption in the Age of Attention
Matt Richtel

William Morrow, 2014

From Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist Matt Richtel, a brilliant, narrative-driven exploration of technology’s vast influence on the human mind and society, dramatically-told through the lens of a tragic “texting-while-driving” car crash that claimed the lives of two rocket scientists in 2006. In this ambitious, compelling, and beautifully written book, Matt Richtel, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for the New York Times , examines ...
  
  











  



  
Pirates Bane (The Wandering Engineer Book 6)

Self, 2013

Fresh from fighting the ghost of a terrifying bioweapon On Epsilon Triangula, Fleet Admiral John Henry Irons has taken on a new task, to get to the fabled star system of Bek on the other side of the sector. But to do that the admiral must do what is now unheard of, a long jump through uncharted space. The jump is a test of man and machine. But when he arrives at his intended destination, new challenges await. Old foes, who learn why he will ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Hill (The Berrybender Narratives, Vol. 2)
Larry McMurtry

Simon & Schuster, 2005

In The Wandering Hill, Larry McMurtry continues the story of Tasmin Berrybender and her eccentric family in the still unexplored Wild West of the 1830s. Their journey is one of exploration, beset by difficulties, tragedies, the desertion of trusted servants, and the increasing hardships of day-to-day survival in a land where nothing can be taken for granted. By now, Tasmin is married to the elusive young mountain man Jim Snow (the "Sin ...
  
  











  



  
New Dawn (The Wandering Engineer Book 1)

self, 2010

It it always darkest before the dawn. For 713 years the scattered survivors of the Xeno-Federation war have known this. Sol and the core star systems are gone. The scattered survivors on far flung worlds and space colonies must try to survive a universe gone mad. They have spent that time scratching an existence out of whatever they could. Those trapped aboard surviving space colonies waited until the parts failed and life support was snuffed ...
  
  











  



  
Ghost Station (The Wandering Engineer Book 4)

Self, 2013

After everything that has happened to Fleet Admiral Irons since he'd woken up from stasis after nearly 700 years after the last shots in the brutal Xeno War left Earth and civilization a memory... you'd think he couldn't go any lower. Smarting from his 'exile' from Pyrax he'd saved the frieghter Destiny several times and dodged an assassin only to find and loose love to a near miss. At the bottom of the well Irons knew he had only one place to ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Who
Gilad Atzmon

Zero Books, 2011

An investigation of Jewish identity politics and Jewish contemporary ideology using both popular culture and scholarly texts. Jewish identity is tied up with some of the most difficult and contentious issues of today. The purpose in this book is to open many of these issues up for discussion. Since Israel defines itself openly as the ‘Jewish State’, we should ask what the notions of ’Judaism’, ‘Jewishness’, ‘Jewish culture’ and ...
  
  











  



  
Plague Planet (The Wandering Engineer Book 5), 2013

Things just weren't looking good for John Henry Irons, Fleet Admiral of the once mighty Federation of Sapient Planets, ever since his awakening five years ago he'd been through the ringer emotionally. First, finding his beloved civilization destroyed. But he'd vowed to rebuild. Twice in moments of seeming triumph he was cut down, kicked out or driven out of a system he was trying to help. Now things were starting to look up, he had his own ...
  
  











  



  
Destiny's Choice (The Wandering Engineer Book 3)

Self, 2012

Fleet Admiral John Henry Irons woke from stasis to his next to worst nightmare 2 years ago. Civilization as he had known it was gone. The Xeno War had torn his beloved Federation apart. He didn't give up though, Irons persevered, rolling up his sleeves and doing his best to restart civilization whereever he could. Smarting from his exile from the Pyrax star system, Fleet Admiral John Henry Irons, hero of the Federation has to pick up the ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Falcon
Jamil Ahmad

Riverhead Trade, 2012

For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a remarkable, award-winning book about the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan. In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy descended from both chiefs and outlaws who becomes the Wandering Falcon, moves between the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan and their uncertain worlds full of brutality, humanity, deep love, honor, poverty, and grace. The wild area he travels ...
  
  











  



  
Wanderings of a Ten Pound Pom

Vivid Publishing, 2015

Wanderings of a Ten Pound Pom is about an English emigrant to Australia beginning almost 50 years ago in 1966, until his marriage in 1977. The stories revolve around his work as an electrician in this new country and his travels throughout the world during that time. Those travels include visits to 32 countries with over a hundred locations. There are some funny moments, some are adventurous and some are more than a little embarrassing. Some ...
  
  











  



  
Fool's Gold (The Wandering Engineer Book 2)

self, 2011

Fresh from his adventures with the crew of the Io11, Fleet Admiral Irons, aka the Wandering Engineer has a new challenge ahead of him. The Pyrax system is ripe for change. But first he has to get Anvil sorted out before he can really roll up his sleeves and get started. One thing after another happens though, Pirates, politics, ego driven scientists, and change. Lots of change, mostly for the better. He'll find out if Pyrax is his golden ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
000-mile, american, attention, berrybender, deadly, departure, destiny, engineer, freedom, journey, narratives, naturalist, odysseus, odyssey, paranormal, performances, philosophical, pirates, plague, redemption, romance, seasons, shifter, sketches, station, through, tragedy, wandering, wanderings, werebear




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


book: Easy Spanish Step-By-Step

home  impressum - about us