books about: wandering
 
 



Suche books:   






  
You Majored in What?: Mapping Your Path from Chaos to Career
Katharine Brooks

Plume, 2010

Read Katharine Brooks's posts on the Penguin Blog. As revolutionary as What Color Is Your Parachute? , this career guide for a new generation of job- seekers, from one of America's top college career counselors With the job market in flux, young people face The Question : what are you going to do with that major? In this indispensable guide, Dr. Katharine Brooks provides a road map for twenty-somethings, replacing obsolete ...
  
  











  



  
The Wanderings of Odysseus: The Story of the Odyssey
Rosemary Sutcliff

Laurel Leaf, 2005

A master storyteller and an award-winning illustrator evoke the golden age of mythical Greece in this spirited retelling of The Odyssey. From the Hardcover edition.
  
  











  



  
A Deadly Wandering: A Tale of Tragedy and Redemption in the Age of Attention
Matt Richtel

William Morrow, 2014

From Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist Matt Richtel, a brilliant, narrative-driven exploration of technology’s vast influence on the human mind and society, dramatically-told through the lens of a tragic “texting-while-driving” car crash that claimed the lives of two rocket scientists in 2006. In this ambitious, compelling, and beautifully written book, Matt Richtel, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter for the New York Times , examines ...
  
  











  



  
Encyclopedia Of Classic Quilt Patterns
Oxmoor House Editors

Leisure Arts, 2001

A complete A-Z resource for the quilter - over 100 traditional favourite quilts to make with step-by-step instructions with updated, labour-saving techniques. Beautifully illustrated throughout with projects ranging from Amethyst to Whig Rose, from Evening Star to Flying Geese, and many traditional influences from Amish to Irish. * Patchwork and quilting is a craft as old as history, but it found its apogee amongst the settlers in the New World, ...
  
  











  



  
The Secret Teachings of All Ages (Reader's Edition)
Manly P. Hall

Tarcher, 2003

A classic since 1928, this masterly encyclopedia of ancient mythology, ritual, symbolism, and the arcane mysteries of the ages is available for the first time in a compact "reader's edition." Like no other book of the twentieth century, Manly P. Hall's legendary The Secret Teachings of All Ages is a codex to the ancient occult and esoteric traditions of the world. Students of hidden wisdom, ancient symbols, and arcane practices treasure ...
  
  











  



  
Education of a Wandering Man
Louis L'Amour

Bantam, 1990

From his decision to leave school at fifteen to roam the world, to his recollections of life as a hobo on the Southern Pacific Railroad, as a cattle skinner in Texas, as a merchant seaman in Singapore and the West Indies, and as an itinerant bare-knuckled prizefighter across small-town America, here is Louis L'Amour's memoir of his lifelong love affair with learning--from books, from yondering, and from some remarkable men and women--that shaped ...
  
  











  



  
Into the Wild
Jon Krakauer

Anchor, 1997

In April 1992 a young man from a well-to-do family hitchhiked to Alaska and walked alone into the wilderness north of Mt. McKinley. His name was Christopher Johnson McCandless. He had given $25,000 in savings to charity, abandoned his car and most of his possessions, burned all the cash in his wallet, and invented a new life for himself. Four months later, his decomposed body was found by a moose hunter.  How McCandless came to die is the ...
  
  











  



  
The Last Night of the Earth Poems
Charles Bukowski

Ecco, 2002

Poems deal with writing, death and immortality, literature, city life, illness, war, and the past.
  
  











  



  
The Bicycle Book: Wit, Wisdom and Wanderings
Thomas Hylton, Chip Haynes, ...

Satya House Publications, 2007

The Bicycle Book: Wit, Wisdom & Wanderings is a celebration of the bicycle by people who love to ride. It's a tribute to one of the finest, most efficient, useful machines ever invented. It's packed with original stories, narratives and cartoons from a talented corps of writers and artists from around the world. The book features 32 articles and scattered throughout the book is a collection of 43 cartoons from artists whose work has appeared in ...
  
  











  



  
African Game Trails: An Account of the African Wanderings of an American Hunter-Naturalist (Capstick ...
Theodore Roosevelt

St. Martin's Press, 1988

The twenty-sixth president of the United States was also a world-renowned hunter, conservationist, soldier, and scholar. In 1908 he took a long safari holiday in East Africa with his son Kermit. His account of this adventure is as remarkably fresh today as it was when these adventures on the veldt were first published. Roosevelt describes the excitement of the chase, the people he met (including such famous hunters as Cunninghame and Selous), ...
  
  











  



  
While Wandering: A Walking Companion

Random House UK, 2014

An anthology of literary walks—from Austen, Woolf, and Bronte to Colm Toibin, Bruce Chatwin, and Werner Herzog This is the ultimate companion for readers and walkers looking to take inspiration from poems, novels, plays, and journals. Walking is a fundamental act, often taken for granted, yet through the centuries it has inspired a fascinating literature. This, the first comprehensive anthology on the subject, delves into why we ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Fire: Book Two of the Fionavar Tapestry
Guy Gavriel Kay

Roc Trade, 2001

The Wandering Fire is the second novel of Guy Gavriel Kay’s critically acclaimed fantasy trilogy, The Fionavar Tapestry . A mage’s power has brought five university students from our world into a realm where an ancient evil has freed itself from captivity to wreak revenge on its enemies… The ice of eternal winter has reached out to enshroud Fionavar, the first of all worlds. For the Unraveller has broken free after millennia ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering in Darkness: Narrative and the Problem of Suffering
Eleonore Stump

Oxford University Press, 2012

Only the most naive or tendentious among us would deny the extent and intensity of suffering in the world. Can one hold, consistently with the common view of suffering in the world, that there is an omniscient, omnipotent, perfectly good God? This book argues that one can. Wandering in Darkness first presents the moral psychology and value theory within which one typical traditional theodicy, namely, that of Thomas Aquinas, is embedded. It ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Who
Gilad Atzmon

Zero Books, 2011

An investigation of Jewish identity politics and Jewish contemporary ideology using both popular culture and scholarly texts. Jewish identity is tied up with some of the most difficult and contentious issues of today. The purpose in this book is to open many of these issues up for discussion. Since Israel defines itself openly as the ‘Jewish State’, we should ask what the notions of ’Judaism’, ‘Jewishness’, ‘Jewish culture’ and ...
  
  











  



  
The Wandering Falcon
Jamil Ahmad

Riverhead Trade, 2012

For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a remarkable, award-winning book about the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan. In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy descended from both chiefs and outlaws who becomes the Wandering Falcon, moves between the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan and their uncertain worlds full of brutality, humanity, deep love, honor, poverty, and grace. The wild area he travels ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering Home: A Long Walk Across America's Most Hopeful Landscape
Bill McKibben

St. Martin's Griffin, 2014

“[McKibben is] a marvelous writer who has thought deeply about the environment, loves this part of the country, and knows how to be a first-class traveling companion.”— Entertainment Weekly In Wandering Home , one of his most personal books, Bill McKibben invites readers to join him on a hike from his current home in Vermont to his former home in the Adirondacks. Here he reveals that the motivation for his impassioned environmental ...
  
  











  



  
Jordan Sullivan: The Young Earth (Wandering Days)

Peter Hay Halpert Fine Art, 2013

Shot in Iceland on 35 mm and Polaroid film, The Young Earth is a fictional photo series by New York-based artist Jordan Sullivan that follows two Americans in their twenties, one of them terminally ill, as they explore the idyllic and remote corners of Iceland. There, they are forced to confront their own mortality and a past love triangle that had previously disrupted their friendship. What bonds the two young men in their last days together ...
  
  











  



  
Jane and the Wandering Eye: Being the Third Jane Austen Mystery
Stephanie Barron

Bantam, 1998

As Christmas of 1804 approaches, Jane Austen finds herself "insupportably bored with Bath, and the littleness of a town." It is with relief that she accepts a peculiar commission from her Gentleman Rogue, Lord Harold Trowbridge—to shadow his niece, Lady Desdemona, who has fled to Bath to avoid the attentions of the unsavoury Earl of Swithin. But Jane's idle diversion turns deadly when a man is discovered stabbed to death in the Theatre Royal. ...
  
  











  



  
A Wandering Heart (An Angel Island Novel)
Thomas Kinkade, Katherine Spencer

Berkley Hardcover, 2012

All the stars come out in Cape Light... New York Times bestselling authors Thomas Kinkade and Katherine Spencer continue their Angel Island series with a sparkling new tale set in Cape Light. Celebrity has landed on Angel Island, but it's new love that steals the show. Welcome to Angel Island. . . .Its captivating spirit can be felt from the shores of its windswept beaches to the heights of its spectacular Angel Wings Cliffs. The ...
  
  











  



  
Wandering Son: Volume Seven (Vol. 7) (Wandering Son)
Shimura Takako

Fantagraphics, 2014

In this sensitive manga series about transgendered preteens, the boy who wants to be a girl deals with acne, and is scouted for the school’s theater club along with Chiba-san. Shimura Takako’s groundbreaking, critically acclaimed, and beloved Wandering Son continues to explore gender identity among its cast of middle school students in our 7th volume. Nitori-kun gets his first signs of acne. This may well be the end of the world. But ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
account, adventure, african, america, american, attention, bicycle, capstick, companion, darkness, education, encyclopedia, fionavar, hopeful, hunter-naturalist, landscape, mapping, narrative, naturalist, odysseus, odyssey, patterns, redemption, suffering, sullivan, tapestry, teachings, walking, wandering, wanderings




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry



Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


musical instruments: Large Washboard with Tin-23.5 Inches High X 12.5 Inches Wide

home  impressum - about us