books about: wars
 
 



Suche books:   






  
A HIGHER CALL (A Higher Call) by Adam Makos & Larry Alexander [A Higher Call] (An Incredible True Story of ...
Larry Alexander, Adam Makos

Berkley, 2012

Four days before Christmas 1943, a badly damaged American bomber struggled to fly over wartime Germany. At its controls was a 21-year-old pilot. Half his crew lay wounded or dead. It was their first mission. Suddenly, a sleek, dark shape pulled up on the bomber's tail-a German Messerschmitt fighter. Worse, the German pilot was an ace, a man able to destroy the American bomber in the squeeze of a trigger. What happened next would defy imagination ...
  
  











  



  
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
Daniel James Brown

Viking Adult, 2013

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken , the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard ...
  
  











  



  
Making Faces, 2013

Ambrose Young was beautiful. He was tall and muscular, with hair that touched his shoulders and eyes that burned right through you. The kind of beautiful that graced the covers of romance novels, and Fern Taylor would know. She'd been reading them since she was thirteen. But maybe because he was so beautiful he was never someone Fern thought she could have...until he wasn't beautiful anymore. Making Faces is the story of a small town where ...
  
  











  



  
Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him
Luis Carlos Montalván, Bret Witter

Brilliance Audio, 2012

A highly decorated captain in the U.S. Army, Luis Montalván never backed down from a challenge during his two tours of duty in Iraq. After returning home from combat, however, the pressures of his physical wounds, traumatic brain injury, and crippling post-traumatic stress disorder began to take their toll. Haunted by the war and in constant physical pain, he soon found himself unable to climb a simple flight of stairs or face a bus ride to the ...
  
  











  



  
Words of Radiance (Stormlight Archive)
Brandon Sanderson

Macmillan Audio, 2014

Brandon Sanderson's The Stormlight Archive sequence began in 2010 with the New York Times bestseller The Way of Kings . Now, the eagerly anticipated Words of Radiance continues the epic story and answers many of your questions.   Six years ago, the Assassin in White, a hireling of the inscrutable Parshendi, assassinated the Alethi king on the very night a treaty between men and Parshendi was being celebrated. So began the Vengeance Pact ...
  
  











  



  
The Remaining: Refugees
D.J. Molles

Orbit, 2014

He has fought the fight, and run the race. But the enemies never stop coming, and the race has no finish line. It has been three months since Captain Lee Harden found the survivors at Camp Ryder. With winter looming, Lee is on the verge of establishing Camp Ryder as a hub of safety and stability in the region. But not everyone agrees with Lee's mission...or his methods. Growing tensions between camp leadership are coming to a head, and as ...
  
  











  



  
By Laura Hillenbrand:Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption [Hardcover]
Laura Hillenbrand

Random House, 2009
  
  











  



  
Blood Song (A Raven's Shadow Novel)
Anthony Ryan

Ace, 2014

“The Sixth Order wields the sword of justice and smites the enemies of the Faith and the Realm. "  Vaelin Al Sorna was only a child of ten when his father left him at the iron gate of the Sixth Order—a caste devoted to battle. Vaelin will be trained and hardened to the austere, celibate and dangerous life of a warrior of the Faith. He has no family now save the Order. Vaelin’s father was Battle Lord to King Janus, ruler of the ...
  
  











  



  
With the Old Breed
E. B. Sledge

Oxford Univ Pr (Trade), 1990

“Eugene Sledge became more than a legend with his memoir, With The Old Breed . He became a chronicler, a historian, a storyteller who turns the extremes of the war in the Pacific—the terror, the camaraderie, the banal and the extraordinary—into terms we mortals can grasp.”—Tom Hanks NEW YORK TIMES  BESTSELLER In The Wall Street Journal , Victor Davis Hanson named With the Old Breed one of the top five books on epic ...
  
  











  



  
Fearless: The Undaunted Courage and Ultimate Sacrifice of Navy SEAL Team SIX Operator Adam Brown
Eric Blehm

WaterBrook Press, 2013

Fearless takes you deep into SEAL Team SIX, straight to the heart of one of its most legendary operators.   “As a rule, we don’t endorse books or movies or anything regarding the command where I work—and Adam Brown worked—but as the author writes in Fearless , ‘you have to know the rules, so you know when to bend or break them.’ This is one of those times.  Read this book. Period. It succeeds where all the others have ...
  
  











  



  
Left to Tell: Discovering God Amidst the Rwandan Holocaust

Hay House, 2007

Immaculee Ilibagiza grew up in a country she loved, surrounded by a family she cherished. But in 1994, her idyllic world was ripped apart as Rwanda descended into a bloody genocide. Immaculee's family was brutally murdered during a killing spree that lasted three months and claimed the lives of nearly a million Rwandans. Incredibly, Immaculee survived the slaughter. For 91 days, she and seven other women huddled silently together in the ...
  
  











  



  
The Walking Dead: Compendium Two
Robert Kirkman

Image Comics, 2012

Returning with the second eight volumes of the fan-favorite, New York Times bestseller series, The Walking Dead, collected into one massive paperback collection! This is the perfect collection for any fan of the Emmy Award-winning television series on AMC: over one-thousand pages chronicling the next chapter of Robert Kirkman's Eisner Award-winning continuing story of survival horror - beginning with Rick Grimes' struggle to survive after the ...
  
  











  



  
Truman
David McCullough

Simon & Schuster, 1993

The life of Harry S. Truman is one of the greatest of American stories, filled with vivid characters -- Roosevelt, Churchill, Stalin, Eleanor Roosevelt, Bess Wallace Truman, George Marshall, Joe McCarthy, and Dean Acheson -- and dramatic events. In this riveting biography, acclaimed historian David McCullough not only captures the man -- a more complex, informed, and determined man than ever before imagined -- but also the turbulent times in ...
  
  











  



  
The Hiding Place
John Sherrill, Elizabeth Sherrill, ...

Chosen, 2006

Corrie ten Boom was a woman admired the world over for her courage, her forgiveness, and her memorable faith. In World War II, she and her family risked their lives to help Jews escape the Nazis, and their reward was a trip to Hitler's concentration camps. But she survived and was released--as a result of a clerical error--and now shares the story of how faith triumphs over evil. For thirty-five years Corrie's dramatic life story, full of ...
  
  











  



  
Foyle's War (4 DVD Set)
Anthony Horowitz, Simon Passmore

ACORN MEDIA PUBLISHING INC., 2003

as borrowed from Amazon "The time is the early 1940s; the place is England's southern coast. As WWII rages around him, duty calls Christopher Foyle. Much to his frustration, however, the stalwart detective's responsibilities are on the home front, not the battlefront. Michael Kitchen (Reckless) stars with Edward Fox (The Strauss Dynasty) and Robert Hardy (All Things Great and Small) in a fast-paced four-part drama heavy on suspense and somber ...
  
  











  



  
Outlaw Platoon: Heroes, Renegades, Infidels, and the Brotherhood of War in Afghanistan

HarperAudio, 2012

In combat, men measure up. Or don't. There are no second chances. In this vivid account of the U.S. Army's legendary 10th Mountain Division's heroic stand in the mountains of Afghanistan, Captain Sean Parnell shares an action-packed and highly emotional true story of triumph, tragedy, and the extraordinary bonds forged in battle. At 24 years of age, U.S. Army Ranger Sean Parnell was named commander of a forty-man elite infantry platoon - a ...
  
  











  



  
The Auschwitz Escape
Joel C. Rosenberg

Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., 2014

A terrible darkness has fallen upon Jacob Weisz’s beloved Germany. The Nazi regime, under the leadership of Adolf Hitler, has surged to power and now hold Germany by the throat. All non-Aryans—especially Jews like Jacob and his family—are treated like dogs. When tragedy strikes during one terrible night of violence, Jacob flees and joins rebel forces working to undermine the regime. But after a raid goes horribly wrong, Jacob finds ...
  
  











  



  
The Walking Dead: Compendium One
Robert Kirkman

Image Comics, 2009

Introducing the first eight volumes of the fan-favorite, New York Times Best Seller series collected into one massive paperback collection! Collects The Walking Dead #1-48. This is the perfect collection for any fan of the Emmy Award-winning television series on AMC: over one thousand pages chronicling the beginning of Robert Kirkman's Eisner Award-winning continuing story of survival horror- from Rick Grimes' waking up alone in a hospital, to ...
  
  











  



  
Seabiscuit: The True Story of Three Men and a Racehorse
Laura Hillenbrand

Fourth Estate Ltd, 2002

The true story of three men and their dreams for a racehorse -- Seabiscuit -- that symbolised a pivotal moment in American history, as the 20th-century's greatest nation found the courage to bet on itself to win against the odds. Now a major motion picture directed by Gary Ross and starring Toby Maguire and Jeff Daniels. In 1936 the habits of 19th-century America were finally consigned to history, just as Margaret Mitchell's "Gone with the ...
  
  











  



  
October Sky (The Coalwood Series #1)
Homer Hickam

Dell, 1999

The true story, originally published as Rocket Boys , that inspired the Universal Pictures film. It was 1957, the year Sputnik raced across the Appalachian sky, and the small town of Coalwood, West Virginia, was slowly dying. Faced with an uncertain future, Homer Hickam nurtured a dream: to send rockets into outer space. The introspective son of the mine’s superintendent and a mother determined to get him out of Coalwood forever, Homer ...
  
  











  








   



search for books
afghanistan, alexander, americans, auschwitz, brotherhood, coalwood, compendium, discovering, fearless, hardcover, hillenbrand, holocaust, incredible, infidels, olympics, racehorse, radiance, redemption, refugees, remaining, renegades, resilience, retriever, sacrifice, seabiscuit, stormlight, survival, ultimate, unbroken, undaunted




Suche books:   


books
apparel
baby
beauty
books
camera photo
cell phones
classical music
computers
dvd
electronics
gourmet food
health personal care
kitchen
magazines
musical instruments
office products
outdoor living
computer video games
popular music
pet-supplies
software
sporting goods
tools hardware
toys-games
vhs
watches jewelry




Kindle - Amazon's New Wireless Reading Device
This is the future of book reading. I have used it and love it!

randomly chosen


Battery Laptop HP Mini 110-350, Mini 110-350er, Mini 110-360, Mini ...

home  impressum - about us