books about: wandering
 
 



Suche books:   






  
Wandering on the Way: Early Taoist Tales and Parables of Chuang Tzu
Chuang Tzu

Univ of Hawaii Pr, 1998

A contemporary translation remaining faithful to the original collection of tales, poems and parables of Taoist philosophy. The collection covers a wide range of issues, from ambition to politics, and is accompanied by an introduction on the author and his place in Chinese thought and history.
  
  











  



  
You Majored in What?: Mapping Your Path From Chaos to Career
Katharine Brooks

Viking Adult, 2009

Read Katharine Brooks's posts on the Penguin Blog. Has it happened yet? Have you been asked The Question ? You know the one. It's the question that haunts you from your early undergrad days to months, even years, after you graduate... " What are you going to do with that major? " Inevitably this unleashes waves of anxiety, whether you're a liberal arts student unsure what your degree has prepared you for, someone with a ...
  
  











  



  
The Last Night of the Earth Poems
Charles Bukowski

Ecco, 2002

Poems deal with writing, death and immortality, literature, city life, illness, war, and the past.
  
  











  



  
The Wanderings of Odysseus: The Story of the Odyssey
Rosemary Sutcliff

Laurel Leaf, 2005

A master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator evoke the golden age of mythical Greece in this spirited retelling of The Odyssey. From the Hardcover edition.
  
  











  



  
A Canticle for Leibowitz
Walter M. Miller Jr.

Bantam Spectra, 1984

In the depths of the Utah desert, long after the Flame Deluge has scoured the earth clean, a monk of the Order of Saint Leibowitz has made a miraculous discovery: holy relics from the life of the great saint himself, including the blessed blueprint, the sacred shopping list, and the hallowed shrine of the Fallout Shelter. In a terrifying age of darkness and decay, these artifacts could be the keys to mankind's salvation. But as the mystery at ...
  
  











  



  
Education of a Wandering Man
Louis L'Amour

Bantam, 1990

From his decision to leave school at fifteen to roam the world, to his recollections of life as a hobo on the Southern Pacific Railroad, as a cattle skinner in Texas, as a merchant seaman in Singapore and the West Indies, and as an itinerant bare-knuckled prizefighter across small-town America, here is Louis L'Amour's memoir of his lifelong love affair with learning--from books, from yondering, and from some remarkable men and women--that shaped ...
  
  











  



  
A Deadly Wandering: A Tale of Tragedy and Redemption in the Age of Attention
Matt Richtel

William Morrow, 2014

From Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist Matt Richtel, a brilliant, narrative-driven exploration of technology’s vast influence on the human mind and society, dramatically-told through the lens of a tragic “texting-while-driving” car crash that claimed the lives of two rocket scientists in 2006. In this ambitious, compelling, and beautifully written book, Matt Richtel, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for the New York Times , examines ...
  
  











  



  
Into the Wind: My Six-Month Journey Wandering the World for Life’s Purpose
Jake Ducey

Waterside, 2013

Without a map, nineteen-year-old Jake Ducey leaves behind a drug-filled life and college basketball scholarship to wander the world and prove we can find our dreams by following our heart. On the outskirts of civilization, often uncertain, without money and near death, he finds that everything he was seeking in the world was within him the whole time. Journeying from Guatemala to Australia, Indonesia to Thailand, and ending with fourteen days of ...
  
  











  



  
Into the Wild
Jon Krakauer

Anchor, 1997

In April 1992 a young man from a well-to-do family hitchhiked to Alaska and walked alone into the wilderness north of Mt. McKinley. His name was Christopher Johnson McCandless. He had given $25,000 in savings to charity, abandoned his car and most of his possessions, burned all the cash in his wallet, and invented a new life for himself. Four months later, his decomposed body was found by a moose hunter.  How McCandless came to die is the ...
  
  











  



  
The Secret Teachings of All Ages (Reader's Edition)
Manly P. Hall

Tarcher, 2003

A classic since 1928, this masterly encyclopedia of ancient mythology, ritual, symbolism, and the arcane mysteries of the ages is available for the first time in a compact "reader's edition." Like no other book of the twentieth century, Manly P. Hall's legendary The Secret Teachings of All Ages is a codex to the ancient occult and esoteric traditions of the world. Students of hidden wisdom, ancient symbols, and arcane practices treasure ...
  
  











  



  
Jane and the Wandering Eye: Being the Third Jane Austen Mystery
Stephanie Barron

Bantam, 1998

As Christmas of 1804 approaches, Jane Austen finds herself "insupportably bored with Bath, and the littleness of a town." It is with relief that she accepts a peculiar commission from her Gentleman Rogue, Lord Harold Trowbridge—to shadow his niece, Lady Desdemona, who has fled to Bath to avoid the attentions of the unsavoury Earl of Swithin. But Jane's idle diversion turns deadly when a man is discovered stabbed to death in the Theatre Royal. ...
  
  











  



  
Forest Recollections: Wandering Monks in Twentieth-Century Thailand
Kamala Tiyavanich

University of Hawaii Press, 1997

During the first half of this century the forests of Thailand were home to wandering ascetic monks. They were Buddhists, but their brand of Buddhism did not copy the practices described in ancient doctrinal texts. Their Buddhism found expression in living day-to-day in the forest and in contending with the mental and physical challenges of hunger, pain, fear, and desire. Combining interviews and biographies with an exhaustive knowledge of ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering Son: Volume Seven (Vol. 7) (Wandering Son)
Shimura Takako

Fantagraphics, 2014

In this sensitive manga series about transgendered preteens, the boy who wants to be a girl deals with acne, and is scouted for the school’s theater club along with Chiba-san. Shimura Takako’s groundbreaking, critically acclaimed, and beloved Wandering Son continues to explore gender identity among its cast of middle school students in our 7th volume. Nitori-kun gets his first signs of acne. This may well be the end of the world. But ...
  
  











  



  
African Game Trails: An Account of the African Wanderings of an American Hunter-Naturalist (Capstick ...
Theodore Roosevelt

St. Martin's Press, 1988

The twenty-sixth president of the United States was also a world-renowned hunter, conservationist, soldier, and scholar. In 1908 he took a long safari holiday in East Africa with his son Kermit. His account of this adventure is as remarkably fresh today as it was when these adventures on the veldt were first published. Roosevelt describes the excitement of the chase, the people he met (including such famous hunters as Cunninghame and Selous), ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Who
Gilad Atzmon

Zero Books, 2011

An investigation of Jewish identity politics and Jewish contemporary ideology using both popular culture and scholarly texts. Jewish identity is tied up with some of the most difficult and contentious issues of today. The purpose in this book is to open many of these issues up for discussion. Since Israel defines itself openly as the ‘Jewish State’, we should ask what the notions of ’Judaism’, ‘Jewishness’, ‘Jewish culture’ and ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering in Darkness: Narrative and the Problem of Suffering
Eleonore Stump

Oxford University Press, 2012

Only the most naive or tendentious among us would deny the extent and intensity of suffering in the world. Can one hold, consistently with the common view of suffering in the world, that there is an omniscient, omnipotent, perfectly good God? This book argues that one can. Wandering in Darkness first presents the moral psychology and value theory within which one typical traditional theodicy, namely, that of Thomas Aquinas, is embedded. It ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Jews
Joseph Roth

W. W. Norton & Company, 2001

The classic portrait of a vanished people. Every few decades a book is published that shapes Jewish consciousness. One thinks of Wiesel's Night or Levi's Survival in Auschwitz . But in 1927, years before these works were written, Joseph Roth (1894-1939) composed The Wandering Jews . In these stunning dispatches written when Roth was a correspondent in Berlin during the whirlwind period of Weimar Germany, he warned of the false comforts of ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Falcon
Jamil Ahmad

Riverhead Trade, 2012

For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a remarkable, award-winning book about the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan. In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy descended from both chiefs and outlaws who becomes the Wandering Falcon, moves between the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan and their uncertain worlds full of brutality, humanity, deep love, honor, poverty, and grace. The wild area he travels ...
  
  











  



  
Necronomicon: The Wanderings of Alhazred (Necronomicon Series)
Donald Tyson

Llewellyn Publications, 2004

Anyone familiar with H. P. Lovecraft's work knows of the Necronomicon, the black magic grimoire he invented as a literary prop in his classic horror stories. There have been several attempts at creating this text, yet none stand up to Lovecraft's own descriptions of the Necronomicon . . . until now. Fans of Lovecraftian magic and occult fiction will delight in Donald Tyson's Necronomicon, based purely within Lovecraft's own fictional universe, ...
  
  











  



  
A Third Testament: A Modern Pilgrim Explores the Spiritual Wanderings of Augustine, Blake, Pascal, Tolstoy, ...
Malcolm Muggeridge

Orbis Books, 2004

Based on a celebrated TV series, these illuminating portraits bring to life seven famous men in search of God.
  
  











  








   



search for books
adventure, american, attention, augustine, bonhoeffer, canticle, capstick, darkness, dostoevsky, education, explores, hunter-naturalist, kierkegaard, leibowitz, narrative, naturalist, necronomicon, odysseus, recollections, redemption, six-month, spiritual, suffering, teachings, testament, thailand, twentieth, twentieth-century, wandering, wanderings




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


Super Soldier - The 7 Top Health & Fitness Secrets Used By The World's ...

home  impressum - about us